Customer Reviews for

Monster

Average Rating 4
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

monster is beast. :D

Monster by, Frank Peretti, is a spectacular suspense/ thriller novel packed with tons of adventure. I absolutely loved this book because it kept me on the edge of my seat and wonder what was going to happen. Monster takes place in modern day time in the deep, dark, myst...
Monster by, Frank Peretti, is a spectacular suspense/ thriller novel packed with tons of adventure. I absolutely loved this book because it kept me on the edge of my seat and wonder what was going to happen. Monster takes place in modern day time in the deep, dark, mysterious woods of Oregon.
The major conflict in Monster was that when Reed and Beck Shelton go on a camping trip, beck is stolen Beck is stolen by a huge monster in the middle of the night. While Reed and his crew are searching for her, little do they know that they're being stalked by something. While on the search for Beck, Reed and his crew are continually finding clues like Beck's backpack. Also, men die from a mysterious monster while on the hunt. When they find a part of Beck's jacket covered in blood, Reed is positive that she is dead. But then they see that the GPS they "gave" her suddenly becomes alive.
Frank Peretti did an awesome job writing Monster. He made it so that the reader would not get bored, but want to keep reading and never put the book down! Frank Peretti used rich vocabulary while writing.
I would definitely recommend this novel to people who like to read suspenseful and adventurous novels because this book is exactly like that! This book is now my favorite book, and I'm sure it will be yours too!


NOW GO AND READ IT !
kthanks(:

posted by LLLAAAUUURRREEENNNNN on November 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

ANTI-DARWINISM AT ITS WORST

Frank Peretti says ' I can't make a big scientific argument' and he's right. He cannot. I didn't know this book was pro-creationism, I just got it because I expected a suspenseful, scary story. Big disappointment. I finished the book and kept trying to enjoy it to no...
Frank Peretti says ' I can't make a big scientific argument' and he's right. He cannot. I didn't know this book was pro-creationism, I just got it because I expected a suspenseful, scary story. Big disappointment. I finished the book and kept trying to enjoy it to no avail. Instead of characters, I just found caricatures. The only ones to come as fully-developed were the 'monsters', the sasquatch-like creatures. And the storytelling was not up to my expectations. Unless, you're all for religious stances and care little about story and character development, go for it. Otherwise, don't bother.

posted by Anonymous on April 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    monster is beast. :D

    Monster by, Frank Peretti, is a spectacular suspense/ thriller novel packed with tons of adventure. I absolutely loved this book because it kept me on the edge of my seat and wonder what was going to happen. Monster takes place in modern day time in the deep, dark, mysterious woods of Oregon.
    The major conflict in Monster was that when Reed and Beck Shelton go on a camping trip, beck is stolen Beck is stolen by a huge monster in the middle of the night. While Reed and his crew are searching for her, little do they know that they're being stalked by something. While on the search for Beck, Reed and his crew are continually finding clues like Beck's backpack. Also, men die from a mysterious monster while on the hunt. When they find a part of Beck's jacket covered in blood, Reed is positive that she is dead. But then they see that the GPS they "gave" her suddenly becomes alive.
    Frank Peretti did an awesome job writing Monster. He made it so that the reader would not get bored, but want to keep reading and never put the book down! Frank Peretti used rich vocabulary while writing.
    I would definitely recommend this novel to people who like to read suspenseful and adventurous novels because this book is exactly like that! This book is now my favorite book, and I'm sure it will be yours too!


    NOW GO AND READ IT !
    kthanks(:

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Christian Author Writes A Thriller That Also Gives You Something To Ponder Regarding Creationism And Evolution.

    I thoroughly enjoyed "Monster". First of all, the title reached out and grabbed me because I love anything that might give me a good scare. It had a little bit of everything mixed in. There was murder, intrigue, scary scientists, scary hairy monsters, mystery, and a twist. If you enjoy reading about the Loch Ness Monster, Dracula, Werewolves, or Bigfoot, then you will enjoy this book. It's a thriller that also has a moral message.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    wow!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It kept my attention from beginning to end. My taste in literature ranges from one end of the spectrum to the other. One thing that I do look for in a good book is what I can pull from the book, aside from what is physically written on the page, and frank peretti keeps me thinking, 'what is he trying to say?' or 'what am I supposed to get from this?'. I love his work and this book is no exception.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    Monster by Frank Peretti is a gripping tale of a husband and wife who, while hiking in Idaho, find themselves in a horrible predicament. What started out as an enjoyable evening of hiking results in days of terror filled panic and nights of horror, mixed with fear of the unknown. As the reader turns each page, he will be on the edge of his seat with fear, excitement, and suspense as he follows the trail of the main characters, Reed and Beck. Peretti skillfully navigates the reader between different scenes of Reed searching, Beck traveling with the monster, and the search party almost finding her several times. Peretti enables the reader to understand what is happening through his vivid descriptions. Will Beck be found alive? Will Reed redeem himself for making her go camping when she did not even want to go in the first place? Will the monster get away with Beck? Will the monster live? All these questions can be answered when you pick up a copy of Monster by Frank Peretti. This 413 page book is well worth the read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Creepy and scary...I LOVED this book!

    Beck is not thrilled to be taking this survival weekend with her husband Reed. She isn't a big fan of the outdoors, but Reed thinks a wild camping adventure is just the thing to cure her of her nervous stutter. During their first night of camping, a horrifying wail pierced the night. Then something emerges in the darkness and chases them through the forest. The last thing Reed sees is a huge, hairy creature carrying his wife away into the night.

    The next morning, a rescue party sets out to track the footprints and a hunting party sets out to bag a huge bear. Reed knows it wasn't a bear. When a few more mysterious murders pop up, Reed calls a close friend to investigate. No one believes that a big foot monster carried off his wife, but Reed knows what he saw. And the more they discover, the more his theory is supported. But there may be another creature out there who has begun to hunt them.

    I LOVED this book! It was such a great premise and handled so well. I loved how Peretti showed Beck's point of view with her "captor." I loved seeing her character grow and change just to survive. And then there was the whole mystery to figure out and the awesome nod to God's amazing ability to create unique species. This is a great read. It's creepy and scary, so if you don't like that, steer clear. Otherwise, you must read Monster. It rocks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT!

    This book is great! I couldn't put it down.
    I had to find out what happened next.
    A fresh new story line that anyone will be able to love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    Very enjoyable

    Likable characters with some surprises.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    ANTI-DARWINISM AT ITS WORST

    Frank Peretti says ' I can't make a big scientific argument' and he's right. He cannot. I didn't know this book was pro-creationism, I just got it because I expected a suspenseful, scary story. Big disappointment. I finished the book and kept trying to enjoy it to no avail. Instead of characters, I just found caricatures. The only ones to come as fully-developed were the 'monsters', the sasquatch-like creatures. And the storytelling was not up to my expectations. Unless, you're all for religious stances and care little about story and character development, go for it. Otherwise, don't bother.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Rowan

    I growl "some paople are dipsh<_>its"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Kiriti

    Kiriti, savouring the flavour of the cake, turned to Tanaya, "Zxerium." He cooed, swallowing eagerly. He swiped his elongated tongue over his teeth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Shade

    Walks in her blonde hair tyied in a messy bun. She was pale and her lips were stained red

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    The shadow

    It vanishes, laughing .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    A boy

    Walks in. Wrong turn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Maria

    :3 Attack in Titan was my life until i finished it yesterday!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    Kai

    Kai yawns boredly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Matrix

    She made a 3-D pixel illusion and let it float in the air growing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    The girl

    "Hi guys

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Bliss

    She walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    Sliss

    Yeah you fri.cki.ng -----*$%&#*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Cris

    Like me i fell very unloved

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7