Customer Reviews for

Monster Hunter Alpha (Monster Hunter Series #3)

Average Rating 5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    The best

    Loved the duck out of it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    This is awesome!.

    MHI has it all! Loved getting to know the boss!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Great book

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Absolutely Awesome!

    I took one look at the cover and I had to read the back. My philosophy is, the more outrageous the cover, the better the book. I just didn't realize how amazing this book was going to be.
    Even from the start, I was immediately pulled in. Great story, interesting characters, and the witty jokes made me laugh. There's action, monsters, blood, violence and a ton of guns. What's not to like?
    It reminds me a lot of the Hellboy novels that I enjoy so much.

    I strongly recommend this book to anyone who's a fan of the paranormal. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read

    Excellent continuation of the series, Mr. Correia has put together yet another winner, the story flows effortlessly, strong characters and the action scenes get your blood pumping to the point you can visualize the action in you mind, Well done and looking forward to the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Larry Correia has only gotten better!

    Monster Hunter Alpha, the third book in the MHI series, is another hit. He took his traditional B movie style of writing to a new level. I loved how he was able to tell Earl's story and humanize his life(as human as a werewolf could be I guess) while still ensuring that he did not lose any of his man/wolf badassness. If you haven't read either of the other MHI novels, i highly recommend them as well as his Hard Magic series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    It has werewolves! What more could you want?

    The third book in Larry Correia's Monster Hunter series is a blast to read! This one focuses on the exploits of one of MHI's greatest hunters, Earl Harbinger. Great development for the character and provides some insight into his mysterious past. I burned through this book in about two days, only because I had to get some sleep and eat in between sessions.

    If you haven't read the first two in the series (Monster Hunter International and Monster Hunter Vendetta), then I highly recommend you start with those so you have some additional background to the events that the writer refers to in this book. Plus, they are a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The third Monster Hunter urban fantasy is a fun thriller

    Monster Hunter International Chief Earl Harbinger conceals a secret from his subordinates. Born in 1900 as Raymond Earl Shackleford Jr.; a little under a hundred years ago, he became a werewolf. In spite of becoming a monster of sorts, Earl has dedicated his life to protect mankind just like his dad the greatest Hunter ever.

    Earl becomes deeply concerned to learn former KGB werewolf Nikolai killed a deputy sheriff in Copper Lake, Michigan. He knows his long time adversary is ruthless and has nasty business for him to be in the States. The MHI leader also realizes that he and Stalin's favorite agent must hunt each other until only one is left howling as the Monster Control Bureau will not be able to deal with this evil. However, Earl is unaware that the reason his deadly foe is in Michigan is for the creation of a lethal werewolf species.

    The third Monster Hunter urban fantasy (see Monster Hunter International and Monster Hunter Vendetta) is a fun thriller that is purposely hyperbolically over the top of Mount Arvon. The story line is fast-paced with the audience anticipating the confrontation between these former Cold war adversaries. Earl as a werewolf superhero holds the plot focused while Stalin's Pet Nikolai is a fabulous supervillain enemy. Mano a Mano, fans will enjoy the fab High Noon combat in the aptly named Wolverine State.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1