Customer Reviews for

Monument 14 (Monument 14 Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book. The action in the novel starts quickly and doesn'

Awesome book. The action in the novel starts quickly and doesn't let up until the last page. I could not put it down! Its a real page turner. As a teen, I found the characters really relatable. I would love to see her write a sequel!

posted by sockerstr77 on July 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Gee,after reading through all the long reviews why would I want to buy the book. I know how this book starts, how it ends and everything that happens in between. Look up the word review in the dictionary. You are NOT writing reviews, you are telling what the book is ...
Gee,after reading through all the long reviews why would I want to buy the book. I know how this book starts, how it ends and everything that happens in between. Look up the word review in the dictionary. You are NOT writing reviews, you are telling what the book is about. Don't you think the person BUYING the book wants to find out for themselves.

posted by 8429876 on October 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Anonymous

    Gee,after reading through all the long reviews why would I want to buy the book. I know how this book starts, how it ends and everything that happens in between. Look up the word review in the dictionary. You are NOT writing reviews, you are telling what the book is about. Don't you think the person BUYING the book wants to find out for themselves.

    14 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Awesome book. The action in the novel starts quickly and doesn'

    Awesome book. The action in the novel starts quickly and doesn't let up until the last page. I could not put it down! Its a real page turner. As a teen, I found the characters really relatable. I would love to see her write a sequel!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Monument 14

    This. Book. Was. Amazing. It was brilliant and awesome and breathtaking and every other word that adds up to awesome. The synopsis of the novel was enough to have me more than interested and I have to admit that I was a bit doubtful that Monument 14 would be great enough to keep my attention and keep up with having a great plot. I was very, very wrong. As some of you may have already figured out, I’m a big fan of dystopia. Love it. Love everything about it. Most dystopias take place after the end of the world, after all of the really tough stuff—Monument 14 takes place during the end of the world in the year 2024 when a series of natural disasters begin to destroy the world.

    The start of Monument 14 had me already on the edge of my seat when the main character, Dean’s school bus is attacked by hail. After almost everybody on the bus is killed, Dean and the remaining few teenage survivors are dragged onto a elementary school bus and seek refuge in a Greenway (which is like a giant Walmart). After a major earthquake, a biological weapon spill that targets people in various ways depending on their blood type—the fourteen kids from the city of Monument find themselves trapped inside of the Greenway while they attempt to adjust to this new lifestyle and survive.

    As you can see above, the story is full of awesomeness (true story).

    I have to admit, I was surprised by the way that author Emmy Laybourne portrayed all of the characters. All of them were unique and spot on considering that more than half of the characters were young children: The high school kids still held their prejudices and had to learn how to put those aside to survive. And the way that she detailed and described the story and setting had me feeling more and more like I was in the story myself, watching Dean when he had to hear all of the younger kids whine about wanting their parents or becoming just like Dean when he goes into a rage when he’s reduced to the corrupt outside air. The way the novel was written was in a way that I found interesting, it was in the first person but was also told in a memoir type format. I thought it was refreshing.

    The one thing that I loved most about the story was the chemical spill. Because if the natural disasters weren’t enough you needed to add in the fact that depending on your blood type, you may or may not survive. As most of you know, type O is the most common blood type on the planet and (of course) everybody with blood type O turns into a raging monster. Almost like the Incredible Hulk, but without the green skin or sudden change in body type. And it’s permanent so long as you’re in the corrupt air.

    As a story that kept me on my toes, had me addicted and had an ending that I didn’t see coming—Monument 14 is a story that I would recommend to fans of dystopia, readers who want something that will thrill them, or somebody who wants a story to grab them and never let go.

    Monument 14 is an instant favorite.

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Gripping yet...

    Gripping up until the ended when you are left with more to wonder about then the start of the book itself. Read but only if you are will to be left on the edge of your seat wondering "What now?"

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Can't put down.

    I have read this book several times. It is very captivating.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    At the beginning, there wasn’t much going on. The book st

    At the beginning, there wasn’t much going on. The book starts off with some very graphic and disturbing disasters and I was worried that it was going to be overly realistic and not at all entertaining. That was thankfully not true. The point when I got to know all the characters was when I really started to fall in love with this book. There was such a colorful cast of characters that clashed together in fun ways. It made me laugh out loud even though there were truly terrifying things going on. Seriously. Like, the world is ending and I’m laughing me head off. I even read a few passages to my husband between laughs because he wanted to know what was so dang funny. But don’t get me wrong – even though there are some very funny moments, there were also some very touching moments that really got to me, especially the ones with the little kids.

    The plot took some turns and surprises that I really enjoyed. The realism was one of the very best parts of the book. Her attention to the details had me so invested in the story and made it hard for me to stop thinking about the book when I was done. She did an amazing job of balancing humor, fear, and empathy while making all of the characters amazingly realistic. I’m absolutely convinced that Max is in existence somewhere on this earth. The writing was so enjoyable. It was succinct, visual, fast-paced and a lot of fun to read. Grab this book. I flew right through it in a day. I absolutely couldn’t put it down.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Connor

    Great book

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    It sounds like working in the film industry really gives Emmy a

    It sounds like working in the film industry really gives Emmy a different perspective to write from - and I think that comes through in her writing in Monument 14! If you're looking for that next action-packed, exciting summer read then this is one you'll want to check out!

    Reasons to Read:

    1.A story that draws you in from the first page:

    The first thing I noticed while reading Monument 14 is that the story picks up during the first chapters; I had barely even started reading and I couldn't put it down! I thought the pacing was very well done for the length of the book, and it really doesn't slow down whatsoever- even while trapped in a superstore.

    2.Excellent, evocative writing:

    Similarly, Emmy's not only able to write exciting scenes but I thought she did a great job penning the story as a whole. The writing wasn't awkward and it was just descriptive enough to help you imagine the events as they were taking place. It seems like her background in film gave her a good idea of exciting writing, and how to keep a story moving along nicely.

    3.A new sort of post-apocalyptic book:

    There are a large number of post-apocalyptic books out now, and even more coming out in the next few months or so, but it was a pretty interesting idea to set a group of high school & elementary kids in a superstore; cut off from the rest of the world. It's a convenient setting for them, but one that works well for the book and really draws you in. With the way the book ended, I'm really curious to see how the sequel will follow the events which took place in Monument 14!

    I did, however, have a few problems with the characters. I found them largely to be caricatures, and mostly lacked any real depth. I think the reason I felt them to be this way was because we didn't get any real sense of their motivations or reasons for acting the way they do, and especially for keeping the secrets they keep. I can understand that from the younger kids, but it's harder to look the other way in the case of the teens in the group. Some people are suspicious, some choose to isolate themselves, some act out and cause trouble. But we never find out WHY, and I wonder if part of th ereason for this is because there's just too many characters to follow.

    But aside from that, I found Monument 14 to be a rather gripping read- definitely one that will be a quick read for a lot of readers this summer!

    E-galley received from publisher via Net Galley.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing and scary all at the same time!

    Monument 14 is a dystopian book about a group of 14 school children who survive a natural disaster that wipes out part of the world. There are parts of the book that mimic The Lord of the Flies, but there are so many parts that stand on their own. The disaters sound like something from a Hollywood blockbuster, but the story of the kids is really the best part.
    Through all the issues they faced, they learned to first trust each other, and work together to survive. The ending leaves you with way more questions than answers, but its still a darkly moving novel.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of those stories, where the description had me unset

    This is one of those stories, where the description had me unsettled before I'd even opened up this title to start reading. The whole premise is scary and beyond eerie. Who wants to think about the world ending, or being separated from your family and friends if and when that event were to happen? And the idea of a government project going wrong and having strange and dangerous effects on those individuals who are close by the source? Not me, that's for sure!

    So if you're not a fan of suspense I'm going to go out on a limb here and just say this book probably won't be for you....or at least not one of your favorites. I'm caught in the middle. I have to be in the right mood to read a book with a premise like this one, and even if I am in the mood, I often have to take breaks while reading so I don't completely let myself get too freaked out. This book is intense from start to finish. The ideas and events can sometimes be a little far fetched, but when you really think about, all of the major events in history and that have occurred within our environment, probably were thought of the same way before they actually happen.

    Laybourne has a great writing style that puts her readers a sort of zone so to speak, and she often left me feeling as though I was in the book itself not just reading it on my own time. This of course had my heart racing and my anxiety levels creeping up on me on more than one occasion. Without giving away any spoilers it's hard to talk about the characters and events that take place in the story Laybourne lays out for her audience, but it's one I think is worth reading and one a series I'm curious to see unfold further. So if you haven't had the chance to pick this read up yet, and you're in the mood to make yourself anxious and a little bit stressed out, while enjoying the ride, this title might be right up your alley.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Monument 14

    Imagine yourself on your way to school, and the world starts to end. You run to seek shelter and the nearest thing is a superstore. So you run into there and now you are trapped. You have no where to go. But you can survive for months there, would you leave. That is the question that I asked myself while reading this book. If I had no worries in the world other than am I going to survive through the night, would I leave the one place that provides me with food, water, and shelter???? Probably not. But that was not the case in this story.

    In this story, you meet a group of kids that are on their way to school in the bus. While on the bus a hail storm starts to happen. I know what you are thinking, come on its just a hail storm. But in this story, this hail storm is really bad and they can’t drive in it. So one of the buses decides to run into the local superstore for cover. But then after a little while the bus driver goes back to save the people on the other bus. Once everyone was in the building, the driver decides that she is going to try and get help. So she leaves. At this point in the book, I was like really….you are just going to leave 14 kids all by themselves so that you can see if you can find help. I knew where this was going. At this point, the story reminded a lot of Lord of the Flies. I was just waiting for them to split into their own teams and try to kill each other. But boy was I wrong. This book was so much better then I thought it was going to be. I was really surprised with what the out come was in this book. But I would have to tell you, if I was ever stuck in a place like Target for a really long time I think I might be in heaven. :)

    This book has everything that I good dystopian needs. In my world, a good dystopian needs a great story line. A story that keeps you wanting more. A story line that keeps the pages turning. And Emmy Laybourne did just that!!! I seriously can’t wait for the second book to come out! I am not going to lie, when I finished this book I was like, “ YOU REALLY CAN NOT END A BOOK LIKE THAT!!!” I think I threw the book across the room and cursed a little….oops… But a book that makes you do that deserves to be titled a great book and that is exactly what it is!!!!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book is interesting but at some parts really scary!! It also contains some swears. But it is an interesting read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Awesomesauce

    It was really good, but the age rating I would say 14+.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Great book

    It is just captivating period.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    Firstable, this book is a great read for boys! I’d been w

    Firstable, this book is a great read for boys!

    I’d been waiting to read this book for a while and I’m glad it didn’t disappoint me. What I liked most of this book was the Dean’s sincerity. Just because the world seems to be ending people don’t need to start acting like saints (I guess I’m evil). His feelings and desires kept on going Ah! Yes, in case you’re wonder who this Dean is, he is the main character.

    Fourteen kids are trapped in a superstore (think Walmart, or Target) and they have to learn to trust and deal with each other in order to survive. They are mean and they don’t hold their tongues back. They are tired of taking care of the little ones and the bigger ones are not exactly fan of each other.

    The book reminded a little bit of that movie The Mist but with kids. This book would make a really cool movie.

    What I didn’t like: there wasn’t any explanation of the kind of world they were living in and why a couple of things were out of use. However this wasn’t bad to the point to stop me from enjoying and finishing the book. I guess Laybourne wanted to get directly to the action without wasting time explaining a world that we weren’t going to see much about, anyway.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The day starts out like any other. Kids heading to school, paren

    The day starts out like any other. Kids heading to school, parents heading off to work when suddenly the skies open up and huge chunks of hail create complete chaos. This is the story of children, ages Kindergarten through High School, whose lives went from being normal to living the unknown.

    Shelter is found in a big box store for the riders of two school buses. Within days they experience not only hail, but a world being changed by natural disasters. A volcano blows which play havok with the natural order of things and causes a dominoe effect. Tsunamis, earthquakes, etc. The kids in the store have limited information of what is going on outside. They are located in Colorado, but are in the range of more destruction when nearby NORAD has a breach and military chemical agents have reached not only the air but the water supply.

    I found the story a bit rushed, what was progressing inside seemed almost an entirely different timeline than what was happening on the outside. I also found it interesting that even though the securiy gates were blocking the entrances that nobody on the outside found a way in. Desperate people will do desperate things. The story plays over 12 days, but it felt so much longer than that.

    The story has the potential to be incredible, but it just seems to fizzle when you would expect it to explode.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    After a huge storm hits, the school bus crashes into a lamp post

    After a huge storm hits, the school bus crashes into a lamp post and several kids die along with the driver. There are only 6 survivors and they, along with the others that came on the rescue bus, eventually end up in a superstore where they end up living for awhile. Upon debating on whether they will stay there or try to find their way home, they try to make contact with those outside. But after several events occur (including a hail storm with ice as big as basketballs) they decide that it's best they stay inside, with food and shelter. There are people of all ages from young elementary school through high school.

    There are a lot of post apocalyptic books out there today, especially in the Young Adult arena. This book has a lot of potential in the idea, but the thing I think that held it back the most for a teen reader, may appeal more towards the younger teens. There are elementary aged school kids that get stuck in the situation with the older kids. Sometimes there are parts of the story in which more difficult concepts have to be explained to the children. The use of dialogue and actions that they used around the children kind of deterred me as an older reader from really engaging into the feel of he novel. The action parts and the events in which were able to hold my attention were when things started to go bad towards the end. Rivals between the older kids mostly.

    Also the idea that all kinds of events were happening outside the superstore, we don't get to witness much of. We are told what is going on outside and are given some description of the damage. But we don't really get to venture out into the mess and see any of it beyond being introduced the idea of the terror.

    My favorite parts of the story were in which there was immediate danger upon the major players in the story. The fight for life and death and the real feel of what I think an apocalyptic story should contain. This would be a good introduction book for those that have no read into this type of genre as a stepping stone before exploring further. It was a good story, but I cannot say that I loved it. I am giving it 3 stars.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Not bad

    Easy read, enjoyed the characters and their different personalities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Really enjoyed this!

    This book has a lot going for it. The story is interesting, and quite surprising in places. The characters took a while to become individuals, and that is the only reason I didn't give this five stars. However, the plotline moved along really well, and there is plenty of story left for another two books without feeling like this one was short-changed. Adult themes, cursing, and violence were kept to a minimum, yet it did not feel like the author was straining to keep them out, which was nice. The author took a classic storyline and brought some freshness to it for a new generation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Eh

    It was good. Not great but good enough to be entertained and wanting to know whats next. Read it in one night. 2nd book was not as great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5