Customer Reviews for

Monkey Business: Swinging Through the Wall Street Jungle

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    Great and fun read!

    The three star review on this book is quite unfair. This book is not Liar's Poker and rightly so. In my opinion, it is way funnier than LP. As an ex-investment banker, I can attest that the situations described are pretty typical of what goes on inside the high pressure cooker environment of an IB. The viewpoint is that of an associate in the bank. That is, someone right after an MBA degree. I laughed a lot while reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2005

    Read this...it's funny.

    Really hits the little details that drive analyst/associate level bankers craaaazy! E.g. the constant rewrites only to end up back to the original, the md on the phone making edits to a draft from three days ago, the drunken Christmas party... Very fast, enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    Greatest book I've ever read

    I'm a Junior Finance major in college and just recently got into seriously reading books. I love business books and things that have to do with my future career. Monkey Business was by far the greatest book I have EVER read. I enjoyed reading it and literally couldn't put it down. It was very informative and I learned a lot about the structure in Investment Banking but it wasn't preachy or too teachy. It has a lot of humor and they talk about real life crazy things that us guys talk about and think about. You MUST BUY THIS BOOK NOW!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2003

    A Great Book

    I am just like them, I looked at employment statistics and see investment banking and management consulting at the top of it all. It is a huge misconception that thse are the best fields to go into.Though there is huge money- the way these bankers earn it couldn't be nailed any better by these guys. It was one of the factors which made me realize I don't wanna kiss up to someone else for my entire career. I'd rather be in control of myself and be able to think on my own terms. I want a social life. Investment management is my stint. Thanks to this book, I know what it is really like being an investment banker, and not everyone out there is a millionaire because not everyone out there wants to live a lonely, sexless, and stressful life. DLJ is ancient history, but I bet life at other banks is just how Troob and Rolfe describe it. Anyone in high school, college, or grad school should read this book. It's so good that I finished it in three days. A MUST READ. INFORMATIVE, FUNNY, AND MOST IMPORTANTLY- written by human beings whos language can be understood by anyone regardless how much they know about finance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2000

    Finally, the truth is told !

    As I read, I felt as though I was at an Andrew Dice Clay performance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2000

    They nailed it! Absolutely a must-read .

    If you really liked Liar's Poker, you'll absolutely love this book. Factual, to the point, no-holds barred account of what makes the world go 'round. Whether you're a passive investor in a retirement account or a trader in the pit, this book sums up what the financial world is all about and what human nature is REALLY all about. If you don't read this book, you shouldn't even be able to access CNBC. Every business school student in the world should have to read this book and have an essay test on it in order to graduate. Just plain old great stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2000

    A must read

    Troob and Rolfe highlight the real world of investment banking with a unique wit. Anyone thinking about a career in investment banking, whether in NYC, London, Tokyo or elsewhere should read. After all the appearance may be different, but the rules of the game are the same whereever you go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2000

    Non-profit Organization = Investment Bank???

    Since my background is in public health, Rolfe and Troob's deeply insightful book taught me a lot about the investment banking world. I used to work in a non-profit health care organization run by a former senior VP of an investment bank. She ran the non-profit like an investment bank and had all of us health care people go through the same torture that the authors were subjected to. When I finally conjured up the courage to leave that job, like Rolfe and Troob, my sanity was only partially intact. After reading this excellent book, the authors helped me understand that I am still sane -- it's the investment banking business that's insane. (At least I can now rationalize my former boss' behavior). Thank you, Rolfe and Troob!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2000

    Incredible!!!

    What's cool about this book is how the authors, with a superb hability to point out the ironic and sarcastic, walks you through the whole process: from the happy dreams and hopes at business school and its interviewing process, to the rude awakening of a miserable life; how the mind, in its efforts to rationalize stupidity, graps to unrealized hopes and dreams. And they do it in a hilarious way!! It also shows how low a human being can fall, and that there is a fine line between pressure, extravagance and insanity. Great book, clearly written. A must read for people in the financial industry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2000

    Extremely funny and revealing!!

    This book definately ranks as a must buy--if you must buy one book on investment banking make sure its this one. Looks like 'Liars Poker' finally has some serious competition!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2000

    Hilarious! Loved it!

    I just finished the book and it is hilarious. Rolfe and Troob draw you in and make you laugh for three hours. My sides hurt. The characters are great and the stories even better. I am a banker and this book tells the real story. Rolfe and Troob have captured the essence of what it is like to be a junior guy in an investment bank. The book leaves you wanting more and I hope Rolfe and Troob write another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2000

    It is great to be honest

    I think that the guys were a bit nice and could have wrote a lot more. It is amazing what goes on for money at least they had the courage to be honest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2000

    Written in a language we can all understand

    Monkey Business will make you laugh out loud many times over! It's written using the language of today, no sugar coating. It's captivating, informative and absolutely hilarious! It's one adventure after another. A MUST READ!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2000

    Monkey Business is da bomb

    This book is great. I couldn't stop laughing. There have been so many lousy Wall Street tell-alls over the last few years that I honestly didn't want to pick this one up. A buddy of mine who works at DLJ and had gotten an advance copy told me I had to read it, though, so I did. Good thing. This book is a riot, and manages to also give fair warning to all the wannabe investment bankers who are thinking about striking out for Wall Street, and hopefully striking it rich. Monkey Business is now the gold standard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2000

    A revealing and extremely funny book

    This book is hilarious. The characters are unforgettable and the stories are memorable. This book allows the reader to understand what junior bankers really do. This is a great fast read for pure entertainment purposes or if you want to learn about investment banking. Anyone in a stressful career should read this book. It will help put a fresh perspective of what is really important.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1