Customer Reviews for

A Monster Calls

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Moving, thoughful, and inspiring

I bought this book mainly because I loved Patrick Ness' other books. I was a little surprised after finishing it and realized it had really touched me in a very real way. Mind you, I am in my forties and like young adult novels because they are easy reads. "Monster" is ...
I bought this book mainly because I loved Patrick Ness' other books. I was a little surprised after finishing it and realized it had really touched me in a very real way. Mind you, I am in my forties and like young adult novels because they are easy reads. "Monster" is an easy read, but so thought provoking and emotional it felt like it was much more. My ten year old daughter is reading it now and thouroughly enjoying it as well. Highly recomended.

posted by StephenDressler on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I really did not enjoy this book much. Too much of the boy being

I really did not enjoy this book much. Too much of the boy being bad and getting away with it because of his mother dying. Also, the whole book was a sad topic. 
I would tell my 11 and 14 year olds to read it, but the unnecessary inclusion of a "coupling" and ...
I really did not enjoy this book much. Too much of the boy being bad and getting away with it because of his mother dying. Also, the whole book was a sad topic. 
I would tell my 11 and 14 year olds to read it, but the unnecessary inclusion of a "coupling" and speaking of the couple being naked together was wrong. It did not enhance the book at all, and now I don't want my children to read it. The next sentence after the "lying naked through the night" sentence was a sentence telling that the couple was going to get married the next day. So not only was it telling about sex, but premarital sex in a book for teenagers. I am not a fan. I did like the drawings. It made the depressing book more fun to read.

posted by JewelPrincess on June 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Moving, thoughful, and inspiring

    I bought this book mainly because I loved Patrick Ness' other books. I was a little surprised after finishing it and realized it had really touched me in a very real way. Mind you, I am in my forties and like young adult novels because they are easy reads. "Monster" is an easy read, but so thought provoking and emotional it felt like it was much more. My ten year old daughter is reading it now and thouroughly enjoying it as well. Highly recomended.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    a masterpiece

    Wow. I don't think any book has made me cry this hard (well, except for his Chaos Walking trilogy, that is). This book is poignant and beautiful. And REAL. Cancer has been in my life, and so this book struck a (really sad and deep) chord with me. Ness can really work his words, too. He has become my favorite author, hands down. This book is a masterpiece.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Great story and illustrations

    Don't dismiss this book because it is a Teen novel. It is a powerful story of love and grieving that grabs you and won't let you go.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    AMAZING

    This book is the most amazing influential book I have read in a long while. Patrick Ness has an uncanny ability to reach his readers through his simple yet powerful words. Loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An evocative story for all ages! Grade: A+ or 5 solid stars Th

    An evocative story for all ages!

    Grade: A+ or 5 solid stars

    This is a young adult novel with a simple enough beginning and an incredibly powerful ending! I'm almost at a loss for words.

    This is a story about a thirteen year old boy named Conor O'Malley. He's experiencing anger, anxiety, hope, and pain as his mother battles cancer. Bullies at school are tormenting him. His friends and teachers act as if he is invisible. Conor's father has moved on to a new family and provides limited support. His grandmother is abrasive and seemingly insensitive. This poor kid's life is falling apart!

    Conor O'Malley's voice is strong throughout the book. I felt his every emotion. The author pulled me through this book, never making anything too obvious. Conor's revelation at the end is heart-wrenching.

    There are two monsters in this story, the one from his secret nightmare and the one who comes calling. I'm not sure why some readers have this listed as horror. The monsters are merely expressions of Conor's fear and anger. Nothing scary!

    I believe the intent of A Monster Calls is to share the emotions surrounding dying and death from the perspective of a child. Patrick Ness accomplishes this endeavor gracefully. Even though I knew what was coming this story packed quite a wallop. This is a wonderful book suitable for young adults and older readers. Please be sure to have a box of tissues handy. You will need them!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2014

    I really did not enjoy this book much. Too much of the boy being

    I really did not enjoy this book much. Too much of the boy being bad and getting away with it because of his mother dying. Also, the whole book was a sad topic. 
    I would tell my 11 and 14 year olds to read it, but the unnecessary inclusion of a "coupling" and speaking of the couple being naked together was wrong. It did not enhance the book at all, and now I don't want my children to read it. The next sentence after the "lying naked through the night" sentence was a sentence telling that the couple was going to get married the next day. So not only was it telling about sex, but premarital sex in a book for teenagers. I am not a fan. I did like the drawings. It made the depressing book more fun to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    Unbelievable!!!

    This has to be the best book I've read this year! I'd highly recommend it to a child 11 yrs or older, as long as they can handle stories dealing with loved-ones with incurable illnesses.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    Read reviews AFTER you read the book

    This is an excellent book and should be read by one and all. I bought the book because of MR. Ness and knew nothing about the story ahead of time. I truly think that is how it should be read so I will give NOTHING away about the book, except that, you won't be dissappointed..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Clevrr and heartwrenching

    All i could say is i wasn't ready for it to end but it was very well done!! Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    First and only book to ever make me cry!

    Oh my goodness! I had to read this book for class, and I am more than grateful that it was required! I don't venture away from my usual genre of books, but this book made me cry so much. That had never happened to me before! It is definitely in my top 10. I had my mom and grandma both read it, and they had nothing but positive things to say about it too. Highly recommended to anyone midschool and up! Amazing story and awesome artwork all in one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Wonderful

    I have never read a book like this...in my life and might not. A book that talks and touches on the idea of how to let go and to understand why that needs to be. That when something happens it not always your/our fault. Conor needs to tell the truth so he can accpet that fate, that it will happen and is going to happen if he wants it to or not...his nightmares is just the start of that idea. How hard it really is to let go of something you love and hold so close.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    RG We think the book deserved the "Carnegie Medal" for

    RG
    We think the book deserved the "Carnegie Medal" for literature and the "Kate Greenway Medal" for illustration because the pictures really harmonize with the text and the book really touched our hearts. Even though the book describes Conor's situation very closely, many details are left open to the reader. The book teaches at least one valuable lesson, namely whe you are in a difficult situation you have to call "your monster". No just kidding. When you are in such a situation you have to accept the truth.

    Overall the book is very beautifully written and we certainly recommend it to all readers out there.
    AniPat #DFTBA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Beautiful

    This book is such a touching story. It is just so beautiful in the literature, and it will have you holding on to every word. Absolutely exquisite piece of writing here. So lovely. Thank you so much for bringing to us such a wonderful piece :3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    A Monster Calls - Review RG. Although there is a lot of fantasy

    A Monster Calls - Review

    RG. Although there is a lot of fantasy in A Monster Calls, the book still seems realistic. The story is sad, but in a way still beautiful. It shows how bad life can be, but also how much people can love. The illustrations support the gloomy sadness in the book in a effective way.
    I think the author Patrick Ness did a very good job of showing Conor's feelings. The story is emotionally moving. You can really feel Conor's pain.
    I would recommend this book to young adults, but they should be ready to deal with topics like terminal disease and death.
    R&L, DFTBA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    RG The book makes you feel sad and lets you think about it for a

    RG
    The book makes you feel sad and lets you think about it for a few days after you've finished reading it. The illustrations are really sentimental and fit very well. I find it great that you can read the book in two different ways; the monster being real or just Conor's imagination. If you like sad and emotional books I would recommend to you reading it. DFTBA AdrNik

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    RG. The book is actually good. It¿s quite emotional; as the boo

    RG. The book is actually good. It’s quite emotional; as the book is written from Conor’s perspective it makes it even more depressing & you will probably end up crying with him. The question that comes up is whether the monster is real or Conor’s imagination.
    The pictures in it are really good & illustrative & match to the story.

    It also has some aspects that are disturbing:
    It is clear that Conor’s mom has cancer but the fact is stretched till the end of the story. Aside from that some of the unrealistic things are the bullies in school & Conor’s father.

    Overall the book is recommendable & interesting. It will probably stay in your mind after reading it.
    Diya & Chiara. DFTBA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    RG A monster calls is very intoxicating. You can really put your

    RG A monster calls is very intoxicating. You can really put yourself in Conor's position and you can imagine what his pain must feel like. The description of Conor's trials is very realistic and as a reader you want to help the suffering characters in the story, but that isn't possible.A few scenes are a bit overblown, though contrary to other "cancer" books, it's not the victim of disease herself that takes center stage, but rather the way in which Conor, the cancer victim's son, deals with his mom's terminal disease and her imminent death. What makes the book unique is that everyone can interpret it in their own way. You question both the fictitiousness and realism of the story.
    We recommend this book to people, who like stories with a deeper meaning. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    RG This book is about the truth. It's the story of a young boy,

    RG
    This book is about the truth. It's the story of a young boy, who is struggling with his mother's disease. The autor's style is often overblown, when it comes to the description of the characters and it is often surrealistic. But nevertheless, the main character's feelings are described very realistically. One of the points of the book seems to be to come to terms with your own moral values, and the difference between good and evil- which in this book isn't an easy distinction to make, according to the stories that eponymous monster tells. Sadly, the book isn't very convincing in this regard because Conor thinks like an adult imagines a tvelve-year-old does, even if this way of thinking isn't real.
    Still the book is very moving and made us cry at the end. It may not be perfect but it does make you think about certain "truths" in life, such as death and loss of loved ones.
    DFTBA
    Dianma

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    RG A monster calls is a very touching book. It's written in a si

    RG
    A monster calls is a very touching book. It's written in a simple but emotional way and it moved us to tears. Because of it's difficult plot in which a teenager has to deal with his mother's death, it's not really a book for children. Some of the characters are rather irritating, such as the absent father, the mean bullies and even Conor himself: They are neither wholy believable nor consitant as characters. The drawings really enhance the reading experiance, and although usually only children's books have drawings in them, this book seems more mature because of the drawings- They make it more vivid and graphic and the monster seems more real because of them.
    DFTBA
    T & H

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Unrealistic RG.We read this book in class and honestly we didn¿t

    Unrealistic
    RG.We read this book in class and honestly we didn’t like it that much. The main theme in A Monster Calls is cancer and dealing with cancer. This is a serious theme but in this book we felt that the way Conor (the main character) dealt with it, for example the way the other characters in the book treat him is simply unrealistic; especially the boy’s in his school, that bully him seem rather over blown – no twelve-year old would be so insensitive about cancer. 
    The monster may work well as a manifestation of his feelings, but somehow it also gives Conor a childish image; as teenagers we are “over” monsters. The looks of the book is in fact rather childish, because of the many pictures and the size of the book, which makes it look like a children’s book.
    A Monster Calls is often considered as youth literature but it has the feel of literature about youth; you really sense an adult wrote it with many stereotypical images of teenagers.
    But still, it’s very sad and pretty good story and might make you cry.
    Jumi #DFTBA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5