Customer Reviews for

Monument 14 (Monument 14 Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book. The action in the novel starts quickly and doesn'

Awesome book. The action in the novel starts quickly and doesn't let up until the last page. I could not put it down! Its a real page turner. As a teen, I found the characters really relatable. I would love to see her write a sequel!

posted by sockerstr77 on July 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Gee,after reading through all the long reviews why would I want to buy the book. I know how this book starts, how it ends and everything that happens in between. Look up the word review in the dictionary. You are NOT writing reviews, you are telling what the book is ...
Gee,after reading through all the long reviews why would I want to buy the book. I know how this book starts, how it ends and everything that happens in between. Look up the word review in the dictionary. You are NOT writing reviews, you are telling what the book is about. Don't you think the person BUYING the book wants to find out for themselves.

posted by 8429876 on October 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Action pacted page turner

    When you first start reading you think it will end up like every other survival story. Boy are you wrong. The book gets more intense each chapter and it will put you on the edge of your seat. From monstrous hailstorms to exploding volcanes, this book keeps you reading.
    But I am afraid that the author did not spend enough time to explain all the charecters well enough. On the other hand I personaly thought it was a great book. And I hope you all enjiy it as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Readers Express

    This is an amazing book. 14 kids are traped in a shopping mall when the world is thrown into horrible disaters after a volcano erupts. All though this book contains a liitke sexuallity its a great read. Recomended age: 14 up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Revolutionary thinking.

    The plot is like none I have ever read before. 215 pages of fear,strength, perserverance & sacrafice. Be prepared to want to continue this series albeit pretty $$$$ on the next two which means I stop here. If you can afford to.......my vote is to continue on. You will be cheering on these characters and hoping for a happy ending. Two thumbs up to the author for a very new story line!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    This reminds me a little of lord of the flies

    But instead of choirboys setting up government its real life highschoolers and instead of a plane crash its a grocerystore safe haven in the middle of chemical and natural disasters. Im kind of a book snob especially with dystopian but i literally COULDNT PUT THIS DOWN it was that amazing. You wont be diapointed this is worth way more than three bucks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Frighteningly Good New Dystopian Series If you haven't read the

    Frighteningly Good New Dystopian Series

    If you haven't read the prequel novella <em>Dress Your Marines in White</em>
    I strongly advise reading that first. It will give you a great deal more insight and understanding of the situation the characters find themselves facing. 

    Goodreads Blurb:
    <blockquote>Your mother hollers that you’re going to miss the bus. She can see it coming down the street. You don’t stop and hug her and tell her you love her. You don’t thank her for being a good, kind, patient mother. Of course not—you launch yourself down the stairs and make a run for the corner.

    Only, if it’s the last time you’ll ever see your mother, you sort of start to wish you’d stopped and did those things. Maybe even missed the bus.

    But the bus was barreling down our street, so I ran.

    Fourteen kids. One superstore. A million things that go wrong. 

    In Emmy Laybourne’s action-packed debut novel, six high school kids (some popular, some not), two eighth graders (one a tech genius), and six little kids trapped together in a chain superstore build a refuge for themselves inside. While outside, a series of escalating disasters, beginning with a monster hailstorm and ending with a chemical weapons spill, seems to be tearing the world—as they know it—apart.</blockquote>



    A chilling dystopian tale that could all to easily be our reality, or one very much like it. It begins on your typical American day in Monument, Colorado. Alex and Dean are running late to catch their respective buses to school. Ever since the fuel shortage everyone rides the bus to school, it has become the law.

    On this particular morning the busses are traveling one right in front of the other, just like usual. Alex gets on the bus carrying the elementary and middle-school kids, and his older brother Dean gets on the one carrying the high school kids. They haven't traveled too far when out of the blue they hear these funny noises, which suddenly get progressively louder. It turns out that massive hail is falling, putting huge dents in the bus, breaking glass, and in general wreaking havoc. The driver of the high schoolers careens out of control, crashing the bus on its side, so suddenly all the hail is hitting the kids. Meanwhile the driver of the other bus plows ahead, straight into the Greenways superstore. Thankfully she has a solid head on her shoulders, because after she offloads all her kids she backs the bus up all the way to the wrecked bus that has all the other kids still trapped on it. She manages to get all the survivors to safety, which is a small number because it had been early in the bus route when this happened, so the busses weren't even close to full.

    A total of fourteen kids in the Greenways, and one adult. Since none of the network systems are working - no phones, tablets, nothing - their one adult leaves them while she goes for help. After she leaves the kids begin settling in when suddenly the riot gates come crashing down, locking them in and everyone else out. Eventually they locate an old fashioned TV set and hear their worst fears come to life <blockquote>&quot;Good citizens of the United States of America, we are in the midst of the greatest crisis our country has ever known.&quot;</blockquote>
    It appeared that the patriotic folks over at North American Aerospace Defense Command Department (NORAD) had created some kind of horrible chemical weapon, one which was accidentally released into the general population. The kids rush to cover the front gates to keep the chemicals from coming in. Just when they think they are safe they realize the AC is running and will soon be pumping the chemicals into their air supply. They hit the roof the manually shut down the AC and find one of the kids just sitting on the edge, watching a giant black cloud rising straight into the air. Before they can fix the AC and safely get back inside a few are exposed to the chemical compound. The results are disastrous and terrifying.

    The rest of the time they attempt to prepare for a long wait for rescue. They discover a camera system that overlooks the loading dock when they hear a woman begging to be let in. Before they can come to a decision something happens that takes the decision out of their hands. Eventually two men come asking to be let in to get supplies. From here things go from OK, given their situation, to disastrous. And they rapidly unravel, ending on a painful note that leaves you aching for the next book. As the first novella was so useful I am going to suggest that the novella that falls between this book and the second is probably well worth reading as well. But either way, once you've read this book you'll be hooked and coming back for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    I liked the idea behind Monument 14. Six high schools, two eight

    I liked the idea behind Monument 14. Six high schools, two eighth graders and six little kids are trapped inside a chain superstore, while outside the world tumbles from one disaster into another. From a deadly chemical cloud surrounding their city to all-out chemical warfare, the world seems on the verge of an apocalypse. The kids build a refuge for themselves inside the chain story, struggling to survive.

    The action is relentless in this YA thriller. From start to end, we tumble from one action into another, and the suspense never drops. The book is claustrophobic, as the kids are stuck inside the store, and you feel how the walls close in on them. However, at the same time, the book lacks a certain depth it could’ve had, had the action slowed down, even for just a moment. This emotional distance makes it hard to connect with the characters, and even the main character sometimes acts in incromprehensible ways.

    There were also a lot of characters to keep track of, and I felt like the novel would’ve worked better had there been less characters. It would feel even more claustrophobic, and if we had more time to focus on a limited number of characters, the reader might feel more emotionally involved with them.

    All in all, an enjoyable read. If you like apocalypse / survival stories, then you should give Monument 14 a shot. I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Great!

    This is a very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    QUALITY BOOK!

    This book was a joy to read and it was very fun to watch the characters develop and to also develop relationships among themselves. I reccomend this book to teens 13+ because of some of the scenes in the book but over all it was a great book. The plot line was steady and it never really got boring. It was very humorous. It basically had everything you ever wanted. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    MOVIE!!!!!!!

    I read on the web that they are making a movie, no joke! I hoghly reco.end it because its a good page turner. Its the new hunger games

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    All the dystopian novels I¿ve read this far starts at a certain

    All the dystopian novels I’ve read this far starts at a certain point in time after the world have already ended. In just about all of these books, the reader is given a brief overview of how the modern world ended and how people have adapted and established a new way of living. Thus, I was thrilled to have finally found a book where you get to experience the transition from the world-as-we-know-it to oh-crap-what-the-heck-just-happened. In Monument 14, you’re smack-dab in the middle of all the action as the apocalypse is triggered by a volcanic eruption which in turn causes a mega tsunami that leads to sudden hail storms, earthquakes, and the release of a deadly airborne chemical compound with dreadful consequences to those who breathe it in.

    Emmy Laybourne’s debut grabbed my imagination straight from the start and I effortlessly immersed myself into the supermarket home of these fourteen characters while the world goes to waste around them. I honestly loved the setting for this book because, let’s be honest, who of us haven’t fantasized at some time or another what it would be like to live in a gigantic superstore stockpiled to the rafters with almost every product you can imagine, and having the run of the place with few to no consequences? At the very heart of it, this is what Monument 14 offers its readers: living that fantasy - albeit not in the ideal circumstances, and with a group of highly strung kids of various ages - but still.  

    Another pleasant surprise for me was that for a change the story is told from a love-struck male protagonist’s point of view instead of the expected female lead. The mish-mash of kids of different ages created an exciting cast of characters attempting to survive the chaos of their world falling apart around them. This one kid...Max...you’ll just love him! Actually, all of them are great kids, but Max shares pieces of his past that makes you smile, and at the same time it reminds you how resilient kids can be. The characters develop at a snail’s pace and at first I thought they were rather standard characters, but once I got halfway through the book I could feel myself forming a bond with these children, which compelled me to get invested in their lives.

    Though the gravity of their dire situation shouldn’t be taken lightly, the story has an optimistic tone with bits of humor sprinkled throughout. The sequence of events made complete sense and has a realistic feel to it as though such a phenomenon is possible. The biggest plus for me was that the storyline isn’t romance-driven and apart from a few teenage hormones going haywire, the romance is pretty low-key. 

    As with all good stories, the fun eventually has to come to an end, and in this book it happens when two adults come into the story and join the kids in their superstore home. That’s when things...well, we all know what killjoys adults can be, especially when those adults put their own survival front and center.

    There were a few tiny things that bugged me and had me doubting the probability of the logic behind certain actions of some of the characters; and if you look closely you’ll spot enough lapses in common sense that would make you ask “but how could...?” or “yeah okay, but is it possible...?”. Nonetheless, if you don’t overthink it too much, it will barely distract from enjoying Monument 14 to its fullest. Truthfully I can’t deny that the plot and finer details of the story were very well thought out and implemented expertly. There’s so much more I want to tell you about what a great book this is to convince you to read it, but that would mean I’d have to include spoilers, and quite frankly my dear, I just don’t wanna (include spoilers, that is).

    Overall, this was a superb read. I have mixed feelings about the ending, but I know for a fact that I’ll be reading the next book! If you’re tired of zombies and formulaic dystopian reads, then give Monument 14 a go, and let me know what you think of it. It’s well worth the time and every penny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Different Read

    The book was different from any book I've read.. I liked the plot.. some of the characters. . And I'd say it was an overall good read.. I'd take the time to read book 2..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Great Book

    I loved it, its a lil cheesy on parts, but super cute. Really glad I read. Its hard for me to find a book I like and get into but this one was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2013

    The synopsis caught my attention and propelled me through the fi

    The synopsis caught my attention and propelled me through the first couple of chapters of this book. The author, Emmy Labourne in her debut novel, managed to build an intricate plot with layer upon layer of natural and manmade disasters that leave the small town of Monument, Colorado, utterly devastated.

    The events take place in the not so distant future as a busload of students are on their way to school. Fourteen of the kids survive when their bus driver, taking a page out of the zombie apocalypse survival guide, goes to the nearest superstore and unloads the Monument 14 where they have access to drinking water, food, clothing, and shelter.

    The story unfolds as the refugees, ranging from preteen up through seniors in high school, struggle with survival, pecking order, and rampant fear as they attempt to find out the fate of their families and loved ones with little to no access to information from the outside world. This is not Lord of the Flies, but there is enough conflict that the story moves and keeps the reader engaged.

    The characters are varied, layered, and real, providing a good cross-section of student bodies everywhere. Readers will find someone to connect with, from Jake the jock, to Astrid the pretty popular girl, to our lovable nerd and protagonist, Dean. Ms. Labourne does an excellent job of capturing the voice of a teenage boy who never comes off sounding like an adult or a female, and we find ourselves rooting for him and his unrequited love for Astrid. We can identify with the sense of responsibility he feels for his younger brother, Alex.

    The tension is well done, the dialogue natural, and the relationships are realistic. I think I would have liked a little more action and a little more, something, I don't know what, to take it to the next level for me. Still a solid four out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Great book

    Loved the story and character

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    I thought this was a very interesting book! 14 kids are trapped

    I thought this was a very interesting book!
    14 kids are trapped in a superstore called Greenway , managing to survive and save each other.
    I thought this a very pleasant book to read. The characters were spot on. The setting was perfect for the story.
    I would recommend this book to anyone who likes anything having to do with survival. There are some twist and turns towards
    the end which caught me surprised! Very good book highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Impossible to put down!!! Twist after twist, it left you wanting

    Impossible to put down!!! Twist after twist, it left you wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Could not put this book down. With disaster after disaster came

    Could not put this book down. With disaster after disaster came more surprises and left me wondering for what would happen with &quot;Sky on Fire&quot;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Bookworm

    Best book ever saw the author in person she is awesome very actiony very very good loved it from the first sentence!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Awesome

    I consider myself a connoisseur of post-apocalyptic fiction. That being said, this book outstrips many of my favorites in terms of entertainment value. For me this is a solid third place after the Gone series by Michael Grant and The Enemy series by Charlie Higson. The main draw for all of these books is that they take place solely around children and teenagers, with no interference by adults. This forces the reader to think: "Would I have done that if I were in that position?" This is something that I believe cannot happen if the book relies on adults as a central section of the plot, because then it becomes more difficult to relate to the characters. All that being said, this book was very enjoyable, the only detractors for me being the cliffhanger ending and the lack of a sequel. 5 out of 6 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5