BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Monster Island (Monster Zombie Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This book is different!

This book is different from the very beginning - the only countries to avoid the zombie apocalypse are the Third World. One UN worker and a bunch of teenage Somali army girls have to travel to the US in order to gather medicine from the UN building. What happens in Ne...
This book is different from the very beginning - the only countries to avoid the zombie apocalypse are the Third World. One UN worker and a bunch of teenage Somali army girls have to travel to the US in order to gather medicine from the UN building. What happens in New York is horrific, but amusing at the same time. I would've rated this book a five; however, there is an ironic twist that just isn't very believable, even for a zombie book! All in all a good read that kept me turning pages!

posted by Annibebe on February 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

eh.

This book was just ok. I read it in a few days, and I was a little disapointed with how it all went. The actual ending was pretty good. It left it where there could be another book, but I'm not sure if I'd read it.

posted by 1225969 on April 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book is different!

    This book is different from the very beginning - the only countries to avoid the zombie apocalypse are the Third World. One UN worker and a bunch of teenage Somali army girls have to travel to the US in order to gather medicine from the UN building. What happens in New York is horrific, but amusing at the same time. I would've rated this book a five; however, there is an ironic twist that just isn't very believable, even for a zombie book! All in all a good read that kept me turning pages!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exhilarating dark humor zombie thriller

    The world as we knew it is gone due to the epidemic. Geneva is wiped out and its famous Convention, an inconvenience at times to America sitting as the key to the global economy, obviously meaningless. Manhattan Island known for its eccentric populace from Wall St to the Village to Harlem is now the abode of zombies though the rotting flesh has not changed the average odor of the place. Perhaps the last human on Manhattan, still human with some newly acquired psychic powers, Gary Fleck observes the walking dead who own what is now Monster Island. --- Those still human around the world believe ground zero is on Monster Island. A troop of armed female teenagers arrive from Africa to seek needed medicine while their leader, a former U.N. weapons inspector whose reputation was bushwhacked by lying Americans, seeks WMDs to fight against the zombie masters especially the plague ¿creator¿, who probably is the last human on Manhattan Gary or his female mate. --- MONSTER ISLAND is an exhilarating dark humor zombie thriller that George Romero would enjoy though the director would have preferred Pittsburgh. The battles between the girly militia and the zombies are terrific scenes as Manhattan serves as the perfect milieu with so many recognizable places to host skirmishes. Though at times the impulse to go repulsive overwhelms the story line, the Night of the Living Dead crowd will appreciate David Wellington¿s guided tour of Manhattan Island. --- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Zombie Lovers

    I have read all of David Wellington's trilogy. Awesome !!!!
    For all zombie lovers , this is a must read set. It starts in New York City and spans 12 years. I loved that all of the characters connected in the stories. When I finished the last book I felt like I really had closure. Don't get me wrong I would of LOVED for there to be more books. But , I really felt that he ended the story and answered all the readers questions. This is definately a book that will keep you wanting more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    eh.

    This book was just ok. I read it in a few days, and I was a little disapointed with how it all went. The actual ending was pretty good. It left it where there could be another book, but I'm not sure if I'd read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2007

    Read at your own risk

    If you are a true Zombie fan this book is very irritating. I love Zombie movies and all that, but this book left me with a bad taste in my mouth. It started out good then just became a chore to read. It was a little over the top.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Monster Island

    This is a gripping novel. It paints a grizzly scene in which zombies now control all of New York and are being led by a dark force. I recommend this to everyone, I couldnt put the book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    Horrendous, and not in a good way

    I'm an avid reader and absolutely love apocalyptic novels, but this was so terrible that I didn't even finish it rarely have I ever refused to finish even some of the more dull books out there. Very unrealistic. A guy leaves from Africa to go to Staten Island to get AIDs medication so an African war lord will help him and his daughter out. The only thing interesting was that someone who turned was trying to preserve their body and keep from turning full zombie, which was a bit original, but reminiscent of Blade. Stick with Keene, The Rising and City of the Dead is probably the best in the genre out there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    This is a amaon book

    Zombie now that it amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Monster Island

    Definitely not the best zombie book I have ever read but it is still worth reading. A little farfetched but not horrible. Don't think I will read book #2 or #3 since they aren't related to the main characters from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Good reading

    Action packed and hasd a good storyline

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Awesome

    Probably one of the most original zombie books out there. If your looking for the run of the mill Romero type zombie book, this is not for you. But if you want something new with an uncanny level of realism with weapons and combat...look no further. Almost as good as Uprising: Italia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Quite dull and dissapointing

    For a zombie novel (and series) this first of three books is pretty boring. I picked it up in paperback when it first came out and only made it two chapters in before i put it down out of boredom. A couple years later i purchased it on my nook to try it again and got the same results. I wouldnt waste my time with this series or author if i were you. Stick to the masters like max brooks or brian keene.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Amazing

    After reading this on the internet I just had to grab a copy for my zombie collection.I will have to tell you a smart zombie that could talk did not seem like a book I would want to read, but it is an easy book to get hooked on and I was looking for something a little different. It might just be me, but I had to re-read parts to understand where exactly I was in the story, especially, when I started the next book, Monster Nation.I fell in love with the characters and that next day I went to get Monster Nation, but they only had Planet. With many delicious suspenseful scenes this book is a must for any zombie lover!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Worth the Time

    Not the most original, but definately worth the read. Has a couple of good twists to the zombie story. Fun, flows well and a quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great read

    Great book and fun to read. Zombie fans will like it. It has a nice twist on the genre!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    good story

    zombies. got to love them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Slow paced

    Snoozefest. Read something actually good like day by day armageddon or tooth and nail.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    We'll be fighting for the same thing.

    Dekalb is a weapons inspector for the UN. He and his young daughter have been captured by a Somalian warlord. He's been offered refuge for his family and a possible new life for his daughter under certain circumstances.
    His mission is to sail to America to find drugs to treat AIDS, since this is what the warlord is infected with, while most of the world has been infected with the zombie virus. It sounds impossible.it sounds like a suicide mission. Who else is going to be able to take care of him and his daughter when firearms are what you need to survive in this new and devastating world?
    Gary used to be a doctor. Now he's the smartest dead guy in the world. Or at least that is what he'll tell you when you talk to him. He knew there were two options when New York was swallowed alive by the zombie plague: be eaten or join them.
    Using his medical theory - that the dead stop breathing, depleting oxygen to the brain, and causing them to be mindless when they reanimate - he hooked himself to the right medical equipment, and then took his own life. He woke up dead.
    When the dead are able to think, a zombie infested world will become more terrifying. Gary and Dekalb aren't as different as you might think at first glance; the both have the same goal - survival.
    I first ran into David Wellington's books in a used book store. I picked up his 13 Bullets series, which is about vampires. He does extremely well with the darker side of monsters, and I fell in love with his writing style. A fifth book of his vampire series is coming out soon, and I felt that I need to explore the rest of his work. Monster Island is the first of a zombie trilogy, and I must say, the first book had me captivated again. I look forward to reading the rest of this series, the continuation of his vampire series, and recently, he has started a werewolf series.
    If you are ready to step away from the cuddly monsters that have been creeping up on us, and get back to the basics of horror, read some of David Wellington's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    EPIC!!!!!!!!

    Mmk first if all this is one of the best books ever! Its fun,gross,entergetic,and a great book for zombo lovers all around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Inconsistent. SPOILERS!!!

    Started out pretty interesting- liked the premise of barbarian nations being the only ones to survive.The Gary character had a lot more potential, before they made him "bad" and unredeemable. I think, overall, there just wasn't enough time or detail spent on character development. The whole druid storyline was too vague and the motivations not strong enough. Parts were really exciting, but most of the book was just okay. Disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5