Customer Reviews for

Monster

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

monster is beast. :D

Monster by, Frank Peretti, is a spectacular suspense/ thriller novel packed with tons of adventure. I absolutely loved this book because it kept me on the edge of my seat and wonder what was going to happen. Monster takes place in modern day time in the deep, dark, myst...
Monster by, Frank Peretti, is a spectacular suspense/ thriller novel packed with tons of adventure. I absolutely loved this book because it kept me on the edge of my seat and wonder what was going to happen. Monster takes place in modern day time in the deep, dark, mysterious woods of Oregon.
The major conflict in Monster was that when Reed and Beck Shelton go on a camping trip, beck is stolen Beck is stolen by a huge monster in the middle of the night. While Reed and his crew are searching for her, little do they know that they're being stalked by something. While on the search for Beck, Reed and his crew are continually finding clues like Beck's backpack. Also, men die from a mysterious monster while on the hunt. When they find a part of Beck's jacket covered in blood, Reed is positive that she is dead. But then they see that the GPS they "gave" her suddenly becomes alive.
Frank Peretti did an awesome job writing Monster. He made it so that the reader would not get bored, but want to keep reading and never put the book down! Frank Peretti used rich vocabulary while writing.
I would definitely recommend this novel to people who like to read suspenseful and adventurous novels because this book is exactly like that! This book is now my favorite book, and I'm sure it will be yours too!


NOW GO AND READ IT !
kthanks(:

posted by LLLAAAUUURRREEENNNNN on November 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

ANTI-DARWINISM AT ITS WORST

Frank Peretti says ' I can't make a big scientific argument' and he's right. He cannot. I didn't know this book was pro-creationism, I just got it because I expected a suspenseful, scary story. Big disappointment. I finished the book and kept trying to enjoy it to no...
Frank Peretti says ' I can't make a big scientific argument' and he's right. He cannot. I didn't know this book was pro-creationism, I just got it because I expected a suspenseful, scary story. Big disappointment. I finished the book and kept trying to enjoy it to no avail. Instead of characters, I just found caricatures. The only ones to come as fully-developed were the 'monsters', the sasquatch-like creatures. And the storytelling was not up to my expectations. Unless, you're all for religious stances and care little about story and character development, go for it. Otherwise, don't bother.

posted by Anonymous on April 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    monster is beast. :D

    Monster by, Frank Peretti, is a spectacular suspense/ thriller novel packed with tons of adventure. I absolutely loved this book because it kept me on the edge of my seat and wonder what was going to happen. Monster takes place in modern day time in the deep, dark, mysterious woods of Oregon.
    The major conflict in Monster was that when Reed and Beck Shelton go on a camping trip, beck is stolen Beck is stolen by a huge monster in the middle of the night. While Reed and his crew are searching for her, little do they know that they're being stalked by something. While on the search for Beck, Reed and his crew are continually finding clues like Beck's backpack. Also, men die from a mysterious monster while on the hunt. When they find a part of Beck's jacket covered in blood, Reed is positive that she is dead. But then they see that the GPS they "gave" her suddenly becomes alive.
    Frank Peretti did an awesome job writing Monster. He made it so that the reader would not get bored, but want to keep reading and never put the book down! Frank Peretti used rich vocabulary while writing.
    I would definitely recommend this novel to people who like to read suspenseful and adventurous novels because this book is exactly like that! This book is now my favorite book, and I'm sure it will be yours too!


    NOW GO AND READ IT !
    kthanks(:

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Christian Author Writes A Thriller That Also Gives You Something To Ponder Regarding Creationism And Evolution.

    I thoroughly enjoyed "Monster". First of all, the title reached out and grabbed me because I love anything that might give me a good scare. It had a little bit of everything mixed in. There was murder, intrigue, scary scientists, scary hairy monsters, mystery, and a twist. If you enjoy reading about the Loch Ness Monster, Dracula, Werewolves, or Bigfoot, then you will enjoy this book. It's a thriller that also has a moral message.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    wow!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It kept my attention from beginning to end. My taste in literature ranges from one end of the spectrum to the other. One thing that I do look for in a good book is what I can pull from the book, aside from what is physically written on the page, and frank peretti keeps me thinking, 'what is he trying to say?' or 'what am I supposed to get from this?'. I love his work and this book is no exception.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    Monster by Frank Peretti is a gripping tale of a husband and wife who, while hiking in Idaho, find themselves in a horrible predicament. What started out as an enjoyable evening of hiking results in days of terror filled panic and nights of horror, mixed with fear of the unknown. As the reader turns each page, he will be on the edge of his seat with fear, excitement, and suspense as he follows the trail of the main characters, Reed and Beck. Peretti skillfully navigates the reader between different scenes of Reed searching, Beck traveling with the monster, and the search party almost finding her several times. Peretti enables the reader to understand what is happening through his vivid descriptions. Will Beck be found alive? Will Reed redeem himself for making her go camping when she did not even want to go in the first place? Will the monster get away with Beck? Will the monster live? All these questions can be answered when you pick up a copy of Monster by Frank Peretti. This 413 page book is well worth the read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Creepy and scary...I LOVED this book!

    Beck is not thrilled to be taking this survival weekend with her husband Reed. She isn't a big fan of the outdoors, but Reed thinks a wild camping adventure is just the thing to cure her of her nervous stutter. During their first night of camping, a horrifying wail pierced the night. Then something emerges in the darkness and chases them through the forest. The last thing Reed sees is a huge, hairy creature carrying his wife away into the night.

    The next morning, a rescue party sets out to track the footprints and a hunting party sets out to bag a huge bear. Reed knows it wasn't a bear. When a few more mysterious murders pop up, Reed calls a close friend to investigate. No one believes that a big foot monster carried off his wife, but Reed knows what he saw. And the more they discover, the more his theory is supported. But there may be another creature out there who has begun to hunt them.

    I LOVED this book! It was such a great premise and handled so well. I loved how Peretti showed Beck's point of view with her "captor." I loved seeing her character grow and change just to survive. And then there was the whole mystery to figure out and the awesome nod to God's amazing ability to create unique species. This is a great read. It's creepy and scary, so if you don't like that, steer clear. Otherwise, you must read Monster. It rocks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT!

    This book is great! I couldn't put it down.
    I had to find out what happened next.
    A fresh new story line that anyone will be able to love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    Very enjoyable

    Likable characters with some surprises.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    ANTI-DARWINISM AT ITS WORST

    Frank Peretti says ' I can't make a big scientific argument' and he's right. He cannot. I didn't know this book was pro-creationism, I just got it because I expected a suspenseful, scary story. Big disappointment. I finished the book and kept trying to enjoy it to no avail. Instead of characters, I just found caricatures. The only ones to come as fully-developed were the 'monsters', the sasquatch-like creatures. And the storytelling was not up to my expectations. Unless, you're all for religious stances and care little about story and character development, go for it. Otherwise, don't bother.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    The plot started out well, then hints of religious input. Finall

    The plot started out well, then hints of religious input. Finally the author named all of the "monsters" Christian names and the whole thing fell apart. The word "Christian literature" should be included. I don't like religion pushed at me. and unexpectedly. One of the worst books I have read. I usually read good literature, and just wanted to read something fun for a change. Too bad as the plot began well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Loved it!!

    This was hard to put down. I packed it everywhere with me until i finished it...loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Suprisingly goof!

    Bet you a dollar you will love this book. (Be honest")

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Plot: The idea for this plot was good, however, when put to prac

    Plot: The idea for this plot was good, however, when put to practice, I don't think it was quite up to par. There were several twists that kept the book interesting, but when I had finished, I didn't feel satisfied. There were several stories converging to make the sum of the book, and I think there might have been just a little too much happening.

    Characters: There was not enough depth to the characters in this story. The first couple chapters give a little insight to the history of Beck, but other than that, the characters lives are only revealed in small chunks of information if it became relevant to the plot.

    Themes: Overcoming fear was the theme of this book, and while it was obvious, I don't think that it was integrated into the story enough. It was covered in the beginning, and then in the end, but through the middle of the story, the themed just, kind of, got lost and out crowded by the plot of the story.

    Emotion: I did not find this story to have much emotion. There was a lot going on and it kept my mind busy but there wasn't emotion in the words.

    Overall: I really like the way this book is written from so many different perspectives. It gives a much deeper understanding of what is going on. Even as you read all of the perspectives, the story is still written fluidly so that you don't get lost or confused. I also really liked that after each chapter, there was a map to show where things where happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Super dooper

    Gotta catch em all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    I liked this book.

    If u like to read about spooky bigfoot stories, this is one of the best I have read. Story seems so real it just about puts you there. I like Mr. Peretti, very good author and can keep u on the edge of your seat with every page turner. I highly recommend this book for bigfoot lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Amazing

    Frank Peretti proves that a Christian author can have talent. Phenominal talent.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Noone can Fade him!

    You thought u knew. U have no idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Pretty good.

    At some parts it gets a little repetitive. Highly recommend it for older kids. Had many great twists and has a surprise ending youll never forget. Tht sums it up as a prety good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Disappointing

    This book started out great, but once the person, whom I won't mention is taken by the "monster", it gets so repetitive I skipped whole pages without missing a thing. I have read every Frank Peretti book up until now and have loved every one of them. After reading this book I was afraid to purchase another one for fear it would be a waste of money. Sorry, it seems most people disagree with me, but I guess that is why there are reviews. We each see books differently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    A MUST READ????

    I love this book so much it is full of suspence and the writing is awesome! You may think you know what the monster really is but when the hunter become the hunted you find out all you thought you knew was wrong. Spoiler alert lets just sy there is more than five deaths

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Amazing combination of intensity, nature, and hope. One of the best books I've ever read. Simply couldn't put it down.

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6