Customer Reviews for

Monica's Story

Average Rating 3
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Interesting to only who can relate

I am not a person who likes to sit and read a book. But, because of a similar situation but not completely I did read this book. In my opinion Monica was young and naive. She was truly in love with the president as a person. He used her, and lied to her and the worl...
I am not a person who likes to sit and read a book. But, because of a similar situation but not completely I did read this book. In my opinion Monica was young and naive. She was truly in love with the president as a person. He used her, and lied to her and the world. The book can be long at times because of the details. But I actually feel sorry for Ms. Lewinsky. She was made into a public fool, and tortured by the others.

posted by Anonymous on December 27, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

HOW COULD ANYONE FEEL SORRY FOR THIS WOMAN

This book took alot of effort to get through.All you hear is Monica moan and cry because she didnt get to stay with a married man.Ms. Lewinsky got what was coming to her.

posted by Anonymous on September 3, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    This book is not worth the read. It just goes on and on and on.

    This book is not worth the read. It just goes on and on and on. I think she wants you to feel sorry for her because she only seems to like married men.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2005

    HOW COULD ANYONE FEEL SORRY FOR THIS WOMAN

    This book took alot of effort to get through.All you hear is Monica moan and cry because she didnt get to stay with a married man.Ms. Lewinsky got what was coming to her.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2000

    IN MONICA'S CORNER

    Buy this book if you want to give comfort and support to a young woman whom we hope has finally learned a valuable lesson on how to leave married men alone. After you buy it, send it to Monica for her autograph. But don't punish yourself by trying to read it. It's super BORING!!! So pack it away in mothballs. In a hundred years or so, your descendents might be able to sell it at an auction and make enough dough to buy a days' supply of bread.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Why publish this sad sex encounter

    Or buy it or read it? Do not believe how low publishing has become to even feature it let alone print it. Well she has her five seconds of fame in all the history books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Don't bother wasting your money. This was an awful read. I agr

    Don't bother wasting your money. This was an awful read. I agree with the reader who said, "This book is not worth the read. It just goes on and on and on."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2002

    Interesting to only who can relate

    I am not a person who likes to sit and read a book. But, because of a similar situation but not completely I did read this book. In my opinion Monica was young and naive. She was truly in love with the president as a person. He used her, and lied to her and the world. The book can be long at times because of the details. But I actually feel sorry for Ms. Lewinsky. She was made into a public fool, and tortured by the others.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    A Great Read

    I enjoyed this book very much. It was good to get the other side of the story. I have always felt that Miss Lewinsky received much undue criticism. I believe we all should think how we would feel were we the subject of so much media attention and endless bad jokes. This book gives us a view of exactly how hurtful this whole situation was, is and will continue to be for probably the rest of her life. This is not to say she is blameless, but I personally feel that the whole thing was none of the nation's business. This should have been a private thing between the parties involved. Linda Tripp...well, that one needs dealing with! I will get off my soapbox now and say that the book was entertaining, emotional and eye-opening. Kudos to Mr. Morton. Best wishes to Miss Lewinsky.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Monica was used for political agendas. Cant wait to read a tell all into Ken Star's transvesite secret life

    It amazes me how Americans who have everything, give nothing back. This woman's life has been tortured and twisted for political gain. The relationship (yes folks thats what it was) between her and the president had nothing to do with any of us. Politicians and a revengeful independent counsel in Ken Starr ruined this girls life all for the sake of not liking Bill. Newt shut down the government due to a power struggle over not liking Bill CLinton and now he wants to be president. HA no thanks. People have sex and even presidents. No one ever put Kennedy through this when he had multiple affairs. Oh wait, they killed him instead. I forgot. Get over your high and might selves. MONICA, I AM SORRY FOR THE WAY YOU HAVE BEEN TREATED AND I AM SURE THERE ARE MANY LIKE ME WHO DO NOT SEE YOU IN THE WAY YOU HAVE BEEN PORTRAYED. I HOPE YOU FIND HAPPINESS AND THE AMERICAN PEOPLE LEAVE YOU ALONE.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2001

    A good inside look

    This book gave a wonderful inside look into the sad happenings of Monica Lewinsky and her family. It shows a devastating side of what the government can do to a person. And while the media has made it quite easy to hate Monica, this book makes it hard to keep the hate going. Although slow at times, it is what seems to be very truthful about the facts as well as the raw emotions expressed in 'Monica's Story.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    <3

    <3 <3 <3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Great book

    What if she was your daughter she did do something wrong but he did too

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I certainly was enlightened...

    This book is actually quite absorbing and enlightening. I found out a lot of things I hadn't before known about Monica Lewinsky, and her relationship with President Clinton. I now see her as a person, rather than the woman who the President did not have sexual relations with. This book is so interesting. You get a behind the scenes look into Monica's life while the entire scandal and trial were going on.

    My one criticism...typos...and lots of them. I understand things aren't always and can't always be perfect, but it's annoying to see repeated words, misplaced words, misspelled words, and just typos. I hope if they had any later additions, they corrected these items.

    I'd definitely suggest this book, though it's strictly for adults only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2002

    Land of the Free?

    At one point in her ordeal, Monica Lewinsky's mother compares what is happening to her daughter with the treatment of her family in Stalin's Russia and the tale which Andrew Morton's book tells is chilling to those who have formerly regarded the USA as the bastion of freedom. It is, it would appear, exactly like Animal Farm - all are equal but some are more equal than others. In this case, those with more money and power are more equal than those with less. Personally, I feel that there is something rather sick about middle-aged men who get a buzz out of terrorising a young girl and demanding that she describe her sexual experiences in lurid detail. We had one of those in the UK - it was called Frederick West and Mr Starr and his minions would do well to take notice of what happened to him.Or maybe I am too prissy, with my belief in due process and my feeling that the notion that a person is innocent until proved guilty makes the Anglo-Saxon legal system fairer than any other. It is a wonderful irony that Ms Lewinsky was bullied into telling the truth by the lies of the FBI operatives who were, by the way, so determined to have her testimony that they pre-empted the filing of her deposition and knowing prevented her from canceling it by stopping her from contacting her lawyer.In many countries those concerned would now find themselves behind bars. The fact was that Bill Clinton had made himself many powerful enemies who resented his apparently teflon-coated ability to slide out of scandals. They wanted to get him and they did not care what for. Monica Lewinsky was in the wrong place at the wrong time.What she did was wrong but hardly a major crime. When reduced to basics what was it she did? She had a relationship with someone much older than herself and attempted to avoid embarrassment by hiding the fact. Sadly her handsome prince had all too clumsy feet of clay and her fairy godmother was on the make. At this point her story becomes a nightmare- especially when one considers that her tormenters would have been cast, a few years earlier as defenders of the free world. God help us! What is heartening is the picture that emerges of the loyalty of Ms Lewinsky's family and friends. Let us hope that now she will be allowed to forget her mistakes - she is, after all, not the only person to have done things they regret- and to get on with her life in peace.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1