Customer Reviews for

Montana Bride: A Bitter Creek Novel

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A first class read!

ABOUT THE BOOK:

When Karl Norwood’s mail-order bride meets an untimely demise on the way to the Montana Territory, Hetty Wentworth steps in to take her place. Hetty has no idea how she’s going to pretend to be all the things she isn’t—including the mother of two kids...
ABOUT THE BOOK:

When Karl Norwood’s mail-order bride meets an untimely demise on the way to the Montana Territory, Hetty Wentworth steps in to take her place. Hetty has no idea how she’s going to pretend to be all the things she isn’t—including the mother of two kids. She only knows her deception is necessary if she’s going to save two orphans from the awful fate she suffered as a child.

Karl smells a rat when a much younger woman than he was expecting arrives with two children who look nothing like her. But his mail-order bride is so beautiful, he doesn’t object—until he realizes that his charming new wife has been lying . . . about everything. Can a woman forced to keep secrets and a man hindered by distrust ever hope to find happily ever after in each other’s arms?

MY REVIEW:

This was a pleasing read! I enjoyed the action, suspense, comedy, and deliverance of the story.

Here you have Hetty, who is totally trying to make the best situation for everyone, as well as help out two orphans, and enter in Karl, who just wants to settle down with a wife. Toss in some lies, a bit of deception, and a virgin, and what do you have = a classic story guaranteed to deliver.

I highly recommend this read for those looking for a story that will keep you engaged from the first page to the last word. Five out of five stars!

posted by DComfort on October 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Sharon

Save your money

posted by slotsjess on January 10, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A first class read!

    ABOUT THE BOOK:

    When Karl Norwood’s mail-order bride meets an untimely demise on the way to the Montana Territory, Hetty Wentworth steps in to take her place. Hetty has no idea how she’s going to pretend to be all the things she isn’t—including the mother of two kids. She only knows her deception is necessary if she’s going to save two orphans from the awful fate she suffered as a child.

    Karl smells a rat when a much younger woman than he was expecting arrives with two children who look nothing like her. But his mail-order bride is so beautiful, he doesn’t object—until he realizes that his charming new wife has been lying . . . about everything. Can a woman forced to keep secrets and a man hindered by distrust ever hope to find happily ever after in each other’s arms?

    MY REVIEW:

    This was a pleasing read! I enjoyed the action, suspense, comedy, and deliverance of the story.

    Here you have Hetty, who is totally trying to make the best situation for everyone, as well as help out two orphans, and enter in Karl, who just wants to settle down with a wife. Toss in some lies, a bit of deception, and a virgin, and what do you have = a classic story guaranteed to deliver.

    I highly recommend this read for those looking for a story that will keep you engaged from the first page to the last word. Five out of five stars!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Not Her Best Effort...

    I have read a lot of Ms. Johnston's books but this story was not believable and it was an easy book to put down... While I liked parts of the story I thought the story was pretty disjointed and there were a lot of holes...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Sharon

    Save your money

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Hetty Wentworth had a tragic trip into the west, leaving her dyi

    Hetty Wentworth had a tragic trip into the west, leaving her dying in a wagon alone. Reluctantly rescued by a mail order bride, her escort and her two children Hetty finds herself becoming the children's rescuer from an abusive situation. When the bride unexpectedly dies during the journey, the children's fate is in jeopardy. Hetty agrees to play their mother to secure them and herself a safe home.




    Karl instantly believes something is off about the children's and Hetty's story but the attraction and relationship continues to grow...when the secrets are revealed will Karl still want to keep this unconventional family...




    Montana Bride was an intriguing and entertaining western romance. The characters build a family based on love and compassion and not by blood. I found it to be quite enjoyable and compelling historical western settler romance.




    I received this ARC copy of Montana Bride from Random House - Dell in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication January 7, 2014.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    This book was ok. The first story of Miranda was a little better

    This book was ok. The first story of Miranda was a little better. Still waiting on Josie's story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    I didn¿t think this book was nearly as good as the others. Maybe

    I didn’t think this book was nearly as good as the others. Maybe it was because I didn’t like Hetty in the previous book, and like her even less now. She’s so totally selfish and self serving. In my criticism, I tend to forget that she is really only a child herself.

    As the book progresses, the characters are becoming more likeable, except for Dennis who we already knew was evil. Karl has the need to prove himself to everyone and makes mistakes, but you tend to like him and hope for the best. Of course, it all came out fine in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Too much like a halmark movie

    It was decent but more like a hallmark movie than what I would of liked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Title: Montana Bride Author: Joan Johnston Published: Dell Ser



    Title: Montana Bride
    Author: Joan Johnston
    Published: Dell
    Series: Mail Order Brides # 3
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Rating:
    Review:

    "Montana Bride" by Joan Johnston was the third in this 'Mail Order Brides series. This novel is featuring Hetty(heroine) where she ends up left to die in a Conestoga wagon wounded by a arrow in her shoulder. Upon being rescued and with a Chinese man escorting Karl (the hero)intended bride and two children to Montana when all hell breaks out. This is where Hetty help the children by pretending to be this Karl's mail order bride and this is how this story will take off and wow if it isn't some good read. "Montana Bride" is a good western romance read that deals with four people looking only for a love and happiness of a family but will certainly have many obstacles that will have to be fixed before any of this will happen. Will Hetty be able to belong to a real family and find her brothers and sisters? This is where I say you must pick up "Montana Bride" to see how this
    author will present it all to the reader. If you are a historical western romance reader then the 'Bitter Creek Novels' would be recommended to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Highly recommended

    All Joan Johnston books are good. Really like how she makes you feel like part of the family. Can't wait for the next in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    ERMERGERD. Joan Johnston does it again. *le sigh* I absolutely l

    ERMERGERD. Joan Johnston does it again. *le sigh* I absolutely loved books 1 & 2 of the Mail-Order Brides series and book #3 is no different. We first met Hetty in book #1, a brief introduction as one of Miranda's little sisters. And then again in book #2 when she was traveling with her little sister, her twin sister Hannah and Hanna's sick husband Mr. McMurty.

    Keeping secrets and lies is something Karl Norwood does not approve of, but that's exactly what Hetty Wentworth does to help two children on their mission to a better life. And Hetty just can't bring it to herself to leave these children behind. So she takes on the lie that she is a woman who she is not and has these children whom she just met and hardly knows. Not only is Karl expecting a woman with children, but a woman with experience as a wife: in the bed. And Hetty is far from an experienced woman.

    When Karl first meets Hetty he already notices she's a lot younger than she pretends to be and that these children can't possibly be hers. As they look much different from her. They must have different fathers! Despite the fact that Hetty didn't want to do this in the first place, she goes on about it, to give herself and these children a better life. All the while carrying guilt with her about her previous "loves" death. And I put love in quotations because when you first get a real glance at Hetty's personality, she's flirty and beautiful and loves the vying attention of men. Even if that meant she had to put them at each other so that the one she wants will pop the question and that eventually that led to the death of a man she loved. I liked Hetty's character. She's not a push over, a bit stubborn and she's caring to a boot, definitely a Wentworth breed.

    Throughout the book Hetty is having a hard time keeping these secrets and she's having a harder time falling in love with Karl. She knows she doesn't deserve him but as time passes she slowly starts seeing things with a clearer eyes and falls for Karl. Does she tell him? Of course not, not like he would believe her, especially since their marriage started out with a pack of lies. Karl, Karl, Karl. *swoon* bookish nerdy and slowly learning to become a leader and an alpha, yes, I said it, ALPHA male. He knows what he wants but he's too scared to give his heart what it wants, and what it wants is Hetty. And not just her beautiful body, but her heart as well. Will Hetty and Karl free themselves of the lies that surrounds them and become a family or will the lies tear them apart? Well, you're just gonna have to read and find out!

    LOVED this book, like all of JJohnstons' books. If you love yourself a good historical western romance, then you definitely need to pick up this book! BUT, before you do that pick up books 1 & 2 :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another lovely book in this series! Montana Bride was a wonderfu

    Another lovely book in this series! Montana Bride was a wonderful historical romance. It was sweet, steamy, and a truly enjoyable read.

    Hetty was a great heroine. She starts of the book as kind of shallow and selfish and rather immature. But, as the book goes on, she matures and it was great watching her grow up from a flighty girl to a strong woman. I had only one issue with her, and the book in general. For about the first half, she was kind of mean to Karl. As I said, she starts off the book as very shallow and, since Karl is plain looking, she judges him badly for his average looks. Not only that, but she decides to have a good opinion of Karl's friend because he is good looking, even though he acts like a jerk, while Karl is never anything but sweet to her. Because Hetty grew out of that and redeemed herself when she finally sees past Karl's plain appearance to the wonderful man underneath, it didn't bother me too much. But, it was an annoyance. Regardless, I still liked her character. She might have started out irritating, but she ended up being a strong, fierce, likable heroine.

    Karl was absolutely lovely. He was so sweet and strong and determined to be a good man. He's always been cast as second best because of his handsome brother and handsome friend, but, rather than making him bitter, it makes him determined to prove himself. And, he did. He was sweet and wonderful and I totally adored him.

    The romance was perfect, both sweet and steamy. Hetty and Karl were adorable together. I really liked the progression of their relationship, how they gradually fell in love. And, there is no denying the chemistry between these two. I thought they were great together.

    The other characters in the book were wonderfully done.
    Grace and Griffin, the two children that Hetty takes in, were awesome characters. They both had their own stories and were just fun to read about. They were both so strong and protective of each other. I loved that Grace had her own little romance that was just so sweet. And Griffin was fun to read about, with his crazy antics and determination to protect his loved ones. I totally adored these two.

    Karl's "friend" was a character that was easy to hate. He might play the part of charming and nice, but he is definitely not. Selfish, greedy, and uncaring of others, he was just awful. And, I liked how the author made him. How she dropped hints about his true nature and it kept me on the edge of my seat, wanting to yell at Hetty and Karl to see the truth about him. He was a wonderfully hateful character.

    The plot was fast paced and I was kept interested the entire way through. There were definitely some secrets and surprises. I really enjoyed the story and I can't wait for the next book in this series.

    Montana Bride was a lovely historical romance. I really enjoyed reading this book. It was absolutely wonderful! To those who want a great western romance to read, this book is one you'll want to check out. 

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    great read

    Love everything she has written. Have been following for years and just keeps getting better.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1