×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Monty Python's Spamalot
     

Monty Python's Spamalot

4.3 19
 
Although “lovingly ripped off from the new musical,” as this cast recording proudly proclaims itself, Spamalot the album has plenty of good reasons to exist. Chief among them is that it’s guaranteed to put a smile on your face -- that is, when you’re not laughing out loud. “Lovingly ripped off ” in turn from the 1976 film Monty Python and the Holy Grail,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Monty Python's Spamalot 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sweet-sue More than 1 year ago
Although the original Broadway musical "Monty Python's SPAMALOT" came out in 2005, I did not attend that performance or subsequent performances in my area (Upstate New York). This past March, however, I was visiting my brother in Austin, Texas and he had gotten tickets to see SPAMALOT at the refurbished theater at the University of Texas in Austin. This version stared Richard Chamberlain and I totally enjoyed every minute. When I returned home I immediately ordered the CD from B&N. I was not disappointed. You did not have to have seen the musical in person or know the movie this musical was based on to enjoy the songs. The music told its own story - touching at times, but mostly very funny. I play it often especially when I need a laugh or "an upper". The show stopper, "Always look on the bright side of life" had me whistling and singing along. The quality of the CD is excellent. I enjoyed the original cast, having loved Tim Curry in The Rocky Horror Picture Show and David Hyde Pierce in Curtains on Broadway. If you would like a good "pick-me-up" this CD is a winner.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i saw the play and it was the funnies thing i have ever seen on broadway. i love the music and i cant want till it comes out on cd, i will love to have it when i went but all well that ends well. hope everyone likes the music as much as i do. see yea.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While Wicked is definitely my favorite cast album by far... this one almost beat it. It's hilarious, especially if you've seen the movie, "Monty Python and the Holy Grail." I could almost hear the coconut shells clomping while Arthur trotted around. My favorite song was "The Song That Goes Like This." How true.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think this was great and absolutely hilarious, but not the material worthy of Best Musical. As far as the music/lyrics go, it's fantastic, but overrated. It's not the spectacle it's made up to be.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I personally loved this CD! The music was great(Find your Grail was FANTASTIC!) and the lyrics were hilarious(thank you Eric Idle)! Anyone who enjoys this type of humor should definitely buy the CD.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Every single one of the cast members who contributed to the making of this musical are incredibly talented and understands the humor through it all. I was especially mesmerized by Sara (Lady of the Lake)'s voice in "Find your Grail" and "The Song that Goes like this". Those who played more than one characters in this show were simply amazing. Some of my favorite songs are: "Brave Sir Robin" (which is in the movie), "Find your Grail," "The Song that Goes Like This," and "Where are You?"I love this soundtrack! I can't wait till I see the musical!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw the show in Chicago before it went to Broadway and I immediately knew it was going to be a hit. With such memorable songs like Always look an the bright side of life how could you miss? The new songs for the show are equal in their ability to lighten your mood. For example the song You won't make it on broadway (the show stopper) Will have you rolling on the floor in laughter. This cd is a must for all Monty Python fans out there and for those people who love beautiful melodies as well as hilarious lyrics.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I got back from NYC a few days ago, and I managed to get tickets to this awesome show! Having been a huge Python fan, the show was the right blend of classic python, new python, and beautifully constructed songs. Any fan of musicals and pythons should do themselves a favor and check this out. The songs are just too funny. And not to mention, well done. The cast is great, the music is great, the show was great. Did I mention it's great?
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved the play i saw it and i liked it a lot then i truly saw the face of god
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think that the soundtrack is good, but that's it. The music is very lively, and up-beat, which I do look for in a good musical, but I thought the songs were a little too corny. The other thing is that the songs aren't catchy, and I felt that was a BIG turn-off. But in the long run, I would recomend this soundtrack to anyone who is looking to listen to good Broadway. I have tickets for this show in July and I can't wait to see it... don't get me wrong. But I know that it won't wind up being my favorite Broadway musical.
Guest More than 1 year ago
"Whatever happened to my part" is the only thing I liked her doing on the CD. She may be brilliant on stage but singing a reprise of "Song that goes like this" Like a strutting diva with cerebral palsy is just abrasive, Cheap of the composers, and not deserving of a Tony. Hell, I could do that. Other than her the score is hilarious. 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee should have won.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Monty Python's Spamalot is a magnificent broadway CD. I am a huge broadway fan and this is a great musical. I understand why this won the tony award for best musical. I had to settle with the clips on this website until I got the CD. Anyone will truly enjoy it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i love Monty Python very much so when i got this cd as a gift i was sooo happy! i listened to it and it was hilarious. it has it monty class so all in all it was wicked awesome. don't forget to find your grail!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Okay, being a Python fan means that I liked this musical. :) The humor is not new to me, but the score is pretty good. The thing that stands out in Spamalot is the tremendous talent. David Hyde Pierce and Christian Borle were both completely robbed of a Tony nomination, and are hilarious! Hank and Tim are brilliant, and Sara is outstanding. I recommend Spamalot to Python fans and newcomers to Broadway.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago