BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Monster

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Any book involving a yeti eating ice cream is ok by me

    I think my headline says it all. A great easy read that leaves you looking for more books by the author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Monster by A. Lee Martinez

    This is a fun read with lots of different mythical characters and a plot that was totally not expected. I enjoyed it and can't wait for the sequel, there has to be a sequel because the writer left me wanting more situations with the characters, I enjoyed them that much.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Actually hard to put down.

    I picked up this book thinking I would give it a shot. It sounded a little silly, what with having a yeti eating ice cream on the back cover. Actually, within the FIRST PAGE, it dive right in with the humor. It was one of those books that had me smiling and laughing to myself through out it's entirety. I love the fact that the characters are actually fleshed out. They all have their flaws and nobody, not even the paper gnome, is perfect. The thing I think I liked most was the ending wasn't the stereotypical ending. I won't ruin it, but I was actually pleasantly surprised that Martinez didn't take the predictable route. I am definetly going to be picking up more of his books. Well worth the money and time put into reading it. Oh, and also, kudos on getting the mythologies right and not wimping out. All the creatures were spot on from their respective origins.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Great reading

    Non-stop reading. Great author and, as usual, a great book. Once you read one of James Patterson's books, you will want to read them all. I can't wait for another one to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    This book is fuh-reakin awesome.

    Definitely one of my favorite books. The fantastical stuff that goes on in the story is so well written, the elements just come off so non-chalant to the characters it makes it beleivable. This author's style has made me take a look at a couple of his other books, and they are just as great. The characters are very real and the explanations and interactions are just so cool. Definitely worth it. Go get it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    brilliant

    striking cover caught my eye but i didnt buy it at that time, i think i was reading something else at the time. But i came back and bought it and read it in just a few days. WOW!!! what a great book. every one needs to read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Martinez has taken whimsy, humor, and sci-fi and melded it into one big Scooby sandwich of a story that you'll rub your belly and belch loudly after devouring

    4.5 Stars
    Watch out for deadly garden gnomes, yeti's that loathe vanilla, trolls, and possessed cats while the fate of the universe rests on the shoulders of three unlikely people: a disgruntled Cryptobiological Containment & Rescue Services (CCRC) worker, a paper gnome named Chester, and Judy, an incognizant mundane Food Plus Mart worker. (by the way, she's great at stacking cans of vegetables). Not exactly the A Team when saving our collective butts. But hey. it's all we've got.

    Monster is not your ordinary kind of guy and in between his supernatural color changes, definitely brings new meaning to the word apathetic. But you'll adore him. The two failings of this incredibly interesting character are his conscience and his selfishness. These are a point of conflict for Martinez. Which is why Chester fills the role of sensei so nicely. Not that Monster listens that well to him. Will he end up doing the right thing? Will he help Judy step up to the plate and fulfill her destiny? Or will he just do his job, swig back a beer, and veg out in front of the TV while the universe collapses around him? Monster's man-cave guttural mentality is immensely endearing, and watching him stumble over basic rights and wrongs will bring a smile to your face.

    Martinez has taken whimsy, humor, and sci-fi and melded it into one big Scooby sandwich of a story that you'll rub your belly and belch loudly after devouring. The efforts of Monster, Chester, and Judy to outwit their arch nemesis Lotus, snag the universe stone, and continually battle summoned cryptos is like riding The Colossus at Magic Mountain and having a few wheels break off mid-flight. Scary, but fun. I LOVED Monster. I was constantly amused and amazed at how Martinez makes his world building so effortless. How the heck does he do it?

    The pace is continually zippy and entertaining, the text snappy as Martinez unabashedly gives us a window into his quick fire mind. I was strongly reminded of Christopher Moore, but I have to say it (don't kill me after the fact) that I think Martinez is hella funnier. Way. The Post-It's, the dialogue, And inventive. And I strongly suspect he ate up comic books as a young sprat. I now consider myself a lifelong devotee.

    A Fiendishly Bookish Review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    phreekin love it

    i loved the concept of this book.the characters are beyond fascinating.i definitely wasn't disappointed by the other title gil's all fright diner and have plans to purchase other titles by this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay, here┬┐s where things pick back up. Martinez has said he di

    Okay, here’s where things pick back up. Martinez has said he did not want things to go (especially by the end) as glorious as things often are for the lead character. In truth, I did not read it that way since it seems by first appearance that things turn out somehow. However, it does seem somewhat obvious that through most of the story, the main character is not happy and thereby struggles. It is just intriguing how everything falls apart and seems to go wrong in this person’s life, even though he is trying to defend. I don’t think many books that follow actually only two characters closely could go so well—especially in this situation that they are adversarial at most points and the consensus at large.

    I would recommend this product along with Sirens of Morning Light by Benjamin Anderson, a quest for a man in Iowa to regain his identity, which becomes entangled with people who claim to have known him when he discovers he is a scientific experiment. Make sure not to miss either book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Zack

    -reads the note and smiles-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    AMAZING

    This book got me hooked on A Lee Martinez and he has yet to dissapoint

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Silena

    Pulls up on her pegasus hello allyssa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Loads of Fun!

    Great book for a rainy day read. Found myself laughing out loud a bunch of times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This humorous satire lampoons those street corner philosophers agonizing over how the universe began

    Monster runs a specialized pest control agency that advertises he catches pesty yeti; what he catches is placed in special in cryptobiological containment facilities as these are not rodents. One night Monster stops at the Food Plus Mart where Judy eats Rocky Road ice cream while working the late shift. He saves her life from a runaway yeti who was running wild in the frozen foods aisle.-----------

    Soon after that evening incident, Monster has to remove an infestation of trolls in Judy's apartment. As with the yeti, Judy almost immediately forgets the paranormal events, which proves she must be a person whose mind cannot accept the existence of magic so she dumps those encounters as not being real. However, Monster does not accept coincidence as Judy seems to be the foci in the rise of deadly cryptobiological activity. Not long after her denial, Lotus, who possesses a stone linked to Judy, abducts her. Used to battling dragons, trolls and ogres, Monster follows her to save her life, but quickly realizes he is in deep trouble even more when he fights with his girlfriend who is literally from hell.-------------

    This humorous satire lampoons those street corner philosophers agonizing over how the universe began when people are malnourished, un-sheltered, and receiving no health care. The story line is fast-paced from the opening yeti assault and never slows down as Judy seems to have become the center of zany paranormal activity. Readers who believe in boiling the ocean to see what lives on ground below will pass, but the rest of the universe will enjoy Lee Martinez's biting thriller that amusingly mocks social cosmologists who fail to see a tree in the forest.----------

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2