Customer Reviews for

The Monuments Men: Allied Heroes, Nazi Thieves, and the Greatest Treasure Hunt in History

Average Rating 4
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

76 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

An Amazing Journey of Historical Proportions

This is probably one of the best kept secrets of WW II, until now. The brave men and women, many directly from the world of the arts, who put their lives on the line to save the art of the world from the Nazi's.

Written from interviews of surving members, journals ...
This is probably one of the best kept secrets of WW II, until now. The brave men and women, many directly from the world of the arts, who put their lives on the line to save the art of the world from the Nazi's.

Written from interviews of surving members, journals and a great deal of deep and thorough reasearch, this book puts you in the Jeep right with the solidiers searching for the great artworks of the world pilfered by the Nazis.

Extermely well-written and extremely well-paced for a history book, it's a journey that will educate the reader as well as entertain them as they route on the good guys as the race against time, military ignorance and of course, WWII, to make their mission a successful one. It is a book that is hard to put down. Quite impressive in my mind for a history book.

If you are a fan of history, particularly WWII, this is a must read. It's a part of the story that never got out until way after the war. And to honor those who gave so much, reading this book is the least we can do for these patriots.

posted by Robdesign on September 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - If you are a History Buff & an Art Lover

Only 60 pages into this book, and am thoroughly bored. This is not the movie. This is a history book, written with minute detail of the lives and events of the people who saved untold art and treasures during WWII. Do not buy this book if you are looking for action p...
Only 60 pages into this book, and am thoroughly bored. This is not the movie. This is a history book, written with minute detail of the lives and events of the people who saved untold art and treasures during WWII. Do not buy this book if you are looking for action packed adventure. It hasn't developed as of yet. I will continue reading it only because I am interested in the history side of it.

posted by 1224983 on June 27, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Highly recommended for WW2 history fans

    Tremendous book documenting the efforts of the the Monuments Men's saving of great works after Hitler looted Europe. Amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    Intriguing reading of relatively unknown actions.

    Extremely impressive diligence and action of US Forces to track and save great art works stolen by the Nazis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2015

    Good read for history buffs.

    I had seen the movie but really enjoyed the book too. Learned things about WWII that I did not know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2015

    Good Read

    More info than movie. Recommend read with Saving Italy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    Better than the movie

    This is a wonderful nonfiction story about the stolen art during WWII. The book is far better than the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    Interesting story

    A little draggy, but a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2014

    Before the movie made from this book came out, I knew nothing ab

    Before the movie made from this book came out, I knew nothing about the Monuments Men and the awesome work they did to preserve cultural treasures during and after the Second World War. But seeing the movie spurred me to the book, for which I'm grateful.

    I thoroughly enjoyed and learned from the story of these incredible heroes who fought many battles to save as much of the treasures of the past as they could. Their efforts kept so much heritage from utter destruction that we owe them a debt that can never be repaid, except by seeing these treasure and appreciating those who preserved and protected.

    There are many moving tales within the larger story, and it is fascinating to see each triumph as they secured vast storehouses of treasured items. The people involved are true heroes, and should be remembered as such. This book stands as its own remembrance of the Monuments Men (and women).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2014

    Little Known Piece of History

    This is a well researched piece of WWII history that only becoming well known, probably thanks to the movie of the same name. The book is more disjointed in terms of its timeline-the movie went more or less in a straight line-but the book has more depth and detail. Warning: the main figures in the book are different than in the movie-the screenwriters must have combined characters for cinematic reasons-so don't try to figure out which character George Clooney played in the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    A fascinating story, well deserving to be brought to our attenti

    A fascinating story, well deserving to be brought to our attention; but only adequately told. I was shocked to see, at the outset of chapter 6, s series of errors so glaring that my confidence in the quality of the research was shaken. In the first paragraph of this chapter, the authors state: (I) that the summit at Casablanca was "secret." False; it wasn't. Churchill and Roosevelt held large scale press conferences. (ii) that "Stalin would join them a few days later." Good grief! Stalin, Roosevelt and Churchill didn't meet together until Tehran. (iii) that "North Africa lay in Allied hands." What? The battle for Tunisia hadn't yet been fought! (iv) that "Churchill wanted to attack immediately across the English Channel." This is nonsense: The British strenuously opposed such an effort until the Americans finally forced it on them at the end of 1943; and (v) that Roosevelt followed the advice of Marshall and Eisenhower in opposing a cross channel invasion because the Allies weren't ready. This was the argument that the British were using: Marshall and Eisenhower were consistent in pushing for a cross Channel invasion as soon as possible, and were disappointed at the decision to focus on Sicily next, which they knew would mean 1943 would limit fighting to Italy. All these glaring errors in a single paragraph! And these are well known matters which have been well covered in numerous survey histories; these are not arcane details. How could the authors make such mistakes? How could the editors have failed to notice them? My confidence in the accuracy of the research is shaken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Click on

    Im a relative of a real monuments man (not telling who)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I seek out books that tell the stories of what was going on duri

    I seek out books that tell the stories of what was going on during WWI and WWII outside the actual fighting. How did people back home cope, the nurses, etc. After seeing the movie "Monuments Men" I was interested when I found the book by Edsel in my local B&N. No, it's NOT the movie. The movie was made for entertainment. The book shows us the other side of war. I have to admit I never thought about the art, monuments, buildings, and writings that we so much cherish. I've traveled to Belgium and Holland and saw many of the pieces mentioned. It was never mentioned what the Monuments Men and locals went through to local these wonderful pieces and return them so I could enjoy. This book also brings to light something we should all consider and question about fighting and wars. Is it really necessary to destroy the history of a country and people? We all know the horrors Hitler and the Nazis put Europe through--the lives lost in the quest to purify Europe. But we never heard about the destruction of Europe under the Nero directive. Like a spoiled child, if I can't have something, I'll destroy it so you can't either. The more we learn about WWII, the more I am amazed at the people who survived and made sure the rest of us understand the destruction.

    Sorry for rambling, but if you like history and want to learn more about amazing people and events, I strongly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    Highly recommended

    A well written story that gives you the background information on the creation of the Monuments Men and the troubles they had to overcome to do their job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Repetitive and boring

    Maybe I would have appreciated this more if I was an art enthusiast. However, I could only manage to hang in there for half of the book. The book was primarily a short story that is repeated over and over with a few names changed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Hard to get into this book

    We watched the movie and found it very interesting, however, I am having a really hard time getting into this book. I am finding it really hard to follow. I am not sure if it is because I had seen the movie prior to reading it? I put the book down for now - might pick it up later and see if I can get a better handle on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Inapropeite

    I think that this book is really inapropet because if kid read this book they can be really happy and there are bad words in this book I really do think that you guys should listen to me and I am so not going to do this even if it didnt have any bad words in it?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2014

    Excellent book. I enjoy reading non-fiction historical books, e

    Excellent book. I enjoy reading non-fiction historical books, especially books concerning WWII. This book opened by eyes to a topic I have not read about nor was I aware of. The beginning of the book is a little boring and hard to get into, but if you make it past the first 100 pages or so, it is hard to put down. I highly recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    interesting book

    Interesting and a well documented story.
    The first 1/3 is a bit slow but the story picks up after that.
    this is a good topic for anyone interested in art, WW2 and that period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Enjoyed movie more!

    I really tried to get into the book but too much detail about different characters and too lengthy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Joey

    Nvm stan u can have her i gtg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Well written factual account of Nazi Art Looting and Recovery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9