Customer Reviews for

The Monster at the End of This Book (Sesame Street Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 370 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(299)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Just like Mom used to read!

This has been one of my favorite books since I was a little girl. I have read it to all 4 of my kids. Now, I can have Grover read it to them as well! My 3 year old loves to have Grover read him the story over and over on long trips! Worth every penny!

posted by KatieJane41 on February 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Eek

This book scared the beegeezus out if me when I was a very small girl. NOT recommended for those 5 and under.

posted by Anonymous on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Childhood Favorite!

    A great book to read to any child.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2005

    The Best childrens book

    This book is awsome. Mom mom used to read it to me everynight befor bed. She put such feeling ito reading it which made it even better! Sometimes i pull it off my bookshelf were it sits alongside my novels and read it to my baby brother. Now my stepmothers expecting, im deffinatly going get it for her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Great but quiet

    I love that this book is available for kids on the Nook because this was a book that was read to me as a child. The only issue I have with it is the "read to me" volume is so quiet that my son has to have absolute silence to hear it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Love this book!

    This has been my favorite book since as far back as I can remember. I would have like to see more animation in the voice. I think I read the book much more enthusiastically and my kids love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    a monster

    My daughter enjoyed this book. It was cute and even his voice sounded like Grover. My daughter kept wanting to turn the pages even when Grover said not to; just so she could see who it was...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2015

    Good read

    Highly recommended- only problem was the volume was very low making it difficult to hear. My 3 yr old granddaughter was captivated. It was read by Grover in his voice. Short story and very cute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2015

    Way too fun!

    This was a favorite of my kids when they were little, so when I saw it available again I bought a couple copies to have on hand. It's pure fun, with humor and a dose of playful suspense that even the most sensitive kids can enjoy. Just go get a copy. Read it with a very young person. Their laughter is worth thousands. The book only costs a few.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    Must Read For Children Two and a Half to Four Years Old

    The anticipation Grover builds as the book nears the end encourages your child to turn the pages. He takes on the fear of the approaching monster and they enjoy moving him closer to the climax.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Great Book!!!

    one of my favs growing up and now my sons too!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Son loves this book so much, especially when I pretend the pages

    Son loves this book so much, especially when I pretend the pages are 'stuck' as Grover tries to keep us from turning to the end of the book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    My favorite book!

    This was my favorite book as a child and now it has become a favorite of my kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    recommend

    It's a book that I use to read to my son and now reading to my grandson It would of been fun if it was more interactive but it is just a book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Cute story

    Good story, but the volume was much lower than other books. Kids enjoy it but have commented that it is too quiet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Fun book

    Kids love it! Is there a way to increase the sound? I have my nook color on the highest setting but the voice is soft to hear... thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My Favorite!!!

    Read this book when I was my son's age. Now he is reading it and loves it as much as I did! What a great little book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Good for every child's library

    I read this to my children and now my grandchildren.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    Classic

    This book has been a favorite of my nephews & nieces since the '80s. They all love it. I bought it for my youngest niece (4 yo) and she loved it! She was more excited than scared.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2