Customer Reviews for

Monster Nation (Monster Zombie Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Its really good!

Good zombie books are hard to come by. This one is probably one of the best there is. The plot is cliched alot but this book takes the problem of 'zombies' taking over the world and turns into one of my all time favs.

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I Hope The Series Gets Better

I decided to read this series in chronological order after buying both books. The writing is not bad, in fact, it's quite good. However, once the story got going, I quickly began to hate the Nilla storyline and her ridiculous invisibility gimmick. I couldn't believe wha...
I decided to read this series in chronological order after buying both books. The writing is not bad, in fact, it's quite good. However, once the story got going, I quickly began to hate the Nilla storyline and her ridiculous invisibility gimmick. I couldn't believe what I was reading. Yes, even in a zombie novel, suspension of disbelief can only take you so far. There were a few other problems I had with the book. In one scene, a zombie (with human teeth, remember, this isn't a vampire) bites the neck of a 7 foot black bear and kills it. Please. A zombie would be hard pressed to pull out a clump of the bear's fur much less rip open its skin. In addition, every once in a while I would find some spelling errors which shouldn't happen in a professional novel costing $13.95. Other small details that took me out of the story was when a zombie threw a bone up at a flying helicopter and actually hit it. Wouldn't it be more poetic to have the bone be thrown at it and miss? The intention would still remain, but the reality wouldn't be flushed down the toilet. But okay, maybe that's being too picky. Anyway, I did enjoy Clark and Vikram's storyline and that was probably what kept me reading. Unfortunately, the ending wasn't satisfying, feeling rushed and thrown together without too much thought. I hear better things from critics about Monster Island, and being from New York City, I'm a little more excited now to read it.

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    I Hope The Series Gets Better

    I decided to read this series in chronological order after buying both books. The writing is not bad, in fact, it's quite good. However, once the story got going, I quickly began to hate the Nilla storyline and her ridiculous invisibility gimmick. I couldn't believe what I was reading. Yes, even in a zombie novel, suspension of disbelief can only take you so far. There were a few other problems I had with the book. In one scene, a zombie (with human teeth, remember, this isn't a vampire) bites the neck of a 7 foot black bear and kills it. Please. A zombie would be hard pressed to pull out a clump of the bear's fur much less rip open its skin. In addition, every once in a while I would find some spelling errors which shouldn't happen in a professional novel costing $13.95. Other small details that took me out of the story was when a zombie threw a bone up at a flying helicopter and actually hit it. Wouldn't it be more poetic to have the bone be thrown at it and miss? The intention would still remain, but the reality wouldn't be flushed down the toilet. But okay, maybe that's being too picky. Anyway, I did enjoy Clark and Vikram's storyline and that was probably what kept me reading. Unfortunately, the ending wasn't satisfying, feeling rushed and thrown together without too much thought. I hear better things from critics about Monster Island, and being from New York City, I'm a little more excited now to read it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    awsome

    this book brings to life what it would be like to live in a true zombie nation

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    First off, I didn't realize when I began reading MONSTER NATION that it's the second in a trilogy. I'll now have to go back and read MONSTER ISLAND, just because I do want to read the entire story, but MONSTER NATION can and does stand on its own. <BR/><BR/>The story is basic enough: zombies are taking over the US; the career military person in charge, Bannerman Clark, wastes a lot of time refusing to believe these creatures are actually dead; there are a couple of more-intelligent-than-normal zombies trudging their way through the craziness. <BR/><BR/>That's the storyline in a nutshell. The problem, for me, didn't come until the end of the book, when what had been building up to a gigantic climax through 250+ pages was resolved (or, actually, NOT resolved at all) in a page and a half. <BR/><BR/>Don't ge me wrong. This book is entertaining, gross, and a verifiable zombie-lover's delight. It made we want to go back and read the first book in the series. But it's ending definitely leaves you hanging and frustrated. For those who love zombie stories, you'll appreciate the new and different approach to the genre. For those who hate abrupt endings, you'll throw the book against the wall. When all is said and done, though, reading MONSTER NATION was time well spent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    Its really good!

    Good zombie books are hard to come by. This one is probably one of the best there is. The plot is cliched alot but this book takes the problem of 'zombies' taking over the world and turns into one of my all time favs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Gripping tale about the end of man

    This was amazing, it tied in well with the first book. This is a good zombie story, there are elements that you could never see coming. It certainly is worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Good Stuff

    Really not very complicated, but works on tight, direct chapters that keeps us interested. Its horror, so there's a feeling of action and movement that is a great break from other recent reads. It doesn't tie too well to the first novel, but is still quite good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    A good follow-up to Monster Island

    This prequel was a good second story after Monster island. It kind of answered that age old question, What the BLEEP caused all this. This story had a deffinitive cause that could be believed other than - Bad goverment weaponies a virus , it gets loose. I'm looking forward to reading Monster Planet to see what happens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of the BEST!

    This was an awesome zombie book. If your looking for something out of the ordinary , this is your book! This author David Wellington writes like a dream. I just flew on right threw. Plus this the zombie theme in the story is different from the rest. When a virus runs threw the WORLD, and everything around is a walking dead. What do you do ,run ? Where are you gonna go.You have to read this! I highly recommend this .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Monster Nation

    It was an ok, book. I am loyal to the more Max Brooks type of Zombie, so this book with its magic smart Zombies was a little off for me. I purchased all three books in the series and tore through them in about a week, over all I was bored by the end. World War Z was much better and kept me wishing it would go on and on and on and on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Zombie fans should agree

    If you read or (try to) tons of zombie books you will know that is hard to find a interesting and non-frustarting zombioe book.This triology is the absolete BEST zombie books i have read. I will admit that some of the and idea are wacky but does not ruin the book at all. Wellington creates great characters that are believable and exciting to read. He does perspective from people that you would never dream of (ie from a zombie, a man force with african rebel to help find aid, an intelligent zombie)I would highly recomment this book/triology Im a huge zombie fan and have read other zombie books and the the frustrastion of poor characters and plots. Wellingtons books have well deveolped characters and knows what his is doing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Twists

    A rough and tumble unique take on the Zombie story. The fast paced story switches between a doctor exploring through the zombie decimated New York and one of the Zombies chapter to chapter. The the constant change in veiwpoints and the unheard of twists keep the pages turning from beginning to end. 4 stars as it's more of a thriller (with zombies!) than a horror book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    ZombieFan

    great book and fun to read. Zombie fans will like it. It has a nice twist on the genre! The series has a great flow and continuity to it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Zombies that scare you silly

    The way that David Wellington writes his books is amazing, I have never cared for Zombie books or movies but this is a must have, each book that David Wellington writes is so good they should make them a movie. If you want to be on the edge of your seat and can't wait to get to the next great book, get this book and many more David Wellington books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wellington never disappoints!

    Monster Island took place six weeks past the beginning of the zombie apocalypse, where only 10% of the human population survived. Monster Nation takes us back to the first days of the pending doom, and again David Wellington does not disappoint.
    In book one we are shown the methodical and strategic planning of the dead versus the living. In book two we are shown the down and dirty siege of the dead onto the living. We find the heart of every zombie story within Monster Nation's pages: chaos and destruction.
    Government officials, police barricades, CDC, FEMA, and the fear of civilians will not stop the infection. In the wee hours of the epidemic, officials scramble to piece together what is happening. Much like Monster Island, the author gives us the story from several perspectives.
    I found Nilla's story to be the most interesting. Just like Gary in the first book, Nilla has woken up dead. Where Gary had planned his death, Nilla's was a mistake, and because of her unplanned voyage, she cannot remember her real name. She calls herself Nilla because it was the only thing she could think of when asked her name. Much like Gary, Nilla finds out quickly that she has an ability that most of the dead don't. She is not driven by her hunger, but by a vision, the same one that Gary had, telling her to head east.
    None of that matters though, because when you're dead, the living hate you regardless:(FROM THE BOOK)
    They knew. The people of Lost Hills knew what she was. They could sense it. If she closed her eyes she could see them all, their golden auras, and she knew they were all looking back and seeing her darkness. Surely not as vividly, certainly not as consciously but they could sense her energy just like she could sense theirs. ---
    Clark Bannerman is a captain. His troops stumble across Nilla in the early stages of the outbreak, but she slips away. His objective is to find her at all cost. Clark knows what she can do, and he also knows that she might have the answers to cannibalistic epidemic. If only he could only see past the fact that the cannibals are not alive.
    David Wellington's interpretation of zombies is unique in the sense that it's not humans that the dead seek out, but the life force within them. If the dead are so inclined, and short on food, the will eat tree bark because it is living. It is the essence of life that they truly crave.
    Ultimately Clark and Nilla's paths have crossed for the same reasons: to find the source that is causing the dead to rise. The author keeps the pages action packed, and has a great style of writing that keeps me from putting his books down. I can't wait to crack into the final installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3