Customer Reviews for

Monument 14 (Monument 14 Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book. The action in the novel starts quickly and doesn'

Awesome book. The action in the novel starts quickly and doesn't let up until the last page. I could not put it down! Its a real page turner. As a teen, I found the characters really relatable. I would love to see her write a sequel!

posted by sockerstr77 on July 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Gee,after reading through all the long reviews why would I want to buy the book. I know how this book starts, how it ends and everything that happens in between. Look up the word review in the dictionary. You are NOT writing reviews, you are telling what the book is ...
Gee,after reading through all the long reviews why would I want to buy the book. I know how this book starts, how it ends and everything that happens in between. Look up the word review in the dictionary. You are NOT writing reviews, you are telling what the book is about. Don't you think the person BUYING the book wants to find out for themselves.

posted by 8429876 on October 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Best book I've read this year... also the only book i read this

    Best book I've read this year... also the only book i read this year... yeah it does cuss a little, but great book with great twists... mainly targeted to teen audiences, Sad to say i cannot put this book down...  now it's just a matter of time before i get sky on fire xD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    Thrilling

    This book is not only good for teens but adults too. It is thrilling and exciting. Looking forward to reading book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    A Page-turning, edge of your seat thriller

    This book had me at the end of the first page! I never put it down. Stayed up all night to finish it! You NEED to get this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Wonderful

    Written simply and wonderfuly - I want more!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Amazing....almost life changing.

    Best series ever. Period. I cried at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    Loved this. Breathless pacing, well-written characters, true sen

    Loved this. Breathless pacing, well-written characters, true sense of danger and loss.  Devoured it in one night. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Samples cool

    Ive only read the sample. Its really cool. Its heart racing in a good way. Im buying it tonight, i cant wait!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Awesomeful

    A thrilling and wonderful book on "end of the world" survival

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    To the Anonymous who put 1 star

    The book is honestly a good read but next time just read the blurb so the ending won't be ruined for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Thia book was fucking awesome cant wait till may when he nez

    Cantwait bittchedssssss!!!!%&#&3636$;"%9-+,&+*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Wow.

    When I started this, I was curious. As a person who reads dystopian/post-apocalyptic books, I have very high expectations and books to compare it to. I was not disapointed. I would recomend this for anyone who enjoys a good survival/battle of the fittest story. Book #2 come out in May.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Anonymous

    This book really had everything i was looking for... from an adventure to a little romance, struggle between friendship and survival, anyone could pick this up and be instantly glued.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Kickass

    Best book ever!
    Amaaaaazzzzzzzziiiiiiiinnnnnnnngggggg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    fantastic

    fantastic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Rilly rilly rilly good

    Rilly rilly rilly rilly rily rilly rilly rilly rilly rily rilky rilly rilly rilly riily good. 4 rillzlez, this book was toally worth the money. Like,rilly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Absolutely Amazing!

    This book is by far one if the best i have ever read. The horrible things that happen in this book are absolitely terrifying, grusome, and down right scary. Through out this book, you watch all the 'big kids' become like parents to the younger ones. Most people would think being stuck in a big department store would be heaven, but this book shows you the truth. This is one of the only books i have ever read where i cried because it was over. I cant wait untill the sequal (sky on fire) comes out!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    :D

    the song "if today was your last day" would fit perfectly for this book ( song by nickleback)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Monumental Read!

    Not just another run of the mill, End of the World Story! Great character development with character you love and ones you love to hate! The story stays interesting from the first word to the last and has some really interesting plot twists! A must read for lovers of YA Dystopian novels!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    You could write another book...

    You could write another book about this. Either in the perspective of Alex or Dean. For Dean it could be at the mall wuth the kids, and tye type o blood would attack Caroline and Henry and they do sonething meet and Jake could cone back at stuff. But for Alex it could be the journey to there patents. The could be qttacked by type o bloods And loose oxygen and run iut if food stuff like that. This book was great by the way I wish it could be even bigger than it is.......
    I lived the character exept fir that annoying inappropriate 13 year old. And 2 irratating football players. And a adult who shot one if the irratting football players...
    But who said you wiuld live there personalities right????
    This book is amazing its about the future. And about a chemical that atacks specific blood types...
    Very nice read. If you like action and futurustic type novels then i would suggest this book and if you love this book then you'll live "Trapped" sort of like this exept with snow. Only teens. A school.
    BUT THIS BOOK

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    WOW. That was my reaction at the end of the book. That was ONE H

    WOW. That was my reaction at the end of the book. That was ONE HELL OF A RIDE! Throughout the whole book I was addicted, I could not put it down, kept on reading and reading and I guess I blame my new fascination in survival novels. Put a bunch of characters in an enclosed area and let them try to survive and you've got a very happy reader (me). However Monument 14 just didn't lose its momentum! It kept on going and the addition of little kids into the mix was just pure genius. I found the characters in Monument 14 much more likable, even though some were plain old jerks, however they all at some point banded together because in they end they all want to live. Also, the addition of the little kids gave them more responsibility and they upped they carefulness and just dimmed on their selfishness. I did have one or two characters that I just did not like, including one of the 13 year olds and a typical senior jock.

    What I love in survival books is how the survival instincts of the characters kick in, and their race against time, limited resources, and basically staying sane in order to survive begins. In Monument 14, you experience all of that through the characters, and even though its told from a male POV, and I'm not fond of them, I actually felt connected to him, except for his a little to desperate one sided crush on one of the other characters. I really enjoyed Emmy's writing, the sequencing of the plot, and how she stuck to logic throughout the books, and trust me while this might seem as an obvious thing, a lot of authors derail from it towards the end of the book.

    I must say, I loved the chemical spill and how different blood types react differently to it, my only question is, how can they not know their blood types? Emmy adds in the fight for survival, natural disasters, but doesn't forget the emotional side of the story, and I loved how the little kids were taken care of, how the kids grew attached to some characters, and it broke my heart to know they don't have their parents at such a young age and very crucial time. Also there is some romance thrown between some of the characters, I honestly have mixed feelings about the romances in the book but since they don't take up a big part of the book, until the end, I didn't give much thought to it. However, we reach the end of the book and then there was a huge BIG point to the romance, because that ending? wow.

    All in all, Monument 14 was such a thrilling novel, and I did not even know it was part of a series until I started writing my review so I am a bit giddy about that, since the ending was a bit unsatisfactory and open ended, but knowing there is a sequel? oh my, I can't contain my excitement waiting!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3