Customer Reviews for

A Monster Calls

Average Rating 4.5
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Moving, thoughful, and inspiring

I bought this book mainly because I loved Patrick Ness' other books. I was a little surprised after finishing it and realized it had really touched me in a very real way. Mind you, I am in my forties and like young adult novels because they are easy reads. "Monster" is ...
I bought this book mainly because I loved Patrick Ness' other books. I was a little surprised after finishing it and realized it had really touched me in a very real way. Mind you, I am in my forties and like young adult novels because they are easy reads. "Monster" is an easy read, but so thought provoking and emotional it felt like it was much more. My ten year old daughter is reading it now and thouroughly enjoying it as well. Highly recomended.

posted by StephenDressler on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I really did not enjoy this book much. Too much of the boy being

I really did not enjoy this book much. Too much of the boy being bad and getting away with it because of his mother dying. Also, the whole book was a sad topic. 
I would tell my 11 and 14 year olds to read it, but the unnecessary inclusion of a "coupling" and ...
I really did not enjoy this book much. Too much of the boy being bad and getting away with it because of his mother dying. Also, the whole book was a sad topic. 
I would tell my 11 and 14 year olds to read it, but the unnecessary inclusion of a "coupling" and speaking of the couple being naked together was wrong. It did not enhance the book at all, and now I don't want my children to read it. The next sentence after the "lying naked through the night" sentence was a sentence telling that the couple was going to get married the next day. So not only was it telling about sex, but premarital sex in a book for teenagers. I am not a fan. I did like the drawings. It made the depressing book more fun to read.

posted by JewelPrincess on June 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    RG The book makes you feel sad and lets you think about it for a

    RG
    The book makes you feel sad and lets you think about it for a few days after you've finished reading it. The illustrations are really sentimental and fit very well. I find it great that you can read the book in two different ways; the monster being real or just Conor's imagination. If you like sad and emotional books I would recommend to you reading it. DFTBA AdrNik

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    RG A monster calls is very intoxicating. You can really put your

    RG A monster calls is very intoxicating. You can really put yourself in Conor's position and you can imagine what his pain must feel like. The description of Conor's trials is very realistic and as a reader you want to help the suffering characters in the story, but that isn't possible.A few scenes are a bit overblown, though contrary to other "cancer" books, it's not the victim of disease herself that takes center stage, but rather the way in which Conor, the cancer victim's son, deals with his mom's terminal disease and her imminent death. What makes the book unique is that everyone can interpret it in their own way. You question both the fictitiousness and realism of the story.
    We recommend this book to people, who like stories with a deeper meaning. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    RG This book is about the truth. It's the story of a young boy,

    RG
    This book is about the truth. It's the story of a young boy, who is struggling with his mother's disease. The autor's style is often overblown, when it comes to the description of the characters and it is often surrealistic. But nevertheless, the main character's feelings are described very realistically. One of the points of the book seems to be to come to terms with your own moral values, and the difference between good and evil- which in this book isn't an easy distinction to make, according to the stories that eponymous monster tells. Sadly, the book isn't very convincing in this regard because Conor thinks like an adult imagines a tvelve-year-old does, even if this way of thinking isn't real.
    Still the book is very moving and made us cry at the end. It may not be perfect but it does make you think about certain "truths" in life, such as death and loss of loved ones.
    DFTBA
    Dianma

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Unrealistic RG.We read this book in class and honestly we didn¿t

    Unrealistic
    RG.We read this book in class and honestly we didn’t like it that much. The main theme in A Monster Calls is cancer and dealing with cancer. This is a serious theme but in this book we felt that the way Conor (the main character) dealt with it, for example the way the other characters in the book treat him is simply unrealistic; especially the boy’s in his school, that bully him seem rather over blown – no twelve-year old would be so insensitive about cancer. 
    The monster may work well as a manifestation of his feelings, but somehow it also gives Conor a childish image; as teenagers we are “over” monsters. The looks of the book is in fact rather childish, because of the many pictures and the size of the book, which makes it look like a children’s book.
    A Monster Calls is often considered as youth literature but it has the feel of literature about youth; you really sense an adult wrote it with many stereotypical images of teenagers.
    But still, it’s very sad and pretty good story and might make you cry.
    Jumi #DFTBA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Is this book worth my while?

    I got this book from the school library and i nt know if i should continue reading it or just give up on the book.....can some one give me advice on the book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    A Monster Calls

    A beautiful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    Creative, atmospheric and touching

    This book was a little slow starting. At first, it seemed lacking a sense of place. But soon, the story was all there was and ever needed to be. Highly imaginative amidst emotional chaos. Not your average cancer-and-grief book. Recommended for storytelling alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Very emotional & quite a thinker!

    Rated as a young adult book I chose to read b/c I like Patrick Ness's work. An easy read but with a LOT of symbolism, emotion & depth. Could be cathargic for many, but not necessarily a book for all!
    Excellent Ness-style!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1