BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Montana Mustangs: Book 2 of the Nymph Series

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Shifter Romance like no other. . . Aura Montgarten is a shifter

    Shifter Romance like no other. . .
    Aura Montgarten is a shifter of a different kind.  She has much on her plate of life.  Dane can be that key to open the doors to her soul.  there is a lot of life in the words on the pages and they just spring off right at you. There is knowledge and depth in the descriptions.  The characters have life of their own and makes the story play like a movie in your head.




    Winters' has brought me a shifter tale like no other I have read before.  This story of a nymph has me spellbound.  I am most certainly looking to get more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Great second in series

    *all spoilers removed*

    I have been pleasantly surprised by this series!! Book one caught my interest right away when I realized it's biased on Greek myth, with a twist! The second novel brings us across the oceans, back to the US. IT IS EVERYTHING A SECOND NOVEL IN A SERIES SHOULD BE!! Not only does this book add to "shape shifting" concept from the first book, it also lays out the mystery and problems that the series needs to continue on and keep the reader guessing. This novel made me think that each book was going to only slightly tie into the other and really could be a "each book stands on it's own set". A lot of it seemed to be close to the events of book one, just with a new exciting mystery and of course romance! Danica Winters is defiantly a gifted writer and knows how to bring just enough passion and a bit of erotica for the nymphs. (Yes it certainly is an adult read). The passion she brings to these book adds to the mystery, adds excitement, and makes the characters swoon worthy!! The only thing that I am still struggling with is how quickly the " significant other" comes to terms with the nymph and shape shifter situation. Also it does fall into the instant love category, but they are nymphs after all :). This was a suspense filled face paced read! Personally I had a good idea of the who did it but the "why" will keep you guessing!! I can not wait to read book three and see where the author leads us next. Will the curse continue? And if so who will fall victim?? I would recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys Greek myth, romance, and or a good mystery!

    **I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through LoP on goodreads!!**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    This paranormal romance series has a very interesting concept. T

    This paranormal romance series has a very interesting concept. The mystery/suspense is an added bonus. I loved that Aura is a nymph and at the same time a shifter. Plus I love her empathy power over animals. It is really handy. She shows strength and courage. Plus she's very selfless. She would rather not admit her feelings to Dane less he dies of the nymph's curse. And she would do anything to find her missing sister.

    The pacing of the story was just right and the relationship of Aura and Dane was nicely constructed in a way that it wasn't rushed nor was it too prolonged. The mystery of the murders were very intriguing and I couldn't stop reading it till the true murderer was revealed. Both Dane and Aura have quiet a past but they were able to keep moving forward. The twist in the story was also unexpected at the same time I'm glad that they both were able to have their happy endings.

    I can't wait for the next books of the series.

    I received this book in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    T

    T

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    I

    I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My Thoughts - 5 out of 5 unicorns - I loved it!!! ** Received th

    My Thoughts - 5 out of 5 unicorns - I loved it!!!
    ** Received the ebook as part of the book tour for an honest review

    The cover I totally love because it all works really well, but I am partial to animals :)  so the beautiful horse and scenery attracts me to the book.

    The author’s writing style made is easy to get sucked right into the story.  She had me from the first chapter.  The nymphs are mythology based, but Danica has her own twists that I really like.  I don’t want to read the same thing over and over.  I love that the nymphs are different kinds of shifters.  This is definitely a book meant for adults.

    This story is about Aura, and I really love her character.  She is very caring and stands up for what she believes in.  She doesn’t tolerate cruelty.  She is trying to find her missing sister.  This story has everything to keep you interested murder mystery, missing persons, family drama, investigations, suspects trying to get away, and throw in animal action on the mountain.

    Oh and I forgot to mention I couldn't put this book down :) I read it straight through until the end :)

    I definitely recommend to this story to any adult who likes mythology and paranormal romance.  I can’t wait to start book 3 :) YAY!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The giant horses of mythology, now tamed by humankind, live out

    The giant horses of mythology, now tamed by humankind, live out their lives on ranches of Western US. Wild creatures, rounded up by the BLM, and beaten into submission, perhaps all they need is a trainer who cares, or a leader with power. But Aura’s sister has disappeared, and there are reasons Aura believes her sister might have been both trainer and leader.

    Author Danica Winters slides the intriguing possibility of shape-shifting nymphs very gently into her tale, first creating characters the reader enjoys, then adding that mysterious touch of reimagined Greek myth. A gory discovery and some unexplained deaths bring cop and horse-trainer together. And eternal nymphs prove paradoxically frail as the story progresses. I wasn't sure about the logic, but the story's fun. And Aura is strong—the only question, will strength allow her to resist the siren call of true love?

    Cross the magic and romance of Lisa Hendrix’s Immortal Brotherhood series, with the thoroughly modern (and magical) female protagonists of Judi Fennell’s mermaids, and you’ll have the flavor of Danica Winters’ Nymphs Series, an exciting mix of action, adventure, Greek myth, sensual romance, and mystery.



    Disclosure: I was given a free ecopy when I offered to host the author on her blog tour for book 3 of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    Oh I really enjoyed this one. Montana Mustangs pulled me in righ

    Oh I really enjoyed this one. Montana Mustangs pulled me in right from the start with mystery and intrigue ( even if it put me off my breakfast there for a bit because there were some eeewww gross you out things happening) and kept me attached to my nook to the very last page. I just couldn't put it down.

    Women are showing up murdered left and right in a small Montana town with seemingly no cause. And Aura, a mysterious young woman who is new to the area instantly lands herself on police officer Dane's radar. Not only has she landed right in the middle of his investigation but there's just something about her he can't resist.

    Which I totally got because I couldn't resist her either. I loved both of the characters. Aura's determined, brave and has a way with animals due to her Nymph gifts-- she's a horse shifting nymph. And Dane is a sexy cop who loves his job, does what's right and loves helping people. He's really a good guy and it was fun watching his reaction to the Aura.

    Now. The sexy bits. They weren't bad but it was one of those "really now?!" kind of things. We've got winter going on and then some outdoor loving right there in the snow. Hello! That's freaking cold and so not naughty bit friendly. Just sayin. LOL They were good though. Passion of the moment just right on overtook them.

    Overall, Montana Mustangs was an entertaining light paranormal romance that can be read as a stand alone no problem. With characters you can love, an interesting investigation and some surprise happenings it's great for an afternoon read where you want something easy and relaxing that'll keep you guessing just a little bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    The book starts with Aura who is not only a nymph but has the ab

    The book starts with Aura who is not only a nymph but has the ability to shape shift. We later find out that Aura isn't the only nymph. Aura is looking for her sister Natalie who had vanished during their last phone conversation. Aura drives to Montana where Natalie was during the last conversation. Upon her journey she finds a human hand at a lake during her rest stop. Upon calling the police, we meet our handsome deputy Burke. 
    As the story goes on, Aura stumbles upon Diamond Bar Ranch about the area where her sister disappears, but also happens to be Deputy Burke's brother who seems to have an axe to grind with Burke. 
    This story becomes even more detailed as more women start showing up deceased. (*All of these women have something in common, but I don't want to ruin the story line)
    The atmosphere between the characters flowed and there were times I found myself talking to the characters since I got so wrapped into the plot. 
    The ending was fantastic and didn't see it coming when the author revealed the villain. (*Again, trying not to ruin the book for everyone)
    I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good suspense story with a romantic twist where the story gives an ending that satisfies the reader.
    I do need to note that this is Book 2 in the series. I never read the 1st book. This book won't leave you confused and will give enough background information to explain what is happening. However, I do plan on going back to read the 1st book just because I enjoyed the second book so much. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Montana Mustangs was a fascinating blend of paranormal romance a

    Montana Mustangs was a fascinating blend of paranormal romance and suspense.
    I gave the book four stars. This is the first book I have read by Danica Winters. I found the idea of nymph shape-shifters to be unique and creative. the first chapter really hooked me, but it took me a while to connect with the main characters, but as the story progressed, I found myself drawn to them and found myself rooting for them. But what really had me hooked was the suspense...who was the killer... and will Dane and Aura overcome the curse?! Overall I liked it and look forward to reading other works by this author. A free ARC copy was provided to me in exchange for a fair and honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    Great Book!! This is the first book that I read by this author a

    Great Book!!
    This is the first book that I read by this author and I have to say I loved this book. It has it all romance, suspense, and paranormal shape shifting. I loved Aura's story and the fact that Aura and her sister can shape shift to horses was great. This book drew me in from the first page and I couldn't put it down until I finished reading it. I loved the suspense of the story and loved how it ended. I can't wait to read more books  by this author. 




    A Review copy was provided to me in exchange for a fair and honest review. The free book held no determination on my personal review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  I was a paranormal mystery roma

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  I was a paranormal mystery romance totally devoid of vampires or zombies - yay!  The characters were engaging and they drew me in and made me care about them.  This is a great read for your beach vacation or anytime you want you want to enjoy a great book that will make you smile at the end.




    Please keep in mind that this is a mystery, so it is not all rainbows and puppies.  While fans of chick lit will probably enjoy this, it is not a funny traditional type of chick lit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    One will lose sleep reading this book. Danica Winters kept strin

    One will lose sleep reading this book. Danica Winters kept stringing me along, trying to figure out what was happening to the mustang nymphs in book 2 of her Nymph Series. She brought in a strong suspense thread than the last book, a nice addition to this paranormal setting.

    Mustang Nymph, Aura Montgarten trusts no human, and rightly so. She's searching for her sister and keeps coming up short, and running into a thick muscular wall. That wall belongs to Deputy Dane Burke. Dane's trying to figure who has been killing women in his town, and skirting the one place on earth he never wanted to set foot on again, his family ranch.

    Aura and Dane set out to piece together her sister's disappearance and the connection to the murdered women. In the process, Aura finds her existence as a Nymph becoming increasingly troublesome with Dane.

    All in all, a great read, and a good follow up to the first book. Danica's voice and style fit the genre perfectly. And her love for her home state shows through in the vivid descriptions of the Montana landscape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Mystery With a Unique Take on Shifters

    As the second book in the the Nymph series the action now takes place back in the States, the wilds of Montana to be precise. There's a sense of freedom and peace here until the bodies of young women start turning up. A crime scene is actually our first glimpse of the story's protagonists and you can sense their mutual hardheadedness and sexual tension from the moment their eyes meet. From that intense beginning their journey to a HEA is one ripe with danger. It's going to take a lot of trust in their evolving emotions for them to stay one step ahead of the murderer.

    Aura is devoted to her sister Natalie, who is rather flighty. After not hearing from her, Aura comes to Montana which is her last known location. Aura then spends the remainder of the book looking for her sister while assisting Deputy Dane Burke in finding the murderer as it appears that the victims are shifters themselves. Aura is attracted to Dane from the beginning but fights it every step of the way as a curse will consign him to death the moment they admit their feelings. Forever keeping her heart hidden has left Aura a bit standoffish. I actually had a hard time warming up to her. She's smart but keeps her true feelings to herself which makes her a woman lacking in warm fuzzies. That doesn't mean she's not highly sexual though, since as a nymph she is. Along with her abilities of seduction comes the ability to talk to animals which adds another unique layer to these shifters.

    Dane has a dark past he's trying to hide too that we slowly learn about as he and Aura get closer together. This in no way detracts from his sexiness though. He has all the qualities of a perfect hero in that he values her assistance with searching for the murderer and he'll do anything to keep Aura safe, including dying for her if necessary. The romance between him and Aura is intense as knowing that it means death gives a constant sense of foreboding. You value each time they're together and can't help rooting for their almost impossible HEA.

    The mystery that permeates this story is full of twists and turns that kept me guessing until the end. There's plenty of characters, among them Dane's brooding brother, that at one time or another landed on my list of possible murderers and I congratulate Ms. Winters on her satisfyingly written mystery. The paranormal aspects were unique and I commend the author further in breathing fresh air into a familiar genre. Even though this is the continuation of a series this book can easily stand on its own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    MONTANA MUSTANGS, by author Danica Winters, is a fantastic paran

    MONTANA MUSTANGS, by author Danica Winters, is a fantastic paranormal romance with a satisfying murder mystery weaved in. Filled with a mix of shifters, nymphs, cowboys, and cops, the story revolves around a heroine and hero with plenty of secrets and tragedy in their pasts. Neither is willing or able to open up to the other in the beginning, but as the story moves forward it becomes clear they must learn to trust each other and their growing feelings if there’s any chance of solving the horrific series of crimes at the novel’s center. Ms. Winters has done a wonderful job of intertwining the romance and suspense plots and doing each one equal justice. This book will keep you up late into the night because you simply must find out what happens next. If you’re looking for a paranormal romance filled with sizzling sexual chemistry between the leads with a compelling suspense thriller twist, MONTANA MUSTANGS is the book for you!

    ***I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    Montana Mustangs has something for everybody. There's a paranorm

    Montana Mustangs has something for everybody. There's a paranormal element, suspense, romance, and a beautiful setting.

    The heroine, Aura, is a shape-shifting nymph. Nymphs have extraordinary powers of seduction and can bring any man to do their bidding. The downside of that ability is should the man fall for her, his love is his death knell. When Aura's sister goes missing, she uses her considerable power to seduce Dane, a local cop, into helping her search for her sister. What Aura never expected is his help and the relationship that comes from it, turns to love. Danger for them now comes from both without and within. Ms. Winters paints a vivid and lovely picture of her Montana, as a reader you want to hop in the car and enjoy the Big Sky Country in person. My favorite part of the story is the homage she pays to the nobility and spirit of America's wild mustangs. Her love and respect for them shines through. This is a wonderful series and I look forward to book 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Absolutely loved this book. Read it in one sitting. Beautiful l

    Absolutely loved this book. Read it in one sitting. Beautiful language, story line, and characters that keep you wondering. Would highly recommend~ Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1