Customer Reviews for

A Monster Calls

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Moving, thoughful, and inspiring

I bought this book mainly because I loved Patrick Ness' other books. I was a little surprised after finishing it and realized it had really touched me in a very real way. Mind you, I am in my forties and like young adult novels because they are easy reads. "Monster" is ...
I bought this book mainly because I loved Patrick Ness' other books. I was a little surprised after finishing it and realized it had really touched me in a very real way. Mind you, I am in my forties and like young adult novels because they are easy reads. "Monster" is an easy read, but so thought provoking and emotional it felt like it was much more. My ten year old daughter is reading it now and thouroughly enjoying it as well. Highly recomended.

posted by StephenDressler on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I really did not enjoy this book much. Too much of the boy being

I really did not enjoy this book much. Too much of the boy being bad and getting away with it because of his mother dying. Also, the whole book was a sad topic. 
I would tell my 11 and 14 year olds to read it, but the unnecessary inclusion of a "coupling" and ...
I really did not enjoy this book much. Too much of the boy being bad and getting away with it because of his mother dying. Also, the whole book was a sad topic. 
I would tell my 11 and 14 year olds to read it, but the unnecessary inclusion of a "coupling" and speaking of the couple being naked together was wrong. It did not enhance the book at all, and now I don't want my children to read it. The next sentence after the "lying naked through the night" sentence was a sentence telling that the couple was going to get married the next day. So not only was it telling about sex, but premarital sex in a book for teenagers. I am not a fan. I did like the drawings. It made the depressing book more fun to read.

posted by JewelPrincess on June 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    RG 'A Monster Calls' is a good book, but it does not deserve the

    RG
    'A Monster Calls' is a good book, but it does not deserve the awards it has earned. The illustrations look nice, but not award-winning. The plot is interesting, but not completly convincing. The language is inventive, but revolutionary.
    *** INCOMING SPOILER ALERT ***
    'A Monster Calls' is about a boy growing up, but his story is overblown. The bullies cannot really seem to fit into the role assigned to them, his grandmother has an abrupt change of character halfway through the story and the ending could have used a bit more work.
    L & L, DFTBA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Beautifully written... A MUST buy!!

    This book hit me full force. I didn't know what to expect. A close friend of mine told me this was their favorite book. I saw is was for younger audiences but after reading it...it's for everyone. This impacted me deep experiencing cancer on a personal level. I found myself relating and remembering memories. Its not just the events that get you but the lessons you learn within it. I think this has opened a new door within myself. This can definitely unravel parts of your life you didn't think was possible, if you take it to heart. Beautifully written and will definitely be reading this again. A book I would want my children to read later down the road.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Beautifully heartbreaking

    One of the best stories I have ever read. I cannot recommend this book enough. Do not let the target age range fool you. The story is a masterfully crafted tale of what it means to love, lose, and (worst of all) let go. Ness' words are chosen carefully, as he does not waste a single one of them. This book grabs you, shakes you, and changes you at your core. Buy this book now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Is this book worth my while?

    I got this book from the school library and i nt know if i should continue reading it or just give up on the book.....can some one give me advice on the book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Amazing

    I got this book from the library about a year ago and have been dying to read it again. I laughed, I got angry, and I got confused- all of my favorite points to a book. This story really had me questioning the kid's sanity, but in the end I absolutely loved it. It's a great read, and I'd reccomend it to anyone with a brain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After looking at the cover and reading the back cover, I started

    After looking at the cover and reading the back cover, I started reading this book still not coming remotely close to knowing what this book was actually about. This book is not only well written, but filled with a plethora of drawings throughout the book that add a deeper sense of where the story is headed.
    Conor shook his head. “That’s a terrible story. And a cheat.”
    Conor’s mom is very ill, his father walked out on them, and his grandma, who treats him poorly, is trying to force him to move in with her. Conor is constantly being bullied at school, has nightmares at night, and life just flat out sucks for this thirteen-year-old boy. That is until the massive tree in the backyard comes alive and is demanding the truth from Conor. Exactly what the truth is that the tree seeks is a mystery to Conor though. As Conor’s mom falls sicker, he becomes angrier and his life spirals into chaos.

    This book is about the burden of responsibility, grief, anger, and pain and the toppling loneliness that is associated with these burdens. Conor’s story will grab your heartstrings and  make you appreciate all that you have. I would recommend this book, but make sure you thoroughly enjoy the artwork alongside the story.*This book was provided in exchange for an honest review*        
    *You can view the original review at Musing with Crayolakym and  San Francisco & Sacramento City Book Review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    DINER

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Jacob fox

    Just got it i like the book a little bit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    One if Amazing

    I absolutely loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    I did, but I didn't...

    Know what to expect. All I can say without giving anything away is that it's a very beautiful story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    no words

    I have no words to describe how this book relates to me. Being that i lost my own grandfather to cancer, i found that any way that you try to intrpret the means of this book it will always come back an relate to your daily/almost daily life. I cant wrap my head around how realistic the author makes the monster seem. The pictures are amazing and go right along with the story line. I am glad that i had the oppertunity to read this book for english clas. I highly reccomend reading a printed copy though, because i have no idea if the pictures in the book appear as amazing on the eBook as they are in a printed copy. Like i said, i have no words on how to describe this book, nor is it my place to tell you that you should like it. In my experience with books, (and i read a LOT) i find that this made it almost to the top as one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    AMAZING!!

    This book is so amazing! I read it as one of the book on my Battle of the Books list this year, and immidiately I was drawn in by it's beautiful cover art. From there on out it did not dissapoint! This book depicts real family love and real life drama d it is so easy to connect with on so many levels. Definately recommend it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Speechless

    This book is amazing. I'm am so glad I read it. This book will put you through a lot of emotions. All I can say is you will need some tissues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    A Monster Calls

    A beautiful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    First, I must start off by saying that I don't know that there h

    First, I must start off by saying that I don't know that there has ever been a book that I have had such a hard time deciding what my rating
    would be, on top of what my review would be. 

    If there is a book for a person to connect with, this is the book. This is the closest to truth that I think I have found in my reading, other than
    reading a biography. I feel that as children, we all have dreams and possibly even reoccurring nightmares. We all also deal with "monsters"
    within our lifetime and this book does a wonderful job of depicting how a person may really feel while dealing with the monsters of their lives. 

    This book wasn't exactly what I thought it was going to be which is what made me give it an initial 3 stars upon completing it, however, upon
    thinking the premise and the story through, I have to say that I would give it at least a 4 star review. I was so happy to see that Siobhan
    Dowd had such a wonderful thought, and that Patrick Ness was able to pick it up after her death and finish it as though I feel she would
    have, could she have been given more time on earth to do so. I think the idea of this book was brilliant and one-of-a-kind.

    The story was very emotional which gave you a great insight into the characters. Everyone knows that life is really like a roller coaster and
    this book allows us to ride the roller coaster of Connor and his mother's life. The only thing that kept me from giving this book 5 stars was
    that it was more intended for a younger audience.

    Overall, it was a very easy (but emotional) read! I enjoyed being able to experience this book. I couldn't wait to get my hands on it from the
    moment it was recommended to me, and I am certainly glad that I finally got to be a part of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Amazing book in my opinion. I have been reading it almost non st

    Amazing book in my opinion. I have been reading it almost non stop since I got it and just finished it. I am absolutely blown away with how beautifully this short book was written. I was in awe at the writing mixed with the emotions and especially the illustrations. This book will truly leave an impact on anyone who reads it and can even just slightly relate. Just WOW! Extraordinary piece of work! Just because it's a "young adults" book doesn't mean it shouldn't be given a chance. I recommend that EVERYONE should give this book a chance if you have't. It may be a children's book, but never once does it not touch on a very real and potentially adult topic. I will definitely be reading this again!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    I finished this book yesterday and it's been sitting in my mind

    I finished this book yesterday and it's been sitting in my mind and on my heart ever since. What should I say about it? I will say this - if you are ever in need of a good therapeutic cry, read this book.

    Patrick Ness tells a gripping, raw, and (somehow) beautiful story of a child who is losing his mother to cancer. This book is dark. It is dark because it is real. The author doesn't paint any shiny pictures of what's like experience the slow, painful death of a loved one. I appreciated that Ness didn't water down or white wash any of the secret feelings and impulses we have in a time of grieving. This story is powerful in it's honesty. I especially loved the interplay between the text and the illustrations. Therefore, I highly recommend that you read a printed copy, rather than the ebook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    GREAT READ A MUST READ!

    GREAT READ A MUST READ!




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    so I read this book in 2 hours. I had some quiet time and went

    so I read this book in 2 hours. I had some quiet time and went for it! I loved it! Patrick Ness is one of my favorite authors so I knew I would love this one and I wasn't disappointed. It's pretty heavy stuff so be prepared for that, but the description makes that clear I think. If you, or someone you know, is going through any kind of grief or hardship, I would definitely recommend this. It is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A very good book!

    If you get teary eyed easily you may not want to read but this book was very good. The graphics are amazing and the plot itself was suspenceful without being able to not guess the ending. If you want a short read or if you need this for school (i needed it for my college english class) this is your book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5