BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Monument to the Dead (Museum Mystery Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    Monument To Death is the 4th book in the A Museum Mystery






    Monument To Death is the 4th book in the A Museum Mystery series.

    I love all of Connolly's books and this is no exception. She does such a wonderful job of not only telling a story, but educating the reader about behind the scenes workings with which that series deals. In the case of this series, it is what goes on in a historical museum.

    Nell notices an obituary for a former Society board member, Adeline Harrison, since Harrison was up in years, Nell didn't give it a second thought, but made a mental note to send flowers. Then when her close friend and FBI agent, James Morrison, calls for background information on her and mentions other deaths of similar nature in recent times, things aren't adding up.

    Nell, with the help of her staff has found a link of the deceased board members and that link seems to point back to Nell's museum. Since James' bosses at the FBI don't feel there is evidence to warrant an investigation, it will be up to Nell and James to find the murderer before another board member dies.

    All of the engaging character are back to help Nell in this book.

    Definitely looking forward to the next book in this exciting series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Good story!

    This was a good, fast reading story! It kept you guessing who the bad guy was!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    Fun series!

    I am enjoying this series very much. The plots are interesting and funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This series just gets better and better! The writing is good, ch

    This series just gets better and better! The writing is good, characters are very realistic, and the mystery is a good one. Can't wait for the next one. This series is a keeper as are her Orchard Mysteries and the new County Cork series. How one woman can write three different series is amazing. Keep them coming Sheila!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The fourth book in the Museum Mystery series has FBI Agent James

    The fourth book in the Museum Mystery series has FBI Agent James Morrison asking Nell for some help. Some local members of the cultural community have been dying of “natural causes,” but with the recent death of Adeline Harrison James has started to see a pattern that makes him believe the causes were definitely not “natural” . So with James’ blessing she starts to pull clues together and finds even more deaths for him to add to his list. Someone is killing elderly philanthropists, but who and why? If she can figure out the motive, hopefully it will lead her to the killer before another benefactor finds themselves gone before their time.





    Sheila Connolly has topped herself with this one. This is one of the best stories I have read this year.




    The tables being turned so Nell is asked to investigate is pure genius! James asking for her help and then working with her, Marty, and Shelby to find enough evidence to open an FBI case made this a book I could not put down. It is a very complex mystery and the characters even had to use spreadsheets to help figure it out but I found myself immersed right into the story following each little tidbit as everything started to come together.




    In addition to a wonderful mystery, Connolly has away of educating readers in a fun and entertaining way. This time it was a behind the scenes of the boards and benefactors of a historical museum. I was amazed at the snippets of information staff collects to match the right person to the right project and how much is gleaned from conversations at fundraisers. There were also a pieces of Philadelphia’s little known history wrapped into this mystery. Very interesting.




    Watch for this one to hit my Best of 2013 list! Kudos Sheila!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Not the best

    Too much talking not enough action. Mystery took second place to relationship between Nell and James.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoy all of Sheila Connolly's books. She develops her charact

    I enjoy all of Sheila Connolly's books. She develops her characters into real people with real problems, and uses enough quirky humor to keep you awake, too!
    My only quibble with this one, which I enjoyed, was that it took an unusually long time for mystery part to get going. The problem was suspected, then stated, but it took a while for the characters to really track down leads. But... I'll gladly read it again in 15 years when I've forgotten it! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    In Connolly┬┐s mystery novel, Nell Pratt, president of the Pennsy

    In Connolly’s mystery novel, Nell Pratt, president of the Pennsylvania Society, reads the obituary of a former board member only to discover later that FBI agent James Morrison suspects’ foul play. Unable to convince the FBI to open the case, Morrison enlists Nell and several others to “unofficially” investigate on his behalf. Nell quickly discovers what appears to be a plot to eliminate several elderly philanthropists. Morrison and Nell team together to pursue the leads and find a killer before he strikes again.

    A clever, charming, and skillfully executed caper.
    A fabulous addition to the A Museum Mystery series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1