Customer Reviews for

Monster

Average Rating 4
( 550 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(277)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Monster - a riveting read!

Monster by Walter Dean Myers is a fast - paced read, with a well developed plot. Steve Harmon is a black teen that is convicted of murder. But instead of sulking around in jail, he decides to write everything down that is happening in movie set - up. He also writes p...
Monster by Walter Dean Myers is a fast - paced read, with a well developed plot. Steve Harmon is a black teen that is convicted of murder. But instead of sulking around in jail, he decides to write everything down that is happening in movie set - up. He also writes personal notes throughout the novel that help to progress the plot, and give added information to the reader. While reading Monster, you will feel as if you are right there with the characters through the good, and the bad times, for Myers did an excellent job of describing the setting, and the characters themselves. Contributing to this is the fact that the book is written in first person for all of the characters. Meaning that when different people speak, they use "I" and "me" and this is important because the reader can experience that characters thoughts and feelings for themselves. Myers also does a fabulous job of creating real, believable characters. Each character has a different personality, way of speaking, and way of acting. Also, the way each character speaks reflects their background. For example, when Bobo is being questioned, he uses improper grammar and says, "Me and King planned out a getover and we done it." (Myers p. 177). Finally, the problem is resolved in the story. But of course, I cannot tell you the resolution; you must read Monster by Walter Dean Myers for yourself and experience the thrill of it all.

posted by Lemurgirl on October 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

This was a part of an assignment I received for English class a few years ago, and I can remember just how much I despised this book. It is rather predictable and I found it to have a depressing setting. I don't recommend this book to people who prefer a quick-paced sto...
This was a part of an assignment I received for English class a few years ago, and I can remember just how much I despised this book. It is rather predictable and I found it to have a depressing setting. I don't recommend this book to people who prefer a quick-paced story of action, but instead to people who like to read about one continuous, drawn out conflict.

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    interesting, but hard to understand

    I thought this book was really interesting. I had never read about a trial before, so I thought this was hard to understand. This book helps you make connections between what you see on the news and real people. I would not suggest this book if you do not like reading about serious, controversial things.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    Great quick read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    From some guy

    It wasnt the best book i have ever read ,but i have to say it was semigood (if that a word) we had to read it for class a i would give this book a three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    the one thing that sort of bothered me about this book, was that

    the one thing that sort of bothered me about this book, was that it was all in "director talk" such as CU and WA (close up and wide angle.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    This book is kind of hard to read but other than that its pretty

    This book is kind of hard to read but other than that its pretty good, It is a little fast paced but it is very good in detail and I recommend this book to people who like to read a book in a fast pace and if you like books with one main conflict throughout the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Ya

    Stars

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Tffffqqs.qlsahyyyyyqo

    Bhhvgvaaaa¿rjgajbmklNAla. Lm jllk

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    Good Book

    In our book, Monster, Steve Harmon, a sixteen year old, is on trial for murder of a drug store owner. He is facing 25 to life in the state of New York and the people he is hanging out with are not helping his cause in the trial. With his lawyer questioning his innocences it makes his life even more stressful than it already is.The prosicuter calls him a "monster", leaving Steve wondering if he is one. His family treats him like he is dead so he has no contact to the outside world. The book is written in a movie dialogue witch throws a twist to it because its lie a movie is taking place in your head. The book starts off with him in prison writing in his journal he writes in every night while he listening to people crying and being beat the darkness of the prison. He plays a little part in a robbery of a drug store that takes a turn for the worst and turns into a murder scene. All they got out of it was five cartons of cigarettes and a couple dollars. He is on trial for life because the person who pulled the trigger wont confess to save his own hide. It had a good story line, wasn't to hard to fallow and was well written. As far as our lit circle group members opinion, we all liked it but thought it wasn't the best book we have read. There are a couple of nail biting parts in Monster that make you not want to put the book down. As far as the rating, we give it a three out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Life changing experience

    This book is about a young boy name Steve who is telling his story about how he ended up in jail.He tells what he is going through in jail and in the court room. My favortie character was Steve because of the way he is showing how people act in the court room and the way he showed his bravery through the trial.I didn't like this book because of the way it was written.It was very hard to read the book from my point of view,but read it anyway.You should read the book because it might lift you up or it might save your life.If you were going down the wrong path,this book might help you a whole lot.If you want to know why Steve went to jail, you should read this book to find out.I would recommend this book to anyone who is going down the wrong path.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Monster

    Monster is a great book. This we can already tell through the many awards it has received, including the Coretta scot king award. The book is about a young, black man being trialed for partaking in a murder during a robbery. The boy is going through amazing stress and eventually getting to the point where he doesn't even know if he can believe himself in that he is guilty. It is a great book about finding yourself, and believing in yourself. Another great thing about the story is that you are solving the case along with all of the other characters in the book. The author doesn't immediately tell you what is going on or who is guilty. You have to find out for yourself. The catchy part is that there is hardly any evidence; you have to pick and choose who to believe or if to believe anything at all. In doing this, you are going through some of the same struggles as the main character, Steve; you have to put trust and faith into yourself and others. Mr. Myers does all of this, while wrapping it up into a new exciting style. The book is written as a movie. This was at first hard to get used to, but I find myself now realizing that it was great way to put a person into the book. Because when the book is written as a movie, you can really see it and watch it. Also, I found myself having to read the book aloud and act out the scenes to understand everything, which puts me right smack in the middle of every characters mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    True Story

    The book talks about a true story of a guy who was in jail. His name is Steve Harmon. He was a member of a gang called Los Diablos. These guys devoted their lives to stealing and hitting members of others gangs. One day, Steve and hid friends assaulted a drugstore and Steve was charged with murder. We don't know if Steve was guilty or not guilty until the end of the book.

    This book was very interesting. I like the book because it has good pictures but I think it needs more pictures and details. This book should you the problems of gangs.

    I recommend this book to all the people especial to all teenagers because a lot of young people are members of gangs. This book can help you to understand all the problems you can get if you are involved in a gang and reading this book can help you of think and maybe avoid them happening yourself. I recommend this book to all people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    Monster

    I think that the book is spectacular because the book is about a boy that has problems because he is accused of committing a murder, which is a serious crime. It's a cool book to read and it's easy to understand. I think the book is interesting to read for every body.

    This book is called Monster and it's about a boy by the name of Steve Harmon that is 16 years old. He was arrested, and was accused of murder, and of the robbery of a store. He could be locked up for 18 years but he doesn't give up. He knew the other boys that actually committed the crime

    I recommend that students read this because some students are involved in some similar stuff so students can now know what consequences they get when you are involved in gangs. Then I recommend to Latino students, and their parents to read this book if they know that their children are involved in gangs so they can help their student to get out of gang, and to not be involved in gangs. The book also is interesting for gang members to read because it shows them what consequences their actions will have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Monster, sweet book and Good story

    This book is about a young man man Steve Harmon who is an African American. He is on trial for a murder and robbing Mr. Nesbit a shop manager. Imagine you are 16 years old and trying to play a part in robbery. You decide to help your friends who are trying to commit a crime. Even though this book is fiction, something like this can happen to anyone, and it's already happened to some people.
    On December 22nd, Mr. Nesbit, a 55 rears old man, is shot and killed during the robbery of his drugstore. Steve Harmon and James King were arrested and are on trial. They're in the courtroom and they are both in trouble. Steve Harmon said he didn't take part in the robbery he was just walking into the drugstore and buying some meat, he said that he didn't kill Mr. Nesbit. James King said that Steve played a part in the robbery as a look out. Lawyers and the judge, say there are doubts that Steve is guilty.
    Read this book and see if Steve is really guilty or not. I recommend this book for people who like to read about crime. And high school students. Why I say this is because they have to know how they can make a decision for other people. For high school students, I will like to say they have to know who is a good friend, and who's not.
    I conclude that this is a very good book. I read this book in my junior year of High School. This is a sweet book and good that not hard to read and is very interesting. If you read it you won't want to put it down.
    By: Mzee Rehani

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    Its boring

    The novel Monster is about a boy name Steve Harmon. He is 16 years old, he is in jail. Steve is a good boy. He has a brother, mother and father he lives with them. The book is a little bit confusing because is different from other books. Reading this book is more like if you were reading a movie. In the book Steve writes some notes about how he is living in the jail and how he lived before. He is on trial because he participates in a robbery in a drug store. They kill a guy in the drug store named is Mr. Nesbit. Steve said he is innocent but the judge doesn't trust him because he is black and he is young.
    In my opinion I don't like this book, because it's boring to read a long book. I don't like the end because is obvious what is going to happen. So the end is boring. I read this book in my English class.
    I recommend this book for people who like to read about criminal cases. I really don't recommend this book for people who are learning English because the vocabulary in this book is a little bit hard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    the challenging book

    Monster is a book that is talking about a young African American boy and his friends. Steve is the main character may have robbery the drugstore and murdered the owner of the drugstore with his friends King and Bobo. Those friends are bad guys who don't go to school and smoke. Steve is a teenage boy but doesn't do the same things as them so after the robbery the police came to Steve's house and handcuff him and take him to the jail. Steve and king go on trial. They have to go court. Also the book takes place at a courthouse more that other places. Steve and king have their own lawyer's .the lawyers work hard to let the Judge free the boy's go home. There were many things happing in this book like surprise, sadness and happiness. So why don't you go get the book and find out what happens to Steve and his friends.
    I like the beginning of this book because it was interesting and we learn about a teenager who doesn't know anything about gang members. Also the book was surprising because we don't know why the boy is in jail if he didn't rob the drugstore. The book doesn't say anything about it the last part of the book is kind of confusing because the book doesn't explain more details and information motives. Somehow the end doesn't make sentence to me.
    This book is good for people who like to read about robbery and court and who want to be lawyer because the book is all about murder and robbery. Also it is helpful for teenagers who want to learn about their mistakes. The lawyers trying they best to let those boy free also they have they own opinion for their defiance. You can learn many thing how to be lawyer in this book by reading how the lawyers asking questions in the smart way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    Monster By: Walter Dean Myers

    Monster is a book that would definitely have you at the edge of your chair! The main character is Steve Harmon who is labeled a, ¿Monster.¿ He is tried on a count of murder. It is believed that he was look out for two guys as they robbed a Harlem drug store. It is written in a movie form because he is writing a script for a movie. It flashes back to things and tells his feelings inside. He takes you to court with him and he takes you inside his experiences in jail. Harmon¿s lawyer is Kathy O¿ Brien. She believes in him and she believes that he could come out good in this case. James King is suspected to be involved also. He tries to act like he has been to jail before, but he really never been there. Harmon knows he is not guilty, but he faces 25 to life in prison. He is the youngest one in there also. I think this is a good book if you want to study law or if you like reality type books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    I was indifferent towards this book.

    I didn't find this book to be particularly interesting. I watch a lot of police and law enforcement shows, so I guess my expectations for a captivating court experience. I also found the characters to be confusing and hard to remember, this really threw me off. Overall this book really didn't exceed my expectations, but it wasn't extremely disappointing either.<BR/><BR/>-Lydia G.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Monster

    I read this book as an assignment and I thought it was okay. Walter Dean Myers is an author that I adore but this was okay for me. The tone was not to my taste but that's what I feel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    monster

    i think this is a really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    It was an okay book.

    I liked this book, i couldnt put it down. It was outstandind and i loved it. I recommend this book to anyone who likes suspensful books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4