BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Monster Calls

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Moving, thoughful, and inspiring

I bought this book mainly because I loved Patrick Ness' other books. I was a little surprised after finishing it and realized it had really touched me in a very real way. Mind you, I am in my forties and like young adult novels because they are easy reads. "Monster" is ...
I bought this book mainly because I loved Patrick Ness' other books. I was a little surprised after finishing it and realized it had really touched me in a very real way. Mind you, I am in my forties and like young adult novels because they are easy reads. "Monster" is an easy read, but so thought provoking and emotional it felt like it was much more. My ten year old daughter is reading it now and thouroughly enjoying it as well. Highly recomended.

posted by StephenDressler on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I really did not enjoy this book much. Too much of the boy being

I really did not enjoy this book much. Too much of the boy being bad and getting away with it because of his mother dying. Also, the whole book was a sad topic. 
I would tell my 11 and 14 year olds to read it, but the unnecessary inclusion of a "coupling" and ...
I really did not enjoy this book much. Too much of the boy being bad and getting away with it because of his mother dying. Also, the whole book was a sad topic. 
I would tell my 11 and 14 year olds to read it, but the unnecessary inclusion of a "coupling" and speaking of the couple being naked together was wrong. It did not enhance the book at all, and now I don't want my children to read it. The next sentence after the "lying naked through the night" sentence was a sentence telling that the couple was going to get married the next day. So not only was it telling about sex, but premarital sex in a book for teenagers. I am not a fan. I did like the drawings. It made the depressing book more fun to read.

posted by JewelPrincess on June 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Moving, thoughful, and inspiring

    I bought this book mainly because I loved Patrick Ness' other books. I was a little surprised after finishing it and realized it had really touched me in a very real way. Mind you, I am in my forties and like young adult novels because they are easy reads. "Monster" is an easy read, but so thought provoking and emotional it felt like it was much more. My ten year old daughter is reading it now and thouroughly enjoying it as well. Highly recomended.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    a masterpiece

    Wow. I don't think any book has made me cry this hard (well, except for his Chaos Walking trilogy, that is). This book is poignant and beautiful. And REAL. Cancer has been in my life, and so this book struck a (really sad and deep) chord with me. Ness can really work his words, too. He has become my favorite author, hands down. This book is a masterpiece.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Great story and illustrations

    Don't dismiss this book because it is a Teen novel. It is a powerful story of love and grieving that grabs you and won't let you go.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An evocative story for all ages! Grade: A+ or 5 solid stars Th

    An evocative story for all ages!

    Grade: A+ or 5 solid stars

    This is a young adult novel with a simple enough beginning and an incredibly powerful ending! I'm almost at a loss for words.

    This is a story about a thirteen year old boy named Conor O'Malley. He's experiencing anger, anxiety, hope, and pain as his mother battles cancer. Bullies at school are tormenting him. His friends and teachers act as if he is invisible. Conor's father has moved on to a new family and provides limited support. His grandmother is abrasive and seemingly insensitive. This poor kid's life is falling apart!

    Conor O'Malley's voice is strong throughout the book. I felt his every emotion. The author pulled me through this book, never making anything too obvious. Conor's revelation at the end is heart-wrenching.

    There are two monsters in this story, the one from his secret nightmare and the one who comes calling. I'm not sure why some readers have this listed as horror. The monsters are merely expressions of Conor's fear and anger. Nothing scary!

    I believe the intent of A Monster Calls is to share the emotions surrounding dying and death from the perspective of a child. Patrick Ness accomplishes this endeavor gracefully. Even though I knew what was coming this story packed quite a wallop. This is a wonderful book suitable for young adults and older readers. Please be sure to have a box of tissues handy. You will need them!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    AMAZING

    This book is the most amazing influential book I have read in a long while. Patrick Ness has an uncanny ability to reach his readers through his simple yet powerful words. Loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    DINER

    Here

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A very good book!

    If you get teary eyed easily you may not want to read but this book was very good. The graphics are amazing and the plot itself was suspenceful without being able to not guess the ending. If you want a short read or if you need this for school (i needed it for my college english class) this is your book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Amazing

    I loved this book and still do its painful to read at times but I loved it just the same because of just how amazing the story is. It is a deep piece that caused me to stop and tjink about the way I live my life. Also it is a great story not very happy maybe but still for those of you who have read because of Winn Dixie its melancholy just like the candy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Hannah abbott

    I am a girl( i know the name gives it away) and i have read millions of sad books, books that make every one cry when they read it, and i dont cry. Just because im a girl doesnt mean i have cry at every thing. It is hard to make a book to make me cry and that is what this book did. One of the best books. Also try the knife of never letting go by this author. Whoever wrote im your boggest fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    Unbelievable!!!

    This has to be the best book I've read this year! I'd highly recommend it to a child 11 yrs or older, as long as they can handle stories dealing with loved-ones with incurable illnesses.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Marvelous!

    Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    Read reviews AFTER you read the book

    This is an excellent book and should be read by one and all. I bought the book because of MR. Ness and knew nothing about the story ahead of time. I truly think that is how it should be read so I will give NOTHING away about the book, except that, you won't be dissappointed..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2014

    Touching and heartfelt

    Brought me to tears. Reminded me of the pain I felt when my mother passed. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2014

    This book. There will never be enough words. My heart aches. So

    This book. There will never be enough words. My heart aches. So much. 

    This is a book that you will have to read for yourself. 
    I cannot tell you what it is about. I will do no justice in trying to summarize Conor's story. 
    Nor the Monster's story. 
    I do not trust my words. I will fail.

    You will feel things. Many emotions. You will need something to wipe your tears away... 
    And when you are done reading, you may need someone close by to hug. To hold you.

    As a mother of three boys, this is one of my biggest nightmares. I don't know if this book would have affected me so severely had I read it before having children... 

    There are a handful of books that have touched me. That I carry within my heart.
    There is only one other book that I cannot speak about; one that I instantly cry over every time I think about it... this book has now joined that one.
    But this book... will probably be the only one, that will forever live inside my soul.

    Mr. Patrick Ness... thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    Awesome ^^

    A book about 4 tales which have no moral at all and 3 of them told by a tree, one by Connor a book that gives me courage to face my fears

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    a touching story that will stay with me forever. for people of a

    a touching story that will stay with me forever. for people of any age to read. highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Clevrr and heartwrenching

    All i could say is i wasn't ready for it to end but it was very well done!! Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    First and only book to ever make me cry!

    Oh my goodness! I had to read this book for class, and I am more than grateful that it was required! I don't venture away from my usual genre of books, but this book made me cry so much. That had never happened to me before! It is definitely in my top 10. I had my mom and grandma both read it, and they had nothing but positive things to say about it too. Highly recommended to anyone midschool and up! Amazing story and awesome artwork all in one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Wonderful

    I have never read a book like this...in my life and might not. A book that talks and touches on the idea of how to let go and to understand why that needs to be. That when something happens it not always your/our fault. Conor needs to tell the truth so he can accpet that fate, that it will happen and is going to happen if he wants it to or not...his nightmares is just the start of that idea. How hard it really is to let go of something you love and hold so close.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Beautiful

    This book is such a touching story. It is just so beautiful in the literature, and it will have you holding on to every word. Absolutely exquisite piece of writing here. So lovely. Thank you so much for bringing to us such a wonderful piece :3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4