Customer Reviews for

Moon Called (Mercy Thompson Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1583 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1011)

4 Star

(416)

3 Star

(109)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Briggs has written a great story, more adventure fantasy than horror despite the werewolves and vampires. Fast, fun, read.

Despite being a strong, contemporary, female lead character Mercy Thompson is not overly feminist. Briggs has created a gutsy, true-to-life type of female protagonist which is rare. Beyond that the book is fun to read, well paced, littered with laughs, and entertaining...
Despite being a strong, contemporary, female lead character Mercy Thompson is not overly feminist. Briggs has created a gutsy, true-to-life type of female protagonist which is rare. Beyond that the book is fun to read, well paced, littered with laughs, and entertaining. I'm going to read the rest of the series for sure.

posted by SirBunch on April 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

falled flat

I read all of the true blood series, so a B&N employee recommended i tried out this series. I just couldnt get into it. Not enough drama, action, or rommance to make this book worth while. I was hoping for a good series to get into, but decided after the first book that...
I read all of the true blood series, so a B&N employee recommended i tried out this series. I just couldnt get into it. Not enough drama, action, or rommance to make this book worth while. I was hoping for a good series to get into, but decided after the first book that it would be the last of that series for me.

posted by Foto_Felicia on September 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 416 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    Briggs has written a great story, more adventure fantasy than horror despite the werewolves and vampires. Fast, fun, read.

    Despite being a strong, contemporary, female lead character Mercy Thompson is not overly feminist. Briggs has created a gutsy, true-to-life type of female protagonist which is rare. Beyond that the book is fun to read, well paced, littered with laughs, and entertaining. I'm going to read the rest of the series for sure.

    35 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mercy. Mercy Me

    I really enjoyed this book. I really enjoyed the relationship that's starting between Mercy & Adam. Staying with the series to see where that goes. But I like Mercy, she's not so annoying with the, "I'm independent, i don't need nobody" attitude. cause that gets old in female characters. cause male or female you can't do everything on your own.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    New Fan

    My first Patricia Briggs book was Cry Wolf, in the Alpha and Omega series. I enjoyed it but was not overly impressed. Then I read a review that said Read The Mercy Thompson Series First!, which I had not. Oopsies. Thats what I get for impulse buying instead of doing a little research. . .
    So I hmm'd and haw'd for a few years, then recently purchase Iron Kissed. I was expecting anoughther read like Cry Wolf; good, but not gripping. Instead Iron Kissed gave me all the details that went understood, and therefore not detailed, in Cry Wolf. And I have to agree with the guy who reviewed; now that I have read Iron Kissed, Cry Wolf allready makes loads more sense, and I haven't even gotten to where that story picks up.
    I really liked the way the opening flowed, as though Mercy Thompson truly did exist, and we just happened to tune into her life one day. Mercy Thompson's character was the rough and tumble kind of women I've grown up around, and didn't have the soft, nuggety, and conveinant center that are often thrown into "tough" girl books. Sam intrigued me, Adam won my sympathy, and Jesse's quirks were endearing. Basically, all the stuff in good characters. The ending was a little shaky. While the plot took a twist and a went where I wasn't expecting it to, it was too much so, landing me out in right field somewhere. But the rest of the book, and the characters, are enough to make me anxious to purchase the second.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!!

    Love this series and love Mercy. I prefer my heroines to not only be able to kick ass but also know when they need help. Mercy is a realistic hero in an unrealistic world. Also recommend the Alpha and Omega series. My only real complaint is that Briggs doesn't write fast enough! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Good read

    Great story! Perhaps, the artist doing the cover art should read the book or speak with the author; because, the artist's depiction of the main character is way off base. It gives the wrong impression. Honestly, I wouldn't be surprised if the cover art got switched inadvertently with some goofy romance novel art. However, the novel itself is wonderful. The heroine is independent but not to a fault. The story has a satisfactory ending, but leaves open many possibilities and questions that leave you wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Great story

    What a great heroine! Mercy is tough but not perfect. I love that she stands her ground even against werewolves, vampires, and other fae. She is brave but not so much that she can't admit fear. She is a very 'human' character....for a coyote :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    it was very good in parts slow in others.

    i love mercy as a charecter i think some of story was drawn out some. I like how mercy in neutral in a world full of vampires, warewolves, witches, and everything else imaginitive. she does not pass judgement on anyone unless they hurt her or someone she cares about. mercy is very tough but also very loving, she kinda sticks her neck out for people and she always feels like she is not good enough but it does not stop her from doing what she feels is right. there are some sexy parts in the book, some romance, mercy describes the men in her life as all being goodlooking in some way. i think she has several love interest its hard to tell who she will end up with... if she does not end up alone with just her run and friendships to keep her company.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    I liked the writing style and it had originality.

    I liked the writing style and it had originality. I just bought books 2 and 3 so you know I liked it. It was also easy reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Read

    This is the first of Brigg's books that I have read BUT it most certainly won't be the last. I loved it! Briggs style of reading kept me captivated for the whole book. Thorough descriptions allowed me to envision every scene however it wasn't so exhaustive to make me want to skip over sections (which happens a lot)...perfect balance. I really enjoyed the characters; I felt like I really knew them. I was sort of worried about the sexual content, especially with the cover, but it was needless. Looking forward to reading Blood Bound!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    average

    the book was a bit average. It had the main character Mercy and her "super natural" friends. I felt like I've read this kind of story, not so much for orginality. That dosen't mean I won't read the next one. I just hope if gets a lil more exciting

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Fun

    I like this world, and yet a bit scared! It was a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Very happy!

    Thiswas a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Like

    Really enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Good read

    It's easy to like Mercy and her friends. Well written, good fun. You'll want to read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    : )

    Enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Fun Read

    I really liked this book and can't wait to read the rest of her stories. The characters are interesting and Briggs has a different take on the genre which I liked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Mercy Thompson has been raised by werewolves - but instead of jo

    Mercy Thompson has been raised by werewolves - but instead of joining the pack this shape shifting coyote went her own way, setting up in the Pacific Northwest as a mechanic, fixing scooby-doo vans for vampires, and having questionable business dealings with fae.

    Despite the fact I found the werewolves-who-all-want-to-mate-with-Mercy tedious, Mercy herself is an interesting and enterprising character and the combination of folk-tales and legends was pleasantly recognizable while still feeling fresh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Great Series! Read all of them.

    This was a great book with a kick butt female lead. She is a strong independent character and protects her friends and family fiercely. This is a great read and I would recommend it to anyone who likes urban fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    I stumbled on this series.....

    I stumbled on this series and couldn't put it down! I read books one and two in two days!

    I'm enjoying the details of the innerworkings and politics of the wolf packs included here.

    Personally, I could do without the creepy vampires but where there are werewolves.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Awesome

    Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 416 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21