Customer Reviews for

The Monkey's Raincoat (Elvis Cole Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

A Great Read

Okay, I'm a bit late coming to this book published in 1987, but Jack Getze said Crais be one good writer, so I cracked it open. Besides, the cover's red tag read, 'Named one of the century's 100 favorite mysteries by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association.' Tha...
Okay, I'm a bit late coming to this book published in 1987, but Jack Getze said Crais be one good writer, so I cracked it open. Besides, the cover's red tag read, 'Named one of the century's 100 favorite mysteries by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association.' That fancy tag and Getze were right, this was a great read. Elvis Cole, a literate, wisecracking Vietnam war vet is an L.A. detective who must find the wayward husband of a mousy wife and pushy female friend. The case mushrooms into something bigger, and Elvis brings in his deadly and mostly silent partner, Joe Pike, as the body count climbs. The story gathers momentum with its tight prose and well-drawn characters until the conclusion when people must decide what they are willing to fight for and die for. Hands down five stars.

posted by Anonymous on December 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

You really must check this author out

It was the first of Robert Crais that I had read. Since I have purchased and read 2 more of his books. The plots keep you on your toes! I found myself having to go to the next page just to see what happens next. Highly recommended author.

posted by 10910570 on February 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2007

    A Great Read

    Okay, I'm a bit late coming to this book published in 1987, but Jack Getze said Crais be one good writer, so I cracked it open. Besides, the cover's red tag read, 'Named one of the century's 100 favorite mysteries by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association.' That fancy tag and Getze were right, this was a great read. Elvis Cole, a literate, wisecracking Vietnam war vet is an L.A. detective who must find the wayward husband of a mousy wife and pushy female friend. The case mushrooms into something bigger, and Elvis brings in his deadly and mostly silent partner, Joe Pike, as the body count climbs. The story gathers momentum with its tight prose and well-drawn characters until the conclusion when people must decide what they are willing to fight for and die for. Hands down five stars.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Robert Crais' Elvis Cole series is the best ever! I just wish he had more books available. I've read them all.

    Try to read them order. I didn't and still enjoyed them but Crais does refer back to previous events.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Found a new author to me.

    Loved this book. Will buy more of them. He has humor and mystery in his writing. You wonder how he is going to get out of the messes he gets into, which keeps you from putting it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    Hardboiled with a sense of humor

    This was a refreshing novel. Elvis Cole is a hardboiled detective who doesn't take himself too seriously. Joe Pike is the rock-steady, steely eyed partner always ready to provide the heavy artillery. The book also has a touch of realism I enjoyed. It's refreshing to read an author who understands a little bit about what hand to hand combat is really about on the streets. All the characters in the book are rich and multi-dimensional. All in all, this was a great read. I look forward to reading another Elvis Cole novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2005

    Outstanding Mystery

    My first Elvis novel and not my last. Absolutely outstanding and, finally, a detective, who doesn't spend his spare time at an AA meeting. Elvis is not a detective stereotype and neither is his sidekick, Joe Pike. Exceptional and highly recommended to all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    I love Elvis!

    Love, love, love this book!! Laugh out loud wisecracks balance the dark mystery. Cannot wait to continue the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Highly recommended

    This author is one of my favorites!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    Great book series

    This is the first Elvis Cole series I have read. This is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Lisa

    Walked over to the cage

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Cookie and shade

    Cookie looks up at lisa....shade...shes a hyper dog....shade hyperly jumps around.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Fumi

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Boulderclaw

    Rainstar, lets go and do this. Im waiting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Rainstar

    Just do not get into any .ore mishaps

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Splaterfoot

    What do u mean, 'mishaps'?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Azul

    El paso

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    To killed rainstar

    How ,there was no fight or r u a coward who kills in their victems in their sleep

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Killed rain star

    He

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Venomheart

    A grey tomcat. With the greenest eyes ever. I am an experienced nomad medicine cat.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Graystripe

    Im in need of a mate... you look similar to me if i was female.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    My biggest complaint is the small number of books. I've read th

    My biggest complaint is the small number of books. I've read them all, love them all,
    and just wish there were more of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3