Customer Reviews for

Monster Hunter International

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT first book!

    FUN/Fantastic first read, could not put it down, engaging characters, lots of twists and turns, and man Larry sure does know his firearms. First book by Larry and powered through this one in a couple days. Got the new release ARC from webscriptions.net and was through that one just as fast. Really good stuff. Larry is now on my "Must have" list, with David Weber, John Ringo, Lois Bujold, David Drake, Eric Flint etc etc. Great stuff!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is hilarious! READ IT!

    This is one of the funniest books i have ever read. I LOVE the main character and all the other people in MHI. The characters are like real people you know them. If you get squirmish with grousome you have to get past the beginning because thats the wort of it. however i think you would still like it. I dont like grousome but i LOVED this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    rvew Monster Hunter

    Never heard of Larry Correia before this book (sorry guy) but you hit it out of the park with this book - i loved it, you have character development, a plot line, that i'm not tired of and you have an easy intro to a follow-up - I'll be looking forward to finding the sequel - This book is terrific for escapist fantasy - and its a page turner I did not want to put it down - I'll have an eye out, for a new to me, author whose writing style I can enjoy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    MHI

    In writer's courses they tell you to write what you know. It is quite obvious from reading this book that Mr Correia knows three things well- Monster Movies, Accounting, and Firearms. (An odd juxtaposition, I know, but he really makes it work.) This book starts with a bang and just keeps rolling along until the climax. This book has it all- there is comedy (but it's understated enough that it doesn't dominate), there is action (and LOTS of it), there is horror (from an obvious lover of horror and B-movies), and there is even (dare I say it?) a love story amidst the carnage. From start to finish this book is quite enjoyable and hard to put down. All together one of the best books of it's type to ever hit the market and I personally can't wait for the sequel. Well done, Mr Correia!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    I couldn't it down. re ad it in one day. then i I HAD to read t

    I couldn't it down. re ad it in one day. then i I HAD to read the other books . SO, I read them all in 3 days!! can't wain for the next book in July!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    MHI

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    My favorite series

    Fantastic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Great.

    This is a great book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Bring it on!

    Love this book! So much fun a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Awesome book

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Love this series! Great Characters, fanatastic action...My only

    Love this series! Great Characters, fanatastic action...My only complaint is that none of these books are on NOOK...Very hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    AWESOME!!! This book has ACTION & LAUGHS! Great characters

    AWESOME!!!
    This book has ACTION & LAUGHS! Great characters that are believable & the plot very plausible, especially since we know the government hides things from us! If you like actions, guns mixed with the supernatural then this book is a MUST have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Do you like bad guns? Do you like crazy monsters? Do you like pe

    Do you like bad guns? Do you like crazy monsters? Do you like people shooting the crazy monsters with guns? Then this is definitely the book for you. You will meet werewolves, vampires, elves, and everything in between. Follow the wild adventures in monster hunting with the employees of Monster Hunter International and their adversarial relationship with the Federal Agents of the Monster Control Bureau. The action jumps off the first page at full throttle where you will enjoy the main character Owen Zastava Pitt throwing his worthless boss out of the window from the fourteenth floor and the actions just ratchets up from there. Along with Owen you are introduced to this hidden world of monsters, magic and mayhem while Owen’s adventures climax with a struggle to save the world.

    This is the first book in the Monster Hunter series and Larry Correia has book four scheduled for release later this year. Thank goodness because I loved reading this book! The action was fast paced and enjoyable, the author’s enthusiasm bleeds out of the pages and characters are quirky with original back stories and personalities. This book is big, dense and full of lovingly crafted action by an author that obviously enjoys guns and B movie bad guys. The pages will turn fast and 2AM will roll around sooner than you expect while you are immersed in this world, at least it did for me several times!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This was one of the best books that I have read in a long time. I could not put it down for very long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I HAD A BLAST WITH THIS BOOK!

    Met Larry Correia at Dragoncon this year and had the honor of being on a panel with him. The way he talked about this series made me go out and buy the book the week after the convention.
    WOW! This series delivers! Well-paced, great characters, an excellent ending and set in an excellent universe. I enjoyed it A LOT!

    Highly recommended if you are looking for some kick ass action without apology. Reads like a summer blockbuster!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Superb

    Excellent work. does not read at all like a first book, the characters are well done, additionally the action and dialogue flow easily, the mood and scenes are set perfectly. Very hard to put down, a definite recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This bookseller recommends!

    Being a bookseller, I get to see and read almost every genre book that comes out. This one caught my eye and I am SO happy it did! Excellent characters, wonderful story line and full of the right amount of detail. The author gives it that spark that any scifi reader looks for. That little bit of "I can see this happening," in our fantastical brains anyhow. Monster Hunter International and it's follow up, Monster Hunter Vendetta, are a must read for any fan of scifi, action, thriller and yup even a little relationship frolicking in there. Owen Z Pitt is one cool accountant and I wouldn't mind him taking a look at my taxes! Read the book, you will love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    One of the most "fun" books I've ever read.

    I've never really been someone that enjoys this genre - until now, that it is. Having seen this book suggested from a number of places/people, I thought I'd give it a shot. I was absolutely hooked from the start. Very well written, great pacing, interesting characters, and a nice mix of humor and action. It's certainly not Shakespeare (thank God), but it's definitely on my list of "If you were stranded on an island..." books. Fantastic read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Guns + Monsters + Badass = Exciting Book

    This is book is so fricking awesome. It's like Buffy, The Vampire Slayer, only better. The characters are intriguing with their own little back stories and personal histories. The plot is exciting. I kid you not. When I saw this book had 700 pages plus, I thought there was going to be some slow parts. Thankfully from cover to cover there's not a dull moment. The dialogue reads like a Hollywood script and the action is on par with any action movie. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    A great read

    This book is a great read. It was very entertaining and engrossing. Hope fully there are many more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4