Customer Reviews for

Monster

Average Rating 4
( 550 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(277)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Monster - a riveting read!

Monster by Walter Dean Myers is a fast - paced read, with a well developed plot. Steve Harmon is a black teen that is convicted of murder. But instead of sulking around in jail, he decides to write everything down that is happening in movie set - up. He also writes p...
Monster by Walter Dean Myers is a fast - paced read, with a well developed plot. Steve Harmon is a black teen that is convicted of murder. But instead of sulking around in jail, he decides to write everything down that is happening in movie set - up. He also writes personal notes throughout the novel that help to progress the plot, and give added information to the reader. While reading Monster, you will feel as if you are right there with the characters through the good, and the bad times, for Myers did an excellent job of describing the setting, and the characters themselves. Contributing to this is the fact that the book is written in first person for all of the characters. Meaning that when different people speak, they use "I" and "me" and this is important because the reader can experience that characters thoughts and feelings for themselves. Myers also does a fabulous job of creating real, believable characters. Each character has a different personality, way of speaking, and way of acting. Also, the way each character speaks reflects their background. For example, when Bobo is being questioned, he uses improper grammar and says, "Me and King planned out a getover and we done it." (Myers p. 177). Finally, the problem is resolved in the story. But of course, I cannot tell you the resolution; you must read Monster by Walter Dean Myers for yourself and experience the thrill of it all.

posted by Lemurgirl on October 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

This was a part of an assignment I received for English class a few years ago, and I can remember just how much I despised this book. It is rather predictable and I found it to have a depressing setting. I don't recommend this book to people who prefer a quick-paced sto...
This was a part of an assignment I received for English class a few years ago, and I can remember just how much I despised this book. It is rather predictable and I found it to have a depressing setting. I don't recommend this book to people who prefer a quick-paced story of action, but instead to people who like to read about one continuous, drawn out conflict.

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Iffffffy

    Ohkayyy

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    For me, this book was just okay. I did not particularly enjoy it

    For me, this book was just okay. I did not particularly enjoy it. Its format as a screenplay was difficult for me to loose myself in. Since the format limits the amount of description physically and emotionally, I found myself struggling to keep the characters straight and make sense of who was who. I also struggled to picture the setting and the characters in my mind. Because of this, I really didn’t invest myself in the story enough to really care about what happened. Even though the story was about a murder trial and there was so much at stake, I spent most of the book feeling bored.

    Also, while I do not believe in extreme censorship – sex, drugs, violence, etc. are all real and I think exposure to those things at the appropriate time and in the appropriate way is necessary – I also know and understand the power of words. When I read, I see the book unfold like a movie in my mind. Those images don’t just disappear when I reach the end. In Monster, there are several references to and an occurrence of inmates raping other inmates in jail. It is not descriptive, but for me, an image of what’s happening instantly pops in my head. That is not an image I want popping up in my children’s minds.

    Not Terrible, but I wouldn't read it again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Fireice

    Why u pretended to be the fake shadowclaw.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    It's alright- not my first choice

    This book contains the story of a young man who starts off in jail. At first we do not know what he is in jail for but as the book goes along we learn what he is being charged for. The book is set up like a screen play. Which in my opinion detracted from the book. It was hard to really want to keep reading when the words were so chopped up like that. Throughout the book, we see how the character refers to himself as a monster and how he thinks he's innocent. If he thought he was innocent he wouldn't have wanted to remember who he is at the end of the book with his films. The book is also set in a courtroom the majority of the time and in my opinion it just kind of drug on and on. It may have been too much like an actually courtroom, which didn't do much to keep the attention of the reader who is probably already losing focus because of the style of writing. It wasn't an awful story, I just think it could have been written better. If you are looking for a book with some sction in it, this would not be the one for you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    Good for summer reading

    Monster was a book about a boy named Steve Harmon. The book is about how Steve is accused of murdering the drugstore owner Mr. Nesbitt and making of with the loot which was just some cigarettes and money. There are 2 other men who are also accused and there names are Mr. King and Bobo Evans. Most of the book is in the courtroom where the three men are on trial. Steve is interested in film so during the entire book he writes the trial down as a script for the actors which are the people in the courtroom. The book has many pages but is mostly easy reading because it is written down like a script. Based on all the awards it was given i thought the book would have been much more interesting and because it wasn't I gave it a two out of five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    this book is criminal and avoid it.

    Mubarak Jama 5/ 7/09

    The monster

    I read the book master in my English Class. It was part of my assignment during my junior year in high school. It is about a 16 year old boy who is called Steve .He got accuse of being part of robbery at a drugstore .He doesn't recall part of what happening. When he is in jail he makes a movies script about what is happening

    The only place the book takes place is in a curt room and jail. When Steve is in curt he cannot remember what happened. There was an other who was involved in part of the robbery. His name was JAMES KING. Then the owner of the store got shot and died but we don't know who kill him in the drug store. There were some witness who saw James king in the store and he has a gun .In order to find out If James king and Steve are guilty you will have to read this book

    I do not recommend reading this book because it is only about guys who committed crime, jail and being guilty .If you are interested in reading about crime, being in jail and being guilty .you should read the book. But my recommendation is don't read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Not really for me...

    IT WOULD BE GREAT IF IT WERE ACTUALLY A SCREENPLAY. Okay, I have to admit, this book did have a good baseline and plot, but it just wasn't for me. It was hard to read through all the 'CT PR' and 'CU of Ms. Petrocelli, dissolve in''s in the book. I couldn't really concentrate, and actually enjoy what I was reading. Although I truly enjoyed the plot, the whole setup of the story was not very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    This book was the worst

    I thought this bought was stupid. Why I hated this book is very simple, it was very confusing. Why, because there are too many characters that pop in and out of the book and plus it is stupid how it is written in the format of a screenplay. It seemed like the whole book was very poorly written and the whole thing was just stupid. So the whole book was weird to read because of the screenplay. The whole book was very confusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    Monster not for the easily bored

    WOW! This book was just not what i expected. In my opinion I think the author of this book did not know much about the world of law. I do not recommend this book if you are someone who likes a book to end with some kind of closer, or if you are the kind of person who can easily get distracted in the middle. I am not trying to sound negative but this book just left me disapointed in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2005

    Monster

    The book, Monster, is an interesting novel, and I would recommend it to anyone who wonders what it is like to be on trial for murder. Steve Harmon, a 16-year-old boy, is in that very situation. He tells his experiences in jail and court as a movie. The book includes camera angles and cues along with character¿s words written as script. This novel transforms the characters in the book into characters in a movie of Steve¿s life starting in jail. Though at times it is hard to follow, it is a refreshing way to read. The plot keeps you interested and keeps you turning the page. It is the story of a black teenager with a rough life. How he deals with the situation he is in by writing it all sown in journal entries. These journal entries are a cool way to show the reader what Steve is thinking and is the best way to understand how he feels about what he is going through. They helped me connect with him. I would suggest this book to any teenager who thinks that their life is hard. In know that I compared my life to Steve¿s life after I read Monster. I think that this book will make you take a step back and realize the terror of prison if you are planning on committing a crime. This book might change your views on your life if you think it is difficult by making you say, ¿ Wow, at least I¿m not Steve in prison or on trial.¿ Monster helps you realize that things could be much worse. I would recommend this book to mostly teenagers because it is from a teenage boy¿s point of view. I think that Monster is a good novel even though it has a predictable ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2005

    Monster

    Monster is a horrible title for this book. In no way did I see the point of calling him a monster if he did not even do a thing that would even put the name Monster to Steve. I think that the book was written in a unique way. I have never read a book that had the words actually named by the characters, which by the way was very easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2