Customer Reviews for

The Monsters of Otherness (Erec Rex Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than the first one!

    "Erec Rex: The Monsters of Otherness", the second book in the "Erec Rex" series, is even better than the first one, "Erec Rex: The Dragon's Eye"! It is a very good book and you will not be let down after reading the first one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read!!!

    This book was a great read! It was very enjoyable! Kingsley has again created a brand new world that once a reader experiences he will never want to leave! Packed with fantasy, magic, adventure, and mind twisting plots, "Erec Rex: The Monsters of Otherness" is a great read for anyone searching for a good adventure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    GREAT!!

    SO entertaining!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    awesome book

    This book is cooler than the first one. That author is a genius.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    Awesome and Riveting

    This book was amazingly awesome. I just could not take my eyes off it.I loved how Kaza made Erec so believable and high-spirited. This is one of my favorite books!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    WOW!!!

    WOW!! I finished the book last night (or morning I'm not to sure) I mean WOW. It was amazing!! I loved every page of it!! It was awesome, I just couldn't but it down!! I cant wait for the 3rd book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book was so good, it took me 2 days to read book one, and less than a day to read book two, I can't stand the wait for book three and I am hoping their are more than 7 in the series, cause when harry potter ended I was lost for books, so 12-20 would be great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is amazing! I finished it in a couple of hours. The sequencing of events makes it hard for anyone to put it down. I cant wait until I get my hands on the next book in the series! Until then, re-reading The Dragos's Eye sounds like a lot of fun!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2007

    Awesomely awesome

    Erec returns to Alypium to complete his twelve tasks against Damon, Rock, and Balor. The book was very good. It kept my attention all the way through. Some of the secrets Kaza left us with after the first book were answered but not many. More new questions are also asked. Hopefully Kaza will tell them us in her next erec rex book: The search for the Truth. Book is greatly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Tasha21

    The Eric Rex books are soooo good. I can't wait ti read the next books in the set.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    About Damon

    Damon is an idiot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Unkn Unknown

    Aawsome action and adventure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Rant of awesome

    Okay, so I've read some if the other reviews I have to agree that the second book is amazing!!! It is slightly less exciting as the first one, but it is really close. I am absolutely starting to love these series, and to think that my friend said I should read it and I didn't think that I would like it. Well, I was way wrong and I'm glad I was wrong. Everyboy out there reading this, you will agree with me after you read this book, and if you have already read it, then all the better. I definitely recommend the third book even though I have not read it myself, but I will be getting it later tonight. Anyways, fantastic book and can't wait for to rea the third one. PEACE OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    After reading the second book of the series, Erec Rex, I am thri

    After reading the second book of the series, Erec Rex, I am thrilled. Like before, I love this book, and could not put it down. There's so much action and adventure that it always made me want to read more and more. This book is about Erec starting his quests to become the king of Alypium, trying to finish before Balor, Damon, and Dollick. It is full of dangerous situations, risky choices, and magic. As before, Erec maintains his relationship with Bethany as it begins to grow into something more than just friends. If I were to rate this book, I would give it a 10. As always, Kingsley amazes me on how much I can enjoy a simple book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    The is ill nere stops amzing you

    This is the second book ive read in these sequel oveasouly but these book are there very thing that keeps me up all night

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Samantha Clanton, aka Harlequin Twilight for TeensReadToo.com

    When I started the second book in the EREC REX series, I wasn't really sure what to expect. There were all kinds of things I already knew should happen, things I wanted to see happen, but there were some things I really didn't see coming.

    It's been a month since the contests ended and Erec has spent that month in "Upper Earth" recuperating with his family, at least until he receives a letter from his friend, Bethany, that says he must return to Alyphium and begin the quests - or he will forfeit his rights to be king. And with the Stain brothers and Rock Rayson gunning for becoming the next kings, Erec cannot let that happen.

    Erec returns, unaware of how public opinion views him, King Piter, and the events that happened the month before. The public believes that Erec is an impostor, that he tricked the Lia Fail, and that the three other boys are the rightful winners of the contests. Erec also returns with the internal debate of whether he can handle the scepter or if the power of the scepter will destroy him.

    There are many twists and adventures that Erec encounters, some planned, some not. The quests are deadly and terrifying, but as Erec continues he learns more and more about himself and about the magical world he has entered. There's also the matter of all the baby dragons having gone missing and finding them in time to save them and discover who has taken them.

    Erec also has to delve into The Substance, the very thing that holds their world together, the very magic that encompasses their entire lives. There is something about this world that Erec is drawn to that just seems to encapsulate the reader's attention. The creatures, the people, the places all seem like something straight out of the imagination of someone that's read too many fairy tales, but that's because they basically are. And it's a good thing!

    This book could possibly stand on its own, because Ms. Kingsley does seem to go back and do a bit of a recap about things, which I see as a good thing, especially for someone who doesn't go into reading the book directly after the first one.

    Along with the adventures, there is still plenty of humor and the characters are taken deeper with this book. I have now officially found myself involved in another series that is going to keep me waiting for the next book. It's easy to become involved with the story and care about the characters. I even found myself beginning to tear up at a few parts.

    There is something for everyone within this book, whether it's adventure, family, friendship, amusement, or just a story you can get lost in. Most of the time, the second book in a series lacks from the first, and while this one does a little, it doesn't disappoint and still left me wanting more. I found myself with more questions than I started with, and most of them were different questions!

    So, while I did get some questions answered, there were a lot that I was left with. There are six more books slated for the series, so there is plenty of time to get my questions answered! And I can't wait to find these answers. There is so much good about this series so far, that I already know I will spend the next few years involved in these characters - and I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    A Book I Couldn't Put Down

    This book had me hooked all weekend and I can't wait until I get the second one. My favorite part is that it is rated by kid celebreties and charactors from the book. To tellyou the truth, my favorite charactor is the one with the least parts. Aoquesth, the dragon.This author is witty and clever because she creates unexpected twists and things one couldn't imagine and only once it gets put together can one understand it. It seems one know what is going to happen, until she reveals the truth. With new friends, I hope Erec will succeed in what ever challeges he might meet in the second book. I believe Erec is more powerful than he thinks. I couldn't have thought of half of the things she thought of in Alypiam. All in all, I know this is a book I will read again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2