BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Monstrous Regiment (Discworld Series #31)

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Addictive!

    I am a Discworld series fan, and have just about every book in the series. For those not acquainted with the Discworld, there are series within the series, such as story-lines dedicated to a coven of witches, a wizard's university and a police force. Monstrous Regiment is mostly a stand-alone book (other stand-alone Discworld books include Pyramids, Small Gods, Moving Pictures and The Truth) that has ties to the story of the Discworld as a whole. I have thoroughly enjoyed Monstrous Regiment! Like all Discworld books it is funny, thought provoking and touching. I think most people have asked themselves what life would be like to be the opposite sex, Terry Pratchett has plumbed the depths of this curious subject surprisingly well. As a woman, I can vouche that he seems to have gotten a grasp not only of what is like to be a woman in a mans' world, but a woman trying to blend seamlessly into that world. The story is addicitng, and a revelation at each turn of the page. This book is appropriate for Discworld regulars, and even those visiting the Disc for the first time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Taking us from "Don't ask, don't tell," to "Speak deeply and carry a cod piece."

    I get caught up in Terry Pratchett stories knowing full well he has a message. That's important because writers may let their message overpower their story (or their story is just a veneer to their message), but Terry Pratchett weaves a tale that traps me. I bought into the story of "Monstrous Regiment" sword, epaulet, and unmentionables. [I may be mistaken that Terry Pratchett has a message; it's possible he just sees situations, institutions, and the world differently, i.e. more clearly that others. In which case it's no wonder his stories come across as they do.]
    "Monstrous Regiment" follows the military career of our heroine/hero driven to join the army, but not really out of patriotism. The story follows her during a war initiated out of national false pride and sustained by vilifying an enemy whose army is led by an old friend (to those who read the Discworld stories) from the Ankh-Morpork City Watchmen, Sir Samuel Vimes. While the story is told from our heroines perspective as a soldier following orders, we sense her growing understanding of war from the soldier's perspective as its contrasted with the politician's patriotism, but always there is the central problem faced by, yet hidden by, our heroine; she's a woman in a man's army isn't she?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong Discworld tale

    Over the last three decades, the Duchy of Borogravia has declared war on all of its neighbors. Now more countries have formed the alliance whose goal is to destroy the duchy. The prince of Zlobenia is the heir to the Borogravian throne and hopes to prove the ruling family has died out so he can incorporate it into his country. Polly is not interested in issues of state but intends to find her brother and bring him home. <P>She disguises herself as a male and signs up to join the army. Her unit consists of other females masquerading as men, a vampire, a troll, an Igor as well as a heroic sergeant. When they capture some enemy soldiers, instead of taking them as POW¿s, they end up releasing them, not realizing one of the soldiers is the prince of Zlobenia. Their actions bring them to the attention of the Alliance who is inspired by the courage of the MONSTROUS REGIMENT and hesitates to invade their country. That hesitation gives Polly and the other members of the unit a chance to snatch victory from the jaws of the Alliance and a chance for Borogravia to retain its independence. <P>It¿s always a pleasure visiting Discworld where the magical and mundane exist side by side. MONSTROUS REGIMENT is one of the better novels in this long running series because the characters are zany and quirky yet somehow believable. Terry Pratchett seems to write a light-hearted comical fantasy but in reality he is using humor to provide a very deep condemnation of terrorists and nations that make war inevitable. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    --Different--

    I don't know what I had done to become this. I know this isn't me. I had been normal. Grown up, had a childhood, fell in love, but it had been ripped away. Gone. Nothing but these hollow memories and faint feelings remained. One minute I was living my life, the next I was taking others. I didn't know why. It just...happened. I get a feeling to go somewhere and end somebody. I felt like I was doing good. These people were bad people and I was the hero. Right? That's why I did this wasn't it? I didn't know. I had a gut feeling I didn't want to know. I knew I would find out sooner or later. Sooner to spare me pain, later if I wanted agony. So, I picked up a newspaper and read the giant caption that screamed, "MURDERER STILL AT LARGE; IS ANYONE SAFE?" With a picture of my last kill beneath it. I dropped the paper and ran. I ran from it. I pretended I was running from what I was. There was no changing me, but something had changed now. I ran. Until I heard the scream.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    Another Excellent One By Terry

    It's always good when Terry pulls out the badass female protagonists, and Polly definitely ranks up there. Smart, sharp as a knife, and surrounded by a cast of colorful and fascinating characters, you just know she's going to get the job done -- and with style. The commentary on military life and war is great, and the cameos from some of our beloved Ankh-Morpork residents always got a smile. Pick it up as soon as you're able!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Among the Best

    Very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Great

    An amazing book, but I think Jackrum was a bit too far with the main theme. You feel like mr. pratchett would have made VIMES, well... if he could get away with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    One of my favorites.

    I can't help but label this book as my favorite outside-continuity Discworld book. I love all of the amazing characters and heir clever escapes from various situations. I fully recommend (spelling?) this book to any and every Pratchett fan. (I also suggest finding the real-life versions of the songs; they're pretty cool.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    Well written and humorous read!

    Here is yet another well-written Terry Pratchett book. The humor and creative ideas always make me think beyond the topics in the book. A great conversation piece and one to share with others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A very funny read

    I put off reading this for a long time. I thought it sounded stupid, a girl trying to pass herself off as a boy in the army to find her lost brother? Boring. But then I ran out of terry pratchett books to read and said "what the heck, how bad could it be?" I was really glad I did and I was surprised at how much I laughed at what I thought was a stupid book. Polly joins a unit filled with other humans, a troll, an igor and a vampire who's addicted to coffee. It kept me guessing (and laughing) until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    monstrous good time

    An entertaning read about unlikely heroes & how they grow & learn from each other and the circumstances they face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    Pratchett displays his witty knowledge of human pshycology once again!

    Following the Young girl Polly 'Ozzer' Perks, Monstrous Regiment proves itself to be an excellent addition to Mr. Pratchett's reportoire. Polly cuts her golden hair short and heads off to join the In's-and-Out's, The Borogravian army's most recognized regiment. Other recruits with secrets of their own join up at the same time as her, including Carborundum, a troll, Maladict, a vampire who drinks coffee instead of blood, and Igor, an Igor. Led by Seargent Jackrum and his evil little corporal Strappi, the less than efficient troops are led off to be trained, or so they think. The excellent balance of not-so-specific details to activate the user's imagination and elaborated comparitive descriptions leave the reader feeling very satisfied. Humor is knitted into the very fabric of the plot, keeping a person entertained and still allowing seriousness when called for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    One of my favorites

    As a teenage reader who adores Discworld, I'd have to say that next to Nightwatch, this is one of his bests. Pratchett displays that he can write other characters just as well as the old crowd, and as a comment to the last review--any adult who couldn't get through a Discworld book, or calls himself a reader that wouldn't finish a book, is a dunce and maybe should look for some easier titles to read. I suggest Winnie the Pooh. Enough plot in there?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    Monstrous Misfire

    I've read all of the Discworld books and have THUD on order. MONSTROUS REGIMENT is the poorest one next to SMALL GODS. Terry writes well but the story was stale and it's development hackneyed and predictable. I prayed I would be wrong about the ending but I wasn't. I'm surprised the feminists aren't upset. Aren't women suppose to put an end to war? Actually the title is the best bit about the book. It is taken from the title of John Knox's pamphlet against women rulers, especially the Catholic rulers, Mary, Queen of Scots, and Mary Tudor. He got into hot water when Elizabeth, a Protestant, came to power. None of these women were afraid to use the power of the sword. It is a shame that the book couldn't be as clever as the title. Fortunately Terry has few duds.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2004

    The Best One Yet

    I have read all of the Discworld novels except for Thief of Time and Going Postal (but that one I have yet to read due to the fact it's not out yet), but I think this one may be my favorite. If you liked the other Discworld novels, you will love this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    reviewing the reviews

    Nancy K Wallace should read the books she's reviewing before she attempts to review them. As for the book, well written Pratchett as usual. Great socio-politcal commentary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2004

    Gotta Love Pratchett!

    An interesting story with engaging characters in a typically absurd (but sadly plausible) situation. I enjoyed the characters, particularly the 'black ribboner' vampire. By the way, the title refers to the document, 'The First Blast of the Trumpet Against the Monstrous Regiment of Women' by John Knox. It can be found on the internet, just look. It's an interesting read. I feel sorry for the fella who couldn't finish 'Monstrous Regiment'. Some of the best bits are at the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2003

    First Discworld novel I couldn't finish.

    I have read and enjoyed the entire Discworld series but stopped reading this one 3/4 of the way though. Most of the book is simply attempted character developement, which gets repetetive fairly early on and stays that way, never reaching any real depth. The plot that actually existed, had it been in a well planned book, would have taken up no more than a few chapters. The book seems to be a long string of peeing, belching, sock-placement comments, targeted at a female audience, including a gratuitous lesbian couple and a girl looking for the father of her child born from a one-night-stand, and when I reached the point of the trip to a brothel follwed shortly by a scene where one of the main characters lifts up her skirt to expose her crotch to a military captain, I finally called it quits, thinking 'this is a Discworld novel?'. I get enough of this type of stuff from the rest of the media. The only things that really called Discworld to mind were the sparse cameo appearances by Vimes and his usual bunch, added in just so the reader doesn't get too homesick. The book has a little of the usual Pratchett wisdom and humor (though very little), but if it was an attempt to make some real commentary on war (he already did that in Jingo) or sexual roles in society, it fell flat there too. As an adult, I couldn't finish this book, and I certainly wouldn't recommend it to my young family members either. Disappointing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4