Customer Reviews for

Monster

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Samantha Rivera for Readers' Favorite Thomas Luther

Reviewed by Samantha Rivera for Readers' Favorite

Thomas Luther is the boogeyman under your bed and the monster in your closet, all rolled into one. He is a parent’s worst nightmare for their child and a woman’s worst nightmare for a date. He is pure evil and what is p...
Reviewed by Samantha Rivera for Readers' Favorite

Thomas Luther is the boogeyman under your bed and the monster in your closet, all rolled into one. He is a parent’s worst nightmare for their child and a woman’s worst nightmare for a date. He is pure evil and what is possibly worse is that he is brutal without provocation and he is unrepentant about it. In his mind’s eye, the only true victim is himself. Throughout Monster a colorful picture is painted of Luther and how he came to torment and terrify several states worth of women, cops, and families.

This story is one that will give you the chills and make you look twice in corners. It will definitely make you think twice before smiling back at the friendly young man across the room and you’ll never think about hitchhiking the same way again. I couldn’t seem to put this book down because every time I tried I was drawn back to it again and again until it was done. The story of Thomas Luther and his victims is one that haunted family, friends, and police officers for years before it finally came to an end. This is the story of exactly how that happened. This is the story of how Thomas Luther tormented the people he came into contact with for at least two decades and possibly even more as he made his way throughout the country. 

Perhaps we’ll never know the full truth of what happened between Luther and the only woman he was convicted of killing but this book will help you shed some light on the case.

posted by ReadersFavorite on August 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Pretty gripping book

Pretty gripping book

posted by 17440812 on July 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Samantha Rivera for Readers' Favorite Thomas Luther

    Reviewed by Samantha Rivera for Readers' Favorite

    Thomas Luther is the boogeyman under your bed and the monster in your closet, all rolled into one. He is a parent’s worst nightmare for their child and a woman’s worst nightmare for a date. He is pure evil and what is possibly worse is that he is brutal without provocation and he is unrepentant about it. In his mind’s eye, the only true victim is himself. Throughout Monster a colorful picture is painted of Luther and how he came to torment and terrify several states worth of women, cops, and families.

    This story is one that will give you the chills and make you look twice in corners. It will definitely make you think twice before smiling back at the friendly young man across the room and you’ll never think about hitchhiking the same way again. I couldn’t seem to put this book down because every time I tried I was drawn back to it again and again until it was done. The story of Thomas Luther and his victims is one that haunted family, friends, and police officers for years before it finally came to an end. This is the story of exactly how that happened. This is the story of how Thomas Luther tormented the people he came into contact with for at least two decades and possibly even more as he made his way throughout the country. 

    Perhaps we’ll never know the full truth of what happened between Luther and the only woman he was convicted of killing but this book will help you shed some light on the case.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2002

    Excellent detail of events

    I read alot of true crime books but this is the first one in a long time that captivated my attention and didn't get long winded in describing facts.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Thrilling, a must read!

    Monster had me from the first page. I just could not put it down. The idea that these kinds of people are wandering our neighborhoods is alarming. I take much more caution whenever I'm out and about.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Must read

    Very scary and a lesson not to trust just anyone

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Great

    Good book. Well researched.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty gripping book

    Pretty gripping book

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    As a true crime fan, I was very disappointed in this book. It wa

    As a true crime fan, I was very disappointed in this book. It was far too long and drawn out. It focused on the villian's
     Iove life more than his crimes. I feel it did not live up to its title nor its reviews. I like Steve Jackson. However, I found
    Myself struggling to stay with and finish this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2005

    this man is just what the cover has on the front of it

    When reading this book I really felt sorry for that college student but you have to understand that you can't trust everyone or in this case anyone to give you a ride home and you don't know them because most likely something could or will happen to you!!!!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2014

    I don't t hink Steve Jackson could have chosen a better title fo

    I don't t hink Steve Jackson could have chosen a better title for this book MONSTER DESCRIBES Thomas Luther is that and so much more.To be so evil and yet be soft spoken and charming, he really fooled a lot of women,I can't understand tho how he managed to continue to hold Debra Snider in his world to the very end. This is a page-turner that will stay with me long after I read the last word. Mr. Jackson has done an excellent job with his research and details to create one off the BEST books..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Baby girl

    Sits curiously

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    rockella

    Sighs bye

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Pierce

    Dissapoofs ((avril........shoulda known

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Cali

    Ahhhh so how u been? Whats up? What made you come back?

    0 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1