Customer Reviews for

The Monster at the End of This Book

Average Rating 4.5
( 364 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(295)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Just like Mom used to read!

This has been one of my favorite books since I was a little girl. I have read it to all 4 of my kids. Now, I can have Grover read it to them as well! My 3 year old loves to have Grover read him the story over and over on long trips! Worth every penny!

posted by KatieJane41 on February 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Eek

This book scared the beegeezus out if me when I was a very small girl. NOT recommended for those 5 and under.

posted by Anonymous on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 364 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2005

    The Best childrens book

    This book is awsome. Mom mom used to read it to me everynight befor bed. She put such feeling ito reading it which made it even better! Sometimes i pull it off my bookshelf were it sits alongside my novels and read it to my baby brother. Now my stepmothers expecting, im deffinatly going get it for her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Book won't open-Don't buy

    This book won't open on Android devices, Apple devices or Windows operating system... Apparently it will only work with an actual nook, but not on the Nook app on the previous mentioned devices. This is also nonrefundable since it was edelivered even though it is useless!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    the Monster at the end of this Book

    Highly recommend. My 4 children loved it when they were small and now all my grandchildren are enjoying it. Have had to by a new copy for the youngest ones. A favorite with all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    A family favorite!

    I remember my mom reading this book to me when I was a child. My kids have enjoyed this tale of Grover, and my most recent purchase was given as a gift to my 4 yr old niece. This is the first book I think of when giving a book as a gift for a baby or child because this book will be enjoyed over and over again! It is really fun for children and parents alike, and it is a quick read (a couple sentences per page). And it is definitely not scary, it is a very humorous tale of Grover.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    A classic, love this book.

    I loved this book when I was a little girl and was thrilled to see it offered in the nook format. I am so happy that I am able to share this book with my own children 30+ years later. The fact that the read to me feature has the story being read in Grover's voice is the icing on the cake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Love it!

    My son just laughs and laughs when Grover reads him this story! I highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    I loved this book as a child (and I'm 45) and my children love

    I loved this book as a child (and I'm 45) and my children love this book!! You have to read it in Grovers voice and be loud at the right parts though ;-) Make reading fun and kids will never stop.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Great but quiet

    I love that this book is available for kids on the Nook because this was a book that was read to me as a child. The only issue I have with it is the "read to me" volume is so quiet that my son has to have absolute silence to hear it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Love this book!

    This has been my favorite book since as far back as I can remember. I would have like to see more animation in the voice. I think I read the book much more enthusiastically and my kids love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    My 2 yr. old loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Love it!

    My kids love this book and it is read by Grover himself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Beware

    There isn't a lot of words to this book or story telling, and my 3 year-old doesn't find it to be an interesting read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Lol

    I read this all the time and im 11

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Great story - bad format

    We had this book on our iPad and it was WONDERFUL. However, we were very disappointed with the Nook version. We were expecting an interactive book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Gamma

    This was my favorite book as a kid, now my 2 yr old grand baby loves it too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    My bff

    I have a friend and this is her fav book. She does an almost perfect grover voice. She learned the voice from her mom who can do it perfectly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Highly Recommend!

    Loved it when I was a kid and now my kids love it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    This book was great originally. But now as a nook book Grover ca

    This book was great originally. But now as a nook book Grover can read it to kids himself. I absolutely love the read to me feature and I hope they do the same for "Another monster at the end of this book."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    a monster

    My daughter enjoyed this book. It was cute and even his voice sounded like Grover. My daughter kept wanting to turn the pages even when Grover said not to; just so she could see who it was...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Awesome!

    I very very very love this book! It is the best book ever! Really funny too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 364 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19