Customer Reviews for

Monster

Average Rating 4
( 540 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(271)

4 Star

(155)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Monster - a riveting read!

Monster by Walter Dean Myers is a fast - paced read, with a well developed plot. Steve Harmon is a black teen that is convicted of murder. But instead of sulking around in jail, he decides to write everything down that is happening in movie set - up. He also writes p...
Monster by Walter Dean Myers is a fast - paced read, with a well developed plot. Steve Harmon is a black teen that is convicted of murder. But instead of sulking around in jail, he decides to write everything down that is happening in movie set - up. He also writes personal notes throughout the novel that help to progress the plot, and give added information to the reader. While reading Monster, you will feel as if you are right there with the characters through the good, and the bad times, for Myers did an excellent job of describing the setting, and the characters themselves. Contributing to this is the fact that the book is written in first person for all of the characters. Meaning that when different people speak, they use "I" and "me" and this is important because the reader can experience that characters thoughts and feelings for themselves. Myers also does a fabulous job of creating real, believable characters. Each character has a different personality, way of speaking, and way of acting. Also, the way each character speaks reflects their background. For example, when Bobo is being questioned, he uses improper grammar and says, "Me and King planned out a getover and we done it." (Myers p. 177). Finally, the problem is resolved in the story. But of course, I cannot tell you the resolution; you must read Monster by Walter Dean Myers for yourself and experience the thrill of it all.

posted by Lemurgirl on October 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

This was a part of an assignment I received for English class a few years ago, and I can remember just how much I despised this book. It is rather predictable and I found it to have a depressing setting. I don't recommend this book to people who prefer a quick-paced sto...
This was a part of an assignment I received for English class a few years ago, and I can remember just how much I despised this book. It is rather predictable and I found it to have a depressing setting. I don't recommend this book to people who prefer a quick-paced story of action, but instead to people who like to read about one continuous, drawn out conflict.

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    Terrible

    This was a part of an assignment I received for English class a few years ago, and I can remember just how much I despised this book. It is rather predictable and I found it to have a depressing setting. I don't recommend this book to people who prefer a quick-paced story of action, but instead to people who like to read about one continuous, drawn out conflict.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Minus stars

    Between all the plot spoilers, many of which told the ending, and the kids here playing kitty kat games its hard to get a simple review. Please bn. Put a stop to these ppl who reveal the entire plot line in their so called reviews and these blamed kids using the book review site as a xhat room and a role playing site. There are othere places for these kids to go play.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book stinks!

    Monster is an absolutely horrible book! Walter Dean Myers repeats the same thing over and over again. It is about a young man named Steve who gets involved in a drugstore robbery which he doesn't recall being a part of. As he is in jail he is writing as movie about what is going on. The only places that the story's setting is on is his jail cell and the courtroom. It's a court case that just drags on and on.
    He gets up to the stand and cannot remember anything that happened. The other men that were involved in the robbery accused of him of being the watch out and signaling when the coast was clear. The store owner ended up getting shot and killed so the charges are very high and he could be put in jail for pretty much his entire life. Even in the courtroom he writes his little movie and nobody can understand what he is doing. You might be sentenced to life and you're writing a book about it. How stupid is that?
    You never find out what really happened because the main character can't remember anything and the other people that were in the store at the time all have different opinions. They also talk like idiots so its sometimes hard to understand what they are saying. I wish he would have started the story when all of this took place instead all of it being in the courtroom. I do not recommend reading this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    BOOOORING

    My teacher choose this book to read in class. IT's horrible.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Sucked

    This book sucked
    I couldnt get into it
    Made no sense

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Eh

    I couldent get into it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    ewwww

    this book is awful my teacher made me read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Suck

    It sucked bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Shadowclaw

    I didnt goes to a random result

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    eh

    If i didn't have to read this book for a class I would have stopped after the first 10 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    I hated this

    Reading this book is like eating glass.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Storm

    Stortalon- ok thats great. *he said hurridly* ok now lets go no one follow no matter what. *took Stormkit to hidden shaft only result, his eyes starting to flicker*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2007

    Terrible

    As I read Monster, I really thought that it was a very ridiculous book to read. I was disappointed to read the book that was in the same setting! I would not recommend this book at all if you are a person who likes suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2006

    MONSTER

    Worst book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    DO NOT READ THIS BOOK

    This book is one of the most boring books that I have ever read. It talks about the same thing over and over again. The worst part was when Steve writes in his journal. He always talks about how he is going to spend the rest of his life in prison. If you like to read books with action, do not read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2005

    Definitely keeps your interest.

    Monster is a very uniquely organized book. I enjoyed the realism of Steve¿s experiences in jail and in court. The fact that it is a true story makes it even more interesting. Though some paragraphs are not needed for the story, it is easy, quick, and fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2005

    Really Good Book

    I had only picked this book for a class but it turned out to be a really good book. It kept me intrested and I finished it way before it was do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    TERRIBLE!

    i hated this book. first it was written as if you were the director of a movie. which makes it even more confusing, plus the story it self was terrible. i hated this book. i would never reccomend it to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2003

    It should have been a website.

    If context counts then the circumstances under which I received this book apparently marred my ability to read it without self-preoccupation. In a small town there are many monsters, perhaps the parent of a child who refuses to take responsibility for their underage,unlicensed teenager who hits a young boy with her mother's car. Interestingly enough the mother has no insurance. Like mother, like daughter perhaps. Not assuming responsibility as an adult is capricious and foolhardy. It sets the standard for her child to live by. I did not like Monster for many reasons. It was too stereotypical, the poor black kid caught in the grips of the big bad brothers. Also I prefer an ending decided by the author not me. I felt this way many years ago after I read 'The Lady or the Tiger.' Left to my own imagination I focus on the resolution and not the content. This was not my style and I took the librarian's interest in my reading it as an indictment of my own life.Maybe because I am 54 and I was perusing the Teen section of the library. I had run out of upstairs books and was looking for some of my childhood favorites. As a single mother who loves to read..it was not my cup of tea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2