Customer Reviews for

Montana Glory

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Golden end for a great series

Zane McCord was the youngest of the three cousins that grew up on Lost Nugget Ranch in Montana with their grandfather and extended aunts and uncles. He struggled to keep up but his love of horses proved that he was just as tough and had a talent for controlling even th...
Zane McCord was the youngest of the three cousins that grew up on Lost Nugget Ranch in Montana with their grandfather and extended aunts and uncles. He struggled to keep up but his love of horses proved that he was just as tough and had a talent for controlling even the wildest of the breed. While having been pulled from the ranch at a young age once he returned after his grandfather's death and was reunited with his cousins he knew that he could fulfill his desire to stay on the ranch and still be the documentary star Hollywood saw him as. Riley Mason needed a place to hide with her daughter; Summer because she had a terrible secret that could get the both of them killed and needed to get out of Philadelphia immediately. The job offer at Lost Nugget Ranch was the perfect fit for Riley and Summer and before she could even completely unpack it felt like home.

Zane took one look at Riley and realized that while he had found life again at the ranch with his extended family, with Riley he started thinking of it as home too. He had traveled the world filming his documentaries but never found the kind of peace that sitting in a room with Riley and her daughter brought to him - this was more than a quick relationship it was long term and that scared both Zane and Riley.

While Riley keeps ducking from telling Zane the truth about what brought her to Lost Nugget Zane does explain about the search for the lost gold and how after generations of searching for the treasure the cousins were getting close or so they hoped. Fancy equipment was being used, notes being deciphered and luck being requested as they dug and searched for their grandfather's treasure.

With renewed hope and lots of prayers Riley and Zane start to release the secrets and uncover the dreams one another has. Both have been hurt and felt unloved but in one another's arms they are safe and content. When the secrets and safety are threatened it takes the entire family to jump into action to get a plan worked out and resolve the danger that is lurking trying to take it all away from this wonderful couple. There is also another couple that is trying to find love and with Cal and Cora is a relationship that has been in the works and just now revealing itself and surprising even them to admit it.

I try not to have favorites with any series but have to admit this one really won me over with its characters, colorful scenery descriptions and fascinating story. Zane being the youngest he spent his life playing catch up to older boys and knew that the world was his oyster but that his heart was at Lost Nugget and the love of horses was his true passion. Riley overcame so much to get an education, raise her daughter alone and never relinquish her dreams for them that you just want so much for her to succeed. Together they make a fabulous couple and it is not a push pull relationship as much as one on equal ground and trying to trust each other when you feel you have baggage that no one can accept. Zane and Riley are great characters in an amazing series that I am thrilled to have read and sorry it has ended.

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on September 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not what I'd hoped for.

I had hoped for a story that was interesting and well developed. What I got was a lot of overused narration and very little in the way of mystery and suspense (you didn't need a clue!). The romance was dull.

posted by gina-bookjunkie on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Golden end for a great series

    Zane McCord was the youngest of the three cousins that grew up on Lost Nugget Ranch in Montana with their grandfather and extended aunts and uncles. He struggled to keep up but his love of horses proved that he was just as tough and had a talent for controlling even the wildest of the breed. While having been pulled from the ranch at a young age once he returned after his grandfather's death and was reunited with his cousins he knew that he could fulfill his desire to stay on the ranch and still be the documentary star Hollywood saw him as. Riley Mason needed a place to hide with her daughter; Summer because she had a terrible secret that could get the both of them killed and needed to get out of Philadelphia immediately. The job offer at Lost Nugget Ranch was the perfect fit for Riley and Summer and before she could even completely unpack it felt like home.

    Zane took one look at Riley and realized that while he had found life again at the ranch with his extended family, with Riley he started thinking of it as home too. He had traveled the world filming his documentaries but never found the kind of peace that sitting in a room with Riley and her daughter brought to him - this was more than a quick relationship it was long term and that scared both Zane and Riley.

    While Riley keeps ducking from telling Zane the truth about what brought her to Lost Nugget Zane does explain about the search for the lost gold and how after generations of searching for the treasure the cousins were getting close or so they hoped. Fancy equipment was being used, notes being deciphered and luck being requested as they dug and searched for their grandfather's treasure.

    With renewed hope and lots of prayers Riley and Zane start to release the secrets and uncover the dreams one another has. Both have been hurt and felt unloved but in one another's arms they are safe and content. When the secrets and safety are threatened it takes the entire family to jump into action to get a plan worked out and resolve the danger that is lurking trying to take it all away from this wonderful couple. There is also another couple that is trying to find love and with Cal and Cora is a relationship that has been in the works and just now revealing itself and surprising even them to admit it.

    I try not to have favorites with any series but have to admit this one really won me over with its characters, colorful scenery descriptions and fascinating story. Zane being the youngest he spent his life playing catch up to older boys and knew that the world was his oyster but that his heart was at Lost Nugget and the love of horses was his true passion. Riley overcame so much to get an education, raise her daughter alone and never relinquish her dreams for them that you just want so much for her to succeed. Together they make a fabulous couple and it is not a push pull relationship as much as one on equal ground and trying to trust each other when you feel you have baggage that no one can accept. Zane and Riley are great characters in an amazing series that I am thrilled to have read and sorry it has ended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I'd hoped for.

    I had hoped for a story that was interesting and well developed. What I got was a lot of overused narration and very little in the way of mystery and suspense (you didn't need a clue!). The romance was dull.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a wonderful romantic suspense tale

    As a child, Zane McCord loved staying at his grandfather's Lost Nugget Ranch. However, when he turned twelve years old, he was forced to leave. Now he is back along with his two cousins, Wyatt (see Montana Destiny) and Jesse (see Montana Legacy) to run the ranch and to search for an alleged missing treasure. Unlike Wyatt and Jesse who apparently have found love, Zane plans to remain single.

    Accountant Riley Mason accompanied by her four years old daughter Summer arrive on the ranch to work. Riley hopes to hide Summer at Lost Nugget from some ugly thugs who were associates of her daughter's late father. They will use Summer to obtain information they believe Riley possesses. When these predators arrive in Big Sky Country, Riley vows to keep them away from her beloved Zane and his extended family; Zane vows to keep the mother and daughter he loves safe from rattlesnakes.

    The final McCord cousins' Montana trilogy is a wonderful romantic suspense tale starring a courageous heroine who is a lioness protecting her cub and a reluctant knight in shining armor who needs to intervene to keep his two beloved females safe. Fans will enjoy the last entry that ties up the overarching plot as the trio and the other McCord couples make for a terrific taut thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Perfect End

    New York Times best-selling author Ruth Ryan Langan, under the pen R.C. Ryan, has written more than ninety fiction novels, both contemporary and historical in a career spanning more than twenty years. Other titles include: Montana Legacy, Montana Destiny, Heart's Delight, Paradise Falls, Ashes of Dreams, Cover Up, Wanted, Passions Law, Angel, Deception, and Nevada Nights. She has also co-authored books with Nora Roberts. She resides in Farmington Hills, Michigan.

    This is book three in the McCord Family series, and the last, with Montana Legacy and Montana Destiny coming before. The McCord cousins have been brought back together on the Lost Nugget Ranch by the death of their beloved grandfather, Coot. The town of Gold Fever, Montana thought old Coot was crazy when he spent every waking moment searching the ranch for his family's lost treasure. But these three cousins are determined to continue the search, and happen to fall in love along the way.

    Riley Mason is a single mom who's running from a past that threatens her and her four-year-old daughter, Summer. When the opportunity to take an accounting position in Montana arises, she jumps on it, knowing it's as far from Pennsylvania as she can get. The rugged landscape surrounded my mountains is the perfect place to hide out and start over. But taking the position means residing on the Lost Nugget Ranch, in a suite right next to irresistible Zane McCord. Zane is the youngest of the McCord cousins, and the wildest of them all. Most comfortable among the wild Mustangs, Riley soon realizes it's not only her past she should fear, but her heart as well. And then her past comes back to haunt her, threatening all she holds dear.

    This is the last book in the series, and not that I didn't love Jesse and Amy or Wyatt and Marilee, but Zane's story with Riley tops them both. Riley's daughter, Summer, is just like her name, a breath of fresh air. Secondary characters Cal, Cora, and Dandy return, who were some of the best parts of the first two books. Will Cora and Cal finally acknowledge their love in a side story? You won't be disappointed. Will the three McCord cousins finally find their family's treasure? I'm not telling. R.C. Ryan's best writing feature is her ability to illustrate her breath-taking surroundings. I bow down to another splendid, witty read by this fabulous author.

    Kelly Moran
    Author and Reviewer
    Bookpleasures

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    Great Read, Loved the Whole Series

    Nice way to sit and relax. A little mystery spices up the book to keep you on the edge of your seat. Wish there were more in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    highly recommend

    Highly recommneded. Another good one in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I highly recommed the whole series, I read the book almost in 12 dya. It would be worth the money to check it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Great Series - Loved Each One!

    This was the first series of books I have read by this author and I loved every one. Ms.Ryan writes stories that are both real and emotional... Mix in some characters, some humor, lots of love and a little mystery and you have a great read... I would recommend Montana Legacy, Montana Destiny and Montana Glory to all... A continuing story of three cousins, best friends in their childhood, separated by many years but brought back together by the death of a beloved grandfather... Three love stories and a search for a long lost family treasure makes for some cozy evenings in front of the fireplace. I am now going to look for more R. C. Ryan books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Pretty GOOD Reading

    Wortgh readinng. A lloving story..not sexually explecit.. i loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read

    This book was a great conclusion to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    Recommended highly

    after reading this book I fell in love with Zane McCord, the soft heart of a child turns a rugged and very single bachelor into a loving and giving character. When Riley Mason and Daughter Summer arrive in Montana I never thought that both of them would fall for single bachelor Zane, I love the slow development of their relationship and it's all Summer who brings them even closer. The drama in this book caught me at every page and every page with 4 year old Summer Mason adding in quips and amusing commentary made me smile and laugh all the way to my heart-strings. truely this book is worth the read. Any woman will fall in love with Zane McCord once they see how a 4 year old catches his heart and he catches the heart of her mother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Great cowboy romance!

    This is the 3rd book in R.C. Ryan's Montana Trilogy (I think it's a trilogy); I did not read the first two books in this series.

    Riley Mason is an accountant who has come to work on the hapazardly-kept finances of the McCord Ranch. As we read, we learn she's originally from Philadelphia, and has come to work at the ranch with her young daughter because she figured no one would ever find her on a ranch in Montana. (ooohhh, mysterious!)

    Zane McCord is the youngest of three cousins running the McCord ranch after the death of his grandfather. He's just come back from two weeks of living with wild mustangs, filming a documentary, when he opens the door, expecting a nerdy male accountant, and instead finds a gorgeous female accountant. He's attracted to her but has been warned off as she is an employee and not just some chick.

    I really enjoyed this book. I liked watching Zane and Riley fight their attraction to each other. I liked Riley's daughter Summer a bit even...she didn't drive me as nuts as some kids in books do. I loved that Zane spent time with Summer even before he decided he wanted to date Riley. The storyline for Montana Glory was good - my guess as to what Riley was running from was off the mark, which always makes for a pleasant surprise (for me, anyway). The side storylines were entertaining - there's a search for family gold (I'm under the impression has been a constant through all three books) and also a second love story between the cousin's aunt and the foreman.

    Ms. Ryan did a great job of unfolding Riley's storyline at just the right pace. We got to experience her getting used to her new surroundings, learning to live with a loving family, learning to trust. Her background is revealed slowly, in bits in pieces until the big reveal (which is so tender and sweet), and of course this big, loving family rallies around her.

    This book was definitely a balm for my "cowboy itch" (sounds like something you'd need cream for, LOL). The secondary characters were interesting and I wanted to know their stories; I actually went out and bought the first two books in the series because I wanted more of these delightful characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    A WONDERFUL,EXCITING CONCLUSION TO THE MCCORD FAMILY TRILOLGY!

    MONTANA GLORY by R.C. Ryan is a romance western.It it is a wonderful,exciting conclusion to the McCord Family trilogy set in modern day Gold Fever, Montana.It is the third in the McCord Family trilogy but can be read alone.Book One (Montana Legacy) and Book Two (Montana Destiny). It is well written with details, depth, and many of family togetherness. It has passion, romance, suspense, mystery, secrets,cowboys, ranch life,horses, finding family lost treasure and fulfilling a lifelong dream. The hero, Zane, is the youngest McCord cousin. He is handsome, sexy, keeps his promises, wishes to fulfill his family's lifelong dream of finding their lost treasure. He is a Hollywood documentary star, believes he will never get married and have a family due to his own father and mother's discord. But enter Riley and little Summer.The heroine, Riley, is smart, beautiful, running from her past, has deadly secret, and a single Mom. She only wishes to provide for herself and her daughter, Summer, and stay alive. But enter Zane. From the first time Riley and Zane meet sparks fly. Riley is hired as the Lost Nugget Ranch's new accountant and given a place to live at the ranch. She and her daughter, Summer, who is four years old and quiet the little star. Summer is smart,cute and full of curiosity. She also captures all of the McCord family's heart. When Zane learns Riley and Summer are in trouble he jumps into action with his family to save them. Zane and his family will risk the McCord's priceless legacy in order for Zane, Riley and Summer to have a future together. This is an explosive conclusion to the McCord Family trilogy. I would highly recommend this book especially if you enjoy love, ranch life, mystery, and sweet romance. This book was received for review from the publisher and details can be found at Forever, an imprint of Grand Central Publishing and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2