Customer Reviews for

Monsoon

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My First "Wilbur Smith"

    My nephew handed me this book on a water skiing vacation and it turned out to be a great read. I really enjoyed the story and I really enjoy his writing style. While I'm sure that's a personal thing, I have found that I liked every book of his that I have read. He blends mostly action with enough sexual tension to keep you turning pages. This was one of his better stories and I really recommend it for a good adventure. The book below is also a very good read as well and recommend that too!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    VERY ENJOYABLE READ

    Monsoon is both a worthy and lengthy sequel to Birds of Prey. We find Hal Courtney 20 odd years down he line in his spacious English country gentleman's estate surrounded by his 4 sons. He has already buried 3 wives and is getting bored rearing his sons. He soon gets coaxed by the East India Tea Company to embark on one of his swashbuckling voyages to rid the trade route of Arabian pirates. His eldest son, the black hearted William remains at home as the caretaker of the estate. His son Guy isn't up to the task and gets sent to Bombay. His other 2 sons Tom and Dorian, both chips off the old block, carry on in the seafaring tradition.
    The story mainly follows the exploits of Tom and Dorian who through the fortunes of battle become separated for many years. The saga goes back and forth between the lives of brothers, sometimes in an annoying fashion. The length of the book is a bit tedious but Smith's descriptive prose makes it palatable. He sets the ending up perfectly for yet another sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2014

    An excellent Wilbur Smith yarn, following the adventures of the

    An excellent Wilbur Smith yarn, following the adventures of the Courtneys as they sail from England to Africa and Zanzibar seeking fortunes, adventure and retribution. Full of color, piracy and an exploration of Araby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    A Very Enjoyable Adventure!

    This was my first "Wilbur Smith". My nephew handed it to me on a family water skiing trip up @ Trinity lake. I finished it by the end of the trip! If I wasn't up, I was reading. Needless to say, I've read all of Wibur Smiths works. Some are better than others, but they are always fun. I recommend Monsoon as one of his best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WONDERFUL!

    This is only the 4th Wilbur Smith book I have read and I'm not sure why I hadnt found this author before but I'm glad he has many more for me to read for I will find it very hard to find an author that can tell a story like him. Though being such a big book it is a fast and easy read not a boring page in the whole book all the way to the last page you will be hooked! The charachters are rich and you feel as though you know them. You laugh with them, you suffer with them, you long for them to succeed, you celebrate their victories. Great way to follow Birds of Prey which is also great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    UNPUTDOWNABLE! CAPTIVATING! BRILLIANT.

    I began reading it on a flight from Khartoum to Wau and found myself totally immersed in the book.Was unable to put it down.Cinematic,aborbing,wonderful.Grabs you and wont let go till the mindblowing end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2007

    GREAT!!!!

    This book and all the books of Wilbur Smith are great reads. You are totally absorbed by the books. Enjoy!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    Great Read

    I've read a number of Wilbur Smith books including River Gods and Birds of Prey. This one is fast paced with great characters. Read Bird of Prey first, though because it leads into Monsoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    Wow! Couldn't put it down!

    I am not usually into this type of a book, but it was loaned to me from a friend, and I must say I completely enjoyed it from the beginning to end. I cried, I laughed. Very good, and I can't wait to read something else from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2003

    The sea calls to you.

    I've read both 'Birds of Prey' and 'Monsoon' and both are wonderful. It's like being on the deck of the 'Lady Edwina' and the 'Seraph'. I can't wait to read his latest novel Blue Horizon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2001

    This is how an adventure novel is written!!!

    It's all here in this follow-up to 'Birds of Prey'. I had to keep up with the Courtneys so I grabbed this sequel. This book brings the next two generations to life. I would have given it 5 stars but some parts moved slowly with too much desciption at times. But, that's Wilbur Smith's style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2001

    Excellent Adventure!

    If you enjoy historical fiction, great sea stories, characters that leap off the page, thrills and adventure, you will thoroughly enjoy this big novel. Sir Hal Courtney and his three sons sail for the Indian Ocean to destroy a dangerous pirate who is decimating British East India Company trade. The result is sea battles, derring do, murder, kidnapping, love, passion, and family loyalty, all served up with strong, vivid writing, great pace, suspense, sex and blood. What's not to like? Monsoon has great descriptive passages, particularly in the first hundred pages or so when sexual encounters take place with considerable rapidity. Later, explicit gore is more prevalent, but these are minor quibbles when set against the fine writing, the broad canvas of this excellent story. If Monsoon ends rather abruptly, it is clear there is much more to come. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2000

    Tired of Waiting!!!

    Smith is genius! Have read/collect all his books. When, oh when, will there be another?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2000

    Wilber Smith Rules!

    I believe I have read all of his books and loved them all. Monsoon was excellant as was the first of the series Bird if Prey. I cant wait for another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2000

    An interesting beginning

    Wilber Smith's new book Monsoon starts brilliantly, with all the action that you expect from one of his books. In addition to the swashbuckling naval action that held readers in Bird of Prey, Smith adds some new and interesting concepts with Monsoon, adding to the normal battle enviroments, expected from the sequel of a naval adventure. However the only shortfall I found with the book was that the ending seemed to tie everything together to quickly. Almost to the point of forcing the ending. Which pending on the reader may spoil the overall impression gained from the book. However other than the hurried ending a thoughly enjoyable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    Great Sequel - We Want More!!

    Smith spins another great one. Impossible to put down while he paints one realistic scene after another. Best news is that the ending leaves ample opportunity for the story to continue!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3