BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Montana Sky

Average Rating 4.5
( 212 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME

Great Book!! It will have you turning the pages all the way up to the very last page. Just when you think you know who the killer is, NR throws in a twist and you think it's someone else. I was guessing all the way up until they told you the name of the person (I can...
Great Book!! It will have you turning the pages all the way up to the very last page. Just when you think you know who the killer is, NR throws in a twist and you think it's someone else. I was guessing all the way up until they told you the name of the person (I can usually figure it out way before that). On top of that it has STEAMY hot sex!! I enjoyed getting to know each of the sisters and watching them let their guard down to find love and each other. It's a book about romantic relationships, friendships, sibling relationships, it's thrilling, exciting, funny, and sexy! It's a must read -- I might even read it again next summer.

posted by Megb715 on August 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

eh

This book bothered me for many reasons. The first of which, but not the most important, being that Lily, who was in an abusive marriage and recently got out of it and filed a restraining order against her ex, meets and marries someone within 9 months. I would think that...
This book bothered me for many reasons. The first of which, but not the most important, being that Lily, who was in an abusive marriage and recently got out of it and filed a restraining order against her ex, meets and marries someone within 9 months. I would think that an abusive relationship would make her more traumatized and more apt to be cautious when entering a new relationship.

Another irritant were her other two sisters, Willa and Tess. They, of course, fell in love with the other two hot guys in the novel, but they also learned something from them. And in return, the guys learned...oh, wait, they didn't learn anything. Aren't relationships about give and take? Learning from each other to become better people? The men, apparently, were perfect, while the women had much to learn. (It's hard to convey sarcasm in a blog...)

I'm also not a fan of points of view changing from paragraph to paragraph. I don't mind if it changes after a scene or after a chapter, but not within paragraphs. It gets too confusing when you're trying to figure out what the characters are thinking or feeling. Too much bouncing around.

This book paralleled the other book about three sisters living on (or near) a ranch that I read earlier, "True Colors". I was hoping that this one would rate a little above that one, but I'm not so sure. The characters were a bit deeper, and the mystery of the murderer helped to hold my interest, but overall the little details about the women and about relationships bugged me. I'm hoping I haven't lost my taste for romances, because some can be quite entertaining!

posted by kuhlcat on June 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Such a great book. A must read!

    Nora Roberts is so clever with words and descriptions. Loved the details, action and multiple romantic stories against a wonderful Montana setting. The TV movie unfortunately did not do justice to this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    I have always thought that the book is almost always better than the movie. In this case I was right. I like the movie but the book was so much better! Things that happened in the book were not even in the movie or it was changed in the movie. I really liked this book. I liked the characters had so much more depth to them. I will read this book again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nora Roberts "Montana Sky"

    Once again Nora Roberts delivers a captivating story. Three sisters with only one thing in common, their deceased father Jack Mercy, are thrust into a situation none of them saw coming. The middle sister, Lily, is running from a troubled and abusive past. The eldest sister, Tess, hails from Hollywood. Accustomed to the finer things of life, she is perhaps the most irritated to have her perfect and comfortable life disturbed. The middle sister, Willa, has her world turned upside down as her father's tyrannical grip reaches out to control her life from the grave. No one is sorry to see Jack Mercy die, but his actions have far reaching effects that change the lives of many people. Hunted by the past, the sisters must face the dangers that await them together, or be torn apart forever from those they come to love. If they are successful not only will they gain the fortune of Jack Mercy's legacy, but they will find the true bond of sisterhood that will last a life time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    AWESOME

    Great Book!! It will have you turning the pages all the way up to the very last page. Just when you think you know who the killer is, NR throws in a twist and you think it's someone else. I was guessing all the way up until they told you the name of the person (I can usually figure it out way before that). On top of that it has STEAMY hot sex!! I enjoyed getting to know each of the sisters and watching them let their guard down to find love and each other. It's a book about romantic relationships, friendships, sibling relationships, it's thrilling, exciting, funny, and sexy! It's a must read -- I might even read it again next summer.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful read

    Montana Sky is packed full of mystery, suspense, drama, hissing and back-biting, romance and friendships, new and old. It's a great book for any reason: relaxing, book clubs, sunbathing, etc....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    Montana Rocks!!

    Okay, so I first started reading Nora Roberts' books when I was eleven years old. Montana Sky was the fourth book I read by her. The characters are amazing because each has a different personality and they all work together in an unique way. Tess, Lily and Willa are sisters who share the same father. The father was a complete jerk. He leaves them with 1/3 interest in his ranch. The catch...they have to live there for a year together. The book might start out slow for some but as you read, you feel yourself being sucked into the story. Warning...there is a lot of death and gore so if you are weak stomached...heads up. I found the book to be beautiful and empowering. Three women form a bond and fall in love...proving that love (all kinds) conquer even the worst of times. There are many twists and turns that leave you hanging. I have read this book so many times that I had to go buy a new copy. Amazing!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2008

    The book that got me hooked

    I've been reading Nora Roberts since 98. This was the first book I ever read of hers, and is completely responsible for the over flowing book shelf dedicated to her in my house. Nora Roberts is an amazing author, and this book is the shiniest drop in her sea of words. Worth a second, third, and even forth read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    Nora Roberts Fan

    I loved this book. At first it started off a little slow but once the story got going it was GREAT! And BEN-- :) I LOVE BEN! His personality just radiated sexiness. I loved how Ms. Roberts still had you guess who the killer was right up to the end! GREAT job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2007

    Amazing up to the last page!

    I have read several Nora Roberts books but this is a favorite! With 30 pages to go I still had 5 suspects, very good writing! It was a heartwarming story full of tender moments and some steamy ones too! Excellent suspense and just enough gore to keep you turning those pages!! Well Done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2000

    Absolute Best!

    This is by far THE best book I have ever read. I fell in love with Big Sky country and couldn't wait to see what would happen to these sisters and their men!! IT WOULD BE WONDERFUL AS A MOVIE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Another great one

    Another great rread from Nora!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Avid reader

    Couldnt put it down!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Awesome

    I watched the movie ot was sooooooooo awesome i have not read the book but i amgoimg to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Haven't read it

    I saw the movie they made for it. It was a good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Good

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Great read

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted April 19, 2010

    Books on CD are Awesome

    This is my first foray into books on CD. I listen to the story as I drive, not just long distances, but around my city. I was familiar with Nora Robert's work, but did not read many of her print books. The descriptive passages seemed to bog me down everytime I started one. What I've discovered by listening to Erika Leigh read the text, I am pulled into the story. The wide expanse of Montana took on new life for me as the book progressed. The romance, danger, sharp dialogue, and interesting characters Nora Roberts develops came to life for me. This is a great way to enjoy the books without actually reading them. I highly recommend this compact disc format. Brilliance Audio does a great job with the technology and mechanics of making the listening enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    The best christmas gift.

    Got it for a christmas gift & she going to love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Listen!

    Nora Roberts continues to provide a great story. The characters are well developed and portrayed well by the narrator Erika Leigh. This audio provides hours of enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    Montana Sky Great & Fiesty

    Great audiobook with suspenese, twist, and such varied personalities. So many different types of people all forced together. We listen to Unabridged Audios only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7