Customer Reviews for

The Monstrumologist

Average Rating 4.5
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A new addition to the pantheon of classic monster stories

I will now officially join the chorus of readers who report picking up this book, reading a few pages, then staying up late into the night reading, eyes wide, needing to finish it to find out what happens.

If Edgar Allen Poe and Stephen King had a baby, it would be T...
I will now officially join the chorus of readers who report picking up this book, reading a few pages, then staying up late into the night reading, eyes wide, needing to finish it to find out what happens.

If Edgar Allen Poe and Stephen King had a baby, it would be The Monstrumologist. This book is destined to be a classic.

It does get gory in parts, but not gratuitously so. Highly recommended for adults, and kids that are old enough not to get nightmares from vividly told scary stories.

posted by DearReader on September 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the time

When i got this book I had such high expectations for it just simply based on the reviews. Never again. This was the most drawn out book of my life. The description of two people sitting in a parlor went on forever. Word play got ridiculous...at some points it felt like...
When i got this book I had such high expectations for it just simply based on the reviews. Never again. This was the most drawn out book of my life. The description of two people sitting in a parlor went on forever. Word play got ridiculous...at some points it felt like a Dr. Seuss book. For a book about monsters there is surprisingly little of their involvemnt. Its more about the Dr. And his assistant with small bits actually pretaining to the monsters. Seriously, ive been in the forest reading about a platform being built for like 2 chapters. Its like watching sap drip from a tree. It was a great idea gone bad. Sorry.

posted by 8310729 on August 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    amazing! Highly recommended

    This is not just a book for young adults, but for all rabid readers. I would call it a gothic horror. The characters are very 3D and fleshed out nicely. The prose is very well written and the story moves along quickly. Highly recommended, you wont be able to put it down, and it might keep you up at night!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by LadyJay for TeensReadToo.com

    Young Will Henry is apprentice to Dr. Pellinore Warthrop, a doctor of a different kind of science.

    Dr. Warthrop, a monstrumologist, hunts and studies creatures that are the stuff of nightmares. He has spent his entire life documenting and dissecting an array of bizarre creatures, and now his knowledge will be put to the test.

    A nest of gruesome monsters, the Anthropophagi, is wreaking havoc on the sleepy town of New Jerusalem. These horrific beasts feed on human flesh and will stop at nothing to find and kill fresh victims.

    With the help of Will Henry, Dr. Warthrop must stop the Anthropophagi before the entire population of New Jerusalem is destroyed.

    Rick Yancy has created an exceptional horror/mystery/thriller/paranormal young adult novel. The storyline is extremely engaging - I was hooked at page one! I was very impressed with his use of vocabulary and dialogue.

    I will say that this novel is definitely not for the faint of heart. Some of his scenes are very graphic, and his imagery can be intense at times. This would be an excellent Halloween read! I am hoping for more Monstrumology stories to come!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a well written gruesome horror thriller

    In 1888 twelve year old William Henry James lives with monstrumologist Doctor Pellinore Warthrop ever since his parents died years ago. One night a grave robber delivers a desecrated corpse to Warthrop. The doctor is somewhat horrified by the condition of the body, but not as much as his ward.

    Warthrop insists the atrocity was done by Anthropophagi who apparently came from Africa bringing with them massacres and slaughters; they are cannibals who dine on man; competing with one another to be the first to rip off a head. As the doctor and his assistant investigate the latest bloodshed, the pair is also forced to look at their own ancestry, but most critical is to find a way to end the gruesome butchery before their town is destroyed.

    Told entirely by Will in his diary who died in 2007, THE MOMSTRUMOLIGIST is a well written gruesome horror thriller that grips readers starting with the opening dictionary definition of the title and never let's goes as the twelve years old hero describes his and his guardian's exploits. The story line is vivid, but must not be read on full stomach as Rick Yancey holds nothing back yet also explores relationships between an adult and a child, and the ethical boundaries of science when death is involved. Gory perhaps over the edge to disgusting, this is horror at its worst, which means at its exciting entreating best.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    Exciting (and scary!) beginning to a new series

    If I had only two words to describe "The Monstrumologist" by Rick Yancey, they would be "deliciously creepy." I had not read a horror novel in some time, and I had almost forgotten the thrill of wondering what will happen next, yet almost being too afraid to turn the page!

    The book seemed, to me at least, to be almost a cross between a Young Indiana Jones adventure mixed with Stephen King. (Heavy on the King.) The story, set in late 1880s New England, is told from the perspective of 12-year-old Will Henry who is taken in by his parents' employer, Dr. Warthrop, after their deaths. His life irrevocably changed, he becomes the apprentice to the monstrumologist, or monster hunter. Though the people in the town think the doctor is just an eccentric recluse of sorts, the monsters he hunts are all too real. And when a grave robber comes to their door late one night, with a shroud-wrapped creature in his cart, Will Henry is thrust headlong into a horrifying hunt to find the others... for where there is one, there are more. And they are very, very hungry.

    The story is extremely graphic in its horrors, with detailed descriptions of death, mutilation, blood and gore... stuff any horror fan will love. I don't think I would recommend this to younger kids, but older teens who enjoy the thrill of the macabre will love it. It's the kind of book you'll want to read in the dead of night, under the covers with a flashlight. The monster itself is unique and not one I was familiar with, but is written about in such detail that the reader is left with no doubt as to how truly horrifying it is.

    The journals of Will Henry, as read in "The Monstrumologist," tell only one tale of his adventures as an apprentice monster hunter. I, for one, cannot wait to read more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2014

    Gothic horror at its purest, The Monstrumologist captivated and

    Gothic horror at its purest, The Monstrumologist captivated and often horrified me. When an old grave robber discovers a dead monster with a half eaten girl, it marks the beginning of some truly nasty deaths in and around the town of New Jerusalem. Warthrop, the monstrumologist, and his twelve-year-old assistant, Will Henry, must unravel the origins of the nightmarish Anthropophagi in North America. Were these beasts meant to become a weapon or a science experiment?

    Using monsters written about by historians and writers like Herodotus, Pliny the Elder, Sir Walter Raleigh, and Shakespeare, brings an enormous amount of credibility to this story. The accounts of twelve-year-old Will Henry, of the gruesome events in the town of New Jerusalem in 1888, is written down in a believable, gorily descriptive and thoroughly scary manner.  

    I absolutely loved that the author wrote the whole book in the kind of prose that would have been used in the late nineteenth century. The main character, Will Henry, is well rounded and very realistic for a boy of twelve. Still mourning his dead parents, he does his best to please his guardian, or perhaps employer, dr. Warthrop. Whether Warthrop truly cares for the boy is only revealed much later in the book.

    Although Warthrop gives the impression of being the typical crazy scientist, he shows remarkable clarity of mind and thought when lives are threatened. He is, however, not averse to sacrificing lives when there are no other choices. 

    The other brilliantly crafted major character, John Kearns, with his warped sense of humor, many names, and disgustingly cruel ways, is hinted to being a well-known historical villain. 

    Apart from the nonstop action in this book, the account of Anthropophagi destroying the crew of a slave ship had me biting my nails. Although none of the characters have extensive backstories, the bit given here is sufficient to make even the more dubious characters come to life.

    A page turner in the true sense of the word, The Monstrumologist is an absolute must read for anybody who likes horror combined with an excellent, often profound, supporting storyline. (Ellen Fritz)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    AMAZING!!!!!

    This book is incredible!!!! It is a must read for everyone 13+!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    So gooooood.

    Amazing. Buy and read right now. Seriously though, its a wonderful read :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Awesome

    I read this book a few months back and loved it. When my brother snuck up behind me, I was so into it I didn't even hear him, and screamed and punched him when he grabbed me. It's scary, funny, and sad, all at the same time. One thing tho, not for those with a weak stomach or who are easily given nightmares. Over all, an amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book. Is now one of my favorite series. I loved the w

    Loved this book. Is now one of my favorite series. I loved the writing style. Being set in 1888 made it a lot more creepy, I'm not sure why that era is so spooky to me, but I loved it anyway. I'm not into writing reviews that explain the entire book ill just say at times it was a little wordy but it kept my attention until the end. The Main character Will Henry was VERY likeable and you really felt for him. Dr Pellinore was someone you wanted to hate but there was something about him that made you want to like him :) Rick Yancey really painted an amazing picture of what the late 1800's was like and the setting gave just enough creepiness to really set a spooky mood. It had some humor to it and some gore. It really is a fantastic book that I think isn't getting nearly enough attention......Well written, Rick Yancey, well written :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    great

    great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Awsome

    I am a 11 year old boy it was kinda boring at first than it got intense if you like violent or gory its the book for you i could not put it down after page 20 it is awsome!!!!(;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER!!

    I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Anonymous

    This is an awesome book. Althogh it has lots of blood and violence the fact that it is so well written makes you forget about all that stuff. Read this book if you are not afriad of the dark. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    MUST READ BOOK!!

    This was a really really really AMAZING read! i usually dont read horror books but this book really portrays adventure and suspense which i loved!!! A MUST READ BOOK!! GREAT JOB RICK!!=)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Monstrumologist is not for the faint of heart, but oh the adventure!

    This book both shocked and drew me in within the first few pages. From then on I was hooked. The story is an adventure that reminds me a bit of Harry Potter in it's darker moments. Mr. Yancy writes beautifully. It felt like I was there when the monsters attacked. The suspense of traveling through a creepy graveyard in the middle of the night was spinetingling to be sure. Yancy is able to weave pieces of the past into a fantastic story of horror and intrigue.

    Will Henry, the main character of the story is unforgettable. I hope we will see more of him and his journals. Not for the fainthearted to be sure, but an amazing tale of monster hunting and suspense. This book was one of those that made me sigh when it was done and wish there were about 500 more pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4