BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Montana, 1948

Average Rating 4.5
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Great, but short.

    This novel is fast paced, brilliantly populated, and beautifully set. The author does a great job of articulating his alienated characters over the unforgiving landscape he has created. I recommend it, but with one reservation... it's too short.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    High school review

    Montana1948, a novel by Larry Watson, deserves a 4 star rating because of its meaningful, relevant content and well-written exploration of the depth and changes of character of the main personas as a result of making difficult choices under immense pressure. Montana 1948 lays out the experiences of David Hayden, a 12 year old boy, during one summer in the small town of Bentrock. From the very first page, the author indicates the significance of the events that are to follow and provides snapshots of a few particularly vivid moments. Soon after the characters have been described the action proceeds and tension begins to build between the characters. By the time the final chapter is reached David had left behind his childhood and been forced to drastically change his perspective on both his family and the world they live in. As stated in the 1993 book review by Booklist, Montana 1948 is a ¿reflection on the hopelessly complex issue of doing the right thing ¿ and on the courage it takes to face one¿s demons.¿ Many times throughout the narrative characters have questioned the `right choice¿, as when Len, the deputy, spoke of learning when to look away, as when David¿s father decided to lock his brother in the basement, and as when, at the conclusion, David felt that he had lost all belief in the rule of law. David¿s father faced the knowledge of his brother¿s crimes and stood up against his father to bring Frank to justice. Secondly, as stated in the above mentioned book review, Montana 1948 also explores the ¿cataclysmic events on naturally reticent people.¿ David¿s perspective of nearly all the people in his family life is forever altered by his exposure to other, hidden sides of them. Because armed men came into their yard, David saw his mother use a shotgun. Because Marie spoke out, David realized that his uncle was not as wonderful as he seemed. Because of the combination of nearly unbearable living conditions and the admitted guilt of Frank, David¿s mother and father completely switched sides his mother now asked that Frank be released and his father could not do so. When faced with such a stark admission, he could no longer pretend nothing was happening.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Where Your Loyalty Lies.

    This short book is one that expresses the importance of justice, family, and loyalty, as well as decision making and power. Decision making and loyalty are closely tied in this book. You also begin to question yourself as you read. Would you stay loyal to justice and the good of the whole, or abuse your power to stay loyal to your family? These intriguing questions will keep you interested and wanting to read on. This quick read is one that is sure to keep your attention and keep you thinking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 1999

    Montana: 1948

    Montana: 1948, written by Larry Watson, is an example of a four star novel. It is clear and interesting. He introduces to the reader a story of a family torn by a scandal. The Hayden family lives in a small rural town of Montana. The silent scandal is revealed to the reader through the eyes of a twelve year old boy whose innocence and truth allows justice to prevail against the immoral acts committed by his uncle Frank. A review that appeared in Publishers Weekly said, 'David confronts his uncle's racism and the evasions and denials his family has constructed to cover up the affair. In crisp, restrained prose, Watson indelibly portrays the moral dilemma of a family torn between justice and loyalty.' I agree with this statement because the family of this man (Uncle Frank) hides the fact that he had been taking advantage of young Indian girls in his past. When he is confronted by his brother the town sheriff, Frank's father backs him up and accuses Wesley of jealousy and that Wes is only confronting Frank in revenge. The father believes that one should know when to look and when to look away. The cover for this crime is hidden through the prejudice that swarmed so many cities alike in that time. Wesley, his son, and his wife stand up for what is right, and choose justice over loyalty to the family by deciding to go through with the arrest of Uncle Frank. Barbara Hoffert from the Library Journal said, 'The moral issues, and the consequences of following one's conscience, are made painfully evident here. Watson is to be congratulated for the honesty of his writing and the purity of his prose.' I agree with this statement made by Ms. Hoffert because when the Haydens face the issues involved with the scandal, many moral issues arise. One's conscience is challenged here. Should the man of the law stay true to the law, or should there be special conditions when a family member is involved? The answer is painful in itself because in order to fulfill justice, Uncle Frank takes the blow. The story exposes the cruelty of human nature through the crimes committed by Uncle Frank and also the crime of his father who didn't hold Frank accountable for his actions. The honesty of Watson's writing tends to draw the reader in, wanting to help the author in his painful dilemma. I don't agree with Barbara Finkelstein from The New York Times Book Review, who said, 'Purple prose is the real culprit in this shallow overwrought tale.' I believe that the intense language developed the characters of the story and fit the times that the book was based on. David's detailed descriptions in his imaginations of woman weren't inappropriate. I believe that it showed the true thoughts of all boys at his age. Watson didn't deny the reader of any truths of sexual impurities that the characters had; thus, revealing all honesty and truth of the whole story. I gave the book four stars instead of five because although I thought the story was clear and had a strong plot, character development wasn't high on Watson's list. His story revealed many areas of the human condition and displayed the pain and suffering of each of the characters well. I was left wondering about the characters on a more personal level.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 1999

    The 'Good Guys' Don't Always Win

    The ideas Larry Watson brings to light about human behavior transcend time and cultural barriers. However, Mr. Watson's five star novel, Montana 1948, is more than just a story. Its pages tell the true story of life's fairness and the rewards of doing the right thing. Although Barbra Finkelstein of The New York Times Book Review says that the novel, ¿¿depends on cliched characters to lug the story to its conclusion,¿ I disagree. The ability to relate to the narrator¿s family and upbringing is one of this story¿s greatest attributes. The stereotypical the characters add a sense of familiarity for many readers, and allow them to better immerse themselves in the plot. Also, the story itself did much more than ¿lug¿. Its suggestions about how our society were thought provoking such as in the part where the narrator recounts how the people in town would often ¿look the other way¿ when faced with problems such as his uncles molestation of the Indian girls. In addition to this, its unpredictable twists leave the reader unable to turn the pages fast enough. Wesley, the narrator¿s father, is the town sheriff and is faced with a, ¿moral dilemma,¿ as Publishers Weekly puts it. His All-American brother has been molesting Indian girls and may have murdered one. It is then that Wesley must decide between treating the situation as a family member and simply letting it slide out of loyalty or as the county¿s Sheriff with the intent of prosecuting this criminal to the fullest extent. When he decides that prosecution would do nothing but embarrass the family name, he plans to let his brother off the hook. However, once his brother admits to and tells explicitly of his crimes without any show of remorse, Wesley becomes determined to bring him to justice. I agree with Barbara Hoffert of Library Journal when she says, ¿The moral issues, and the consequences of following one¿s conscience, are made painfully evident here.¿ Mr. Watson does not make life out to be a fairytale. When the narrator and his family are forced to move away from their home because of the choice they made to do what they thought was right Mr. Watson stated simply the truth that often times the ¿good guys¿ don¿t win.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    I really liked this novel, Larry did a wonderful view of capturi

    I really liked this novel, Larry did a wonderful view of capturing the words. This deserves a 5 star rating, This is a short book but it does a very great job of explaining what has happened back then in the late 40's and what the consequences were, and the fact that there wasn't much technology to prove anything. This book expresses about an importance of family, justice and how loyal others are. This novel is very clear but it is somewhat confusing. I thought this book would be boring, as a High School student, but it was quite the intensity, and  it was some things that I hadn't expected to be in this book. This can teach you about what you should/n't do, because of consequences. Great Book...Loved it. It is a very hard book to put down, the details are amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    The story was interesting as such but not much more and it was j

    The story was interesting as such but not much more and it was just a tad over 100 pages. I noted that it was reduced from $14.00 to the $11.48 I overpaid for it. I read in no time at all and I was furious. TOTAL rip-off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Brilliant Book That Examines Integrity Vs. Loyalty

    Montana 1948 marks the second book by Larry Watson that will make my top ten list of books for 2014. I loved the characterizations, the story, the narrator, and the writing overall.

    The story is narrated by 12 year-old David Hayden of Bentrock, Montana. He is part of THE Hayden family, his grandfather a powerful and rich rancher. His father, Wes, is a lawyer turned sheriff, and his mother, Gail, works at the courthouse. The family seems very happy and David is a precocious and inward boy, enjoying the land and his horse Nutty, that he keeps at his grandfather's ranch. Marie, a Sioux Indian, is the housekeeper and babysitter for David's family and David loves her. She is kind, powerful and efficient.

    One day, David hears Marie coughing and realizes that she is ill. She keeps saying that she doesn't want to see a doctor. What she means is that she doesn't want to see Frank, Wes's brother, who is one of the two town doctors. Of course, the Haydens always call Frank for medical reasons as he is family. However, Marie is adamant and when the Haydens call Frank Marie insists that Gail be in the room during the examination. She tells Gail later that Frank has molested several of the young women on the reservation and that it's a widely known fact.

    The story deals with issues of integrity and loyalty. Does Wes deal with these allegations against his brother or does he let them go? Frank is, after all a war hero and a respected citizen with a beautiful wife. Wes's father is very powerful and Frank is the golden son while Wes is second best. How will the town deal with this information if it is to come out? David hears all that is going on by listening to the adults and it is refreshing to hear a narrator that I believe is reliable. It is also refreshing to hear the story narrated by an adult from his twelve-year old perspective.

    The novel is short at 169 pages but it is long on emotions, psychological intrigue, and brilliance. Larry Watson is a writer that I have recently discovered but I have ordered all his books. There is a book of connected short stories about the Hayden clan that I think will be exceptionally good. I am thrilled to have discovered Larry Watson. As a lover of literary fiction, I can think of no better writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This is the kind of story that you want to share with your best friends. The characters are well developed and the plot engaging. I finshed the book wishing there were more pages to turn.
    I've ordered several of Larry Watson's books and that's the best compliment I can think of to convey how much I liked the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    A good story

    This was one of those books that you cant put down. It makes.you wonder whats gonna happe next.and i love thie twist at the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Good

    It was a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    School read

    My English teacher is reading this to us and i find it very good and wish that class would not end so we could finish it and find out what happens in the end. I recomed this book to other high school students who love to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    3.75 stars.

    My first book of Larry Watson's and I would definitely read another of his again. Although the synopsis reads as if this were a mystery it is not. It's just a coming of age event in a teenager's life described in the no nonsense writing style of most Western writers. A hearty thumbs up for this one. Can't wait to read its prequel-esque partner, "Justice."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    Quick but taut read.

    This relatively short book can, and unless you start on it very late in the day, will most likely be read by you in one sitting because your mind demands to know what happens next. Completely different than what I espected, but in a good way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    A young boy endures his parents hardships as the family deals with unexpected events that tears the family apart.

    Montana 1948 shows how a small town can be subjected to politics and justice at the same time. The father of a young boy is the law in a town that has many American Indians living in it. After the death of one of the young women from the reservation, questions begin to arise about the Sherriff's brother who by the way is the town Doctor. The father of the two men owns a lot of political capital earned while he was the Sherriff of the same town years earlier. The Story comes to a head and the conflict within the family of the young boy which includes the grand parents and his mom, who is the inlaw to everyone involved. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2007

    ALL AROUND GOOD BOOK!

    ¿When I first picked up Montana 1948, it didn¿t seem like one of those page-turning books¿. This is exactly the fist thing that I thought when my teacher showed us the book. I thought, ¿Oh my god. This book is so boring with all the wheat fields and the front! How could this book possibly be a good book?¿ The book started off a little slow for me, but I stuck with it hoping that is would get better. And what do you know, it did. What I loved about this book is that it wasn¿t just a story about farming and buying 25 cent candies, it was actually in depth and told an actual story. With the whole thing about Uncle Frank ¿killing¿ Marie and them trying to figure out how she got so sick, it got you into it right there. Then, when you least expect it, they think that Uncle Frank is raping these Indian girls. This took the book to a whole other level! You don¿t expect something like this because in the beginning it just starts out with David, a 12-year-old boy, living his life on the farm with his family and him describing there life. Then you get back into the good stuff. When the father, Wesley. Hears these rumors about Frank it¿s almost too hard him to believe. What makes this even harder for him is the fact that he is the Sherriff and Frank is his brother. More and more evidence starts to come in about these horrific rumors. They even go as far as to questioning a few of the Indian girls. Now what is he to do? A reviewer describes this part as ¿a choice between loyalty to the family and pure justice.¿ With this I would have to agree. He finally takes the step to take in his brother and lock him up in his basement. This would frighten me to be living in a house with a crazed Uncle that god only knows what he would do to my family and I if he had enough guts to kill our housekeeper. I highly recommend this book. I had a wonderful time reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2006

    Montana 1948

    When I first picked up Montana 1948, it didn¿t seem like one of those page-turning books. I assumed that it was going to be a rough read and that I would have to bear it out to the finish. But as I started reading, I was sucked in and couldn¿t stop. Montana is told in the eyes of an innocent twelve-year-old boy, David Hayden. Life is seemingly going well for David and his parents, Wesley and Gail, until they find out that their Sioux housekeeper and long-time family friend Marie Little Soldier has become ill from pneumonia. They are worried about her health, so they call in Uncle Frank, a local war hero and town physician. Marie quickly refused to be examined by Uncle Frank but for an unknown reason. When Marie is being examined, David hears screams and moans coming from the room. He thought nothing of them because he thought it was just standard procedure. As the story continues, the suspense increases as you find out why Marie didn¿t want to be examined. She has been told that Frank molests and rapes Indian patients. When Wes finds out about this issue, he confronts Frank and they both make racial remarks about Native-Americans. Publisher Weekly said that Watson ¿illuminates some dark corners of our national history.¿ I believe that Larry Watson put racism into his book to show that racism is still a major problem in today¿s society and that it is a hated topic that is ignored but should be considered. As Marie¿s health is clearly improving, she suddenly dies. The day of Marie¿s death, David actually witnessed Uncle Frank sneaking out the back door of their house. He finally confesses to his parents and tells them the truth about Marie¿s death. Wesley was completely shocked by this situation and ponders carefully about what he should do to Frank, since being the town sheriff. He takes it into deep consideration and does the only thing he could morally do arrest his brother Frank. But to save the family¿s name from total humiliations, he locks Uncle Frank up in their basement. Barbara Hoffert from the Library Journal says, ¿The moral issues and the consequences of following ones conscience are made painfully evident here.¿ This evidently true being that Wesley had to arrest his own brother and choose justice over family loyalty, which I think was the correct decision in this circumstance. This book was very realistic because it was a prime example of how power is abused and how karma can strike back. This book was fantastic and I would rate this 4.5 out of 5 stars. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to walk away from the book with new morals and outlooks on life. Words: 459

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    not your boring back-in-the-day story

    'When I first picked up Montana 1948, it didn¿t seem like one of those page-turning books.' This is exactly the first thing that I thought when my teacher showed us the book. I thought, ¿Oh my god. This book looks so boring with all the wheat fields on the front! How could this possibly be a good book?¿ The book started off a little slow for me, but I stuck with it hoping that it would get better. And what do you know, it did. What I loved about this book is that it wasn¿t just about farming and buying 25 cent candies, it was actually in depth and told an actual story. With the whole thing about Uncle Frank ¿killing¿ Marie and them trying to figure out how she got so sick, it got you into it right there. Then, when you least expect it, they think that Uncle Frank is raping these Indian girls. This took the book to a whole other level! You don¿t expect something like this because in the beginning it just starts out with David, a 12-year-old boy, living his life on the farm with his family and him describing there life. Then you get back into the good stuff. When the father, Wesley, hears these rumors about Frank it¿s almost too hard for him to believe. What makes this even harder for him is the fact that he is the Sherriff and Frank is his brother. More and more evidence starts to come in about these horrific rumors. They even go as far as to questioning a few of the Indian girls. Now what is he to do? A reviewer describes this part as ¿a choice between loyalty to the family and pure justice.¿ With this I would have to agree. He finally takes the step to take in his brother and locked him up in his basement. This would frighten me to be living in a house with a crazed Uncle that god only knows what he would do to my family and I if he had enough guts to kill our housekeeper. I¿ll leave the ending for you guys to figure out what happens to Uncle Frank and what gets made of the case with Marie. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    Haley's Review

    ¿The title Montana 1948 seemed to imply a story of a boring childhood, spent hunting, fishing and doing other boring, Steinbeck-style, Midwest activities¿. This was the first thought that came into my head when my teacher handed us the book and told us we were going to be reading it for the next couple days. ¿Oh great, this should be interesting.¿ I thought to myself. My thoughts didn¿t get any better. ¿When I first picked up Montana 1948, it didn¿t seem like one of those page-turning books,¿ Brianne mentioned in her review. I felt the same way. I¿m the type of person if I¿m not interested from the beginning I have no interest at all. Being this was an assignment and required for a grade, I read on. To my surprise the book became interesting and I couldn¿t stop turning the pages. Every page was filled with excitement that I had to know what was going to happen next. The climax of the story was all in the air. I knew the book was going to be an interesting one once the family started to suspect Frank, the doctor, and also family member, of molesting the ill girl. I fist wondered how a family could accuse their own blood of doing something so sick. It all seemed so messed up, but once the end came it was clear to me. If you¿re the type of person that once you¿re into something you don¿t stop until it¿s finished, then I would recommend you reading this book. I¿m not a reader either, so for me to actually finish this book amazes me. It just goes to show how good of a book Montana 1948 is! The saying of don¿t judge a book by its cover is true. Because like I said in the beginning I was not excited at all to be reading a book with a bunch of tall wheat grass, and a barn on the front of it. It seemed like it was going to be a ¿westernized¿ book, but it turned out to be one of the best books I have actually read through, all the way!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    Montana 1948: A Must Read

    When I first picked up this book, I was apprehensive to read it. The title didn¿t jump out at me as a book that I would enjoy reading. I figured it would just be a typical western story, like all other books of that time. I soon found out that Montana 1948 was an excellent read. It¿s one of those books that keep you hooked until the very end and I didn¿t want to put it down. The story takes place in the summer of 1948 in Montana and is told through the eyes of twelve year old David Hayden. While it starts out as any normal summer for a twelve year old boy at the time, David¿s life is soon turned upside down in a story filled with tragedy and justice. Everything seems to be going perfect for David, he has a close family, great friends, and a town that seems to look out for him. Everything changes when his nanny falls ill to pneumonia and she refuses to allow David¿s uncle, Frank, to examine her. After some investigation, rumors begin to surface that Frank has been molesting his Native American patients. When Marie suddenly dies, Frank is the number one suspect, and David¿s father is the one investigating him. This story sends you on a journey filled with rape, racism, murder, and suicide but most importantly loyalty and justice. This is best described by a reviewer from Minnesota, in 1997, as, ¿a choice between loyalty to the family and pure justice.¿ To appreciate Montana 1948 fully, one needs to look past the excitement and really take a look at the moral issues being discussed. While reading you can¿t help but put yourself in the narrator¿s shoes and really imagine yourself in the same position. What would you do if your uncle was accused of murder and your father was the one convicting him? David is faced with questions like this, and is really forced to grown up during this summer which sends him on an emotional coming of age story. Although, Montana 1948 starts out slow, I couldn¿t take my eyes off it and really grew to love it. I highly recommend Montana 1948 to anyone who hasn¿t read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7