Customer Reviews for

The Moon Looked Down

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    There isn't one of Ms. Garlock's books that I haven't loved read

    There isn't one of Ms. Garlock's books that I haven't loved reading! I have all of her books with the exception of the ones written by psuedo-names! They are out of print and very hard to find. Ms. Garlock's writing just pulls you into the story and seems as though you are a fly on the wall watching everything that happens. I am always so pulled into the story that become unaware of what is happening around me. This book is wonderful! I just loved the story! I agree with some of the others writing reviews about not getting into telling what the book is about! Just know that anything written by Ms. Garlock is wonderfully written, definately worth getting the book and will leave you wanting to read something else written my her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    Excellent read - don't miss it.

    I really enjoyed reading this book. Never miss a chance to read a new book by D. Garlock and this one didn't disappoint. It's nice to see a story where the brothers are close and help each other out. Not much of a writer myself so not sure what else to say, definitely don't want to spoil the book for anyone but I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves Dorothy Garlock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The moon is a witness to scenes of love and acts of violence on the WWII home front

    Nothing stirs a female heart more than a handsome man with a handicap. The inherent mothering instinct is intertwined with a mixture of physical desire and deep-seated admiration. In Dorothy Garlock's "The Moon Looked Down," Sophie Heller is entranced by the club-footed Cole Ambrose. Her focus is more on the muscles under his shirt than the hitch in his gait. Cole has zero experience with women, but his confidence is buoyed by the determination to protect Sophie from the dangerous intentions of a local group of thugs.

    The time is summer 1942. The place is aptly-named Victory, Illinois. The rural community is composed of homes adorned with flags and businesses displaying anti-German propaganda. Ellis Watts and his cronies view German immigrants, like Sophie's family, as Nazi spies. In a planned attack, they set fire to the Heller barn leaving Sophie and her father brutally beaten. With fear of reprisal, they do not report the true nature of events to the police.

    Tensions are high when Sophie enters Marge's Diner only to be taunted with the slur, "Kraut." Feeling invincible, her tormentors issue their accusation in a public place. Sophie confronts them only to be viciously grabbed. Like a scene out of "Back to the Future," Cole comes to her defense. Mocked by the men, his bravery nevertheless makes an impression on Sophie. With her trust in tatters, she is still able to appreciate the fact that Cole is an honorable man.

    "I'm not going to hurt you, Sophie," he said, his voice determined and firm. "After everything that happened at the diner, I think you have plenty of reasons to trust me."

    The sincerity in his voice gave Sophie pause. Though she had met Cole Ambrose only an hour earlier, she could feel that there was a depth to him, a strength in the way he carried himself that put her at ease. She found herself believing what Cole told her.

    "I don't think you'll hurt me," she heard herself answer.

    "I'm not like the men at the diner," he added.

    "No, you're not."

    The spark is lit. The memory of him was a powerful thing, coming unbidden yet not unwanted. With the idea of a gimpy man as her protector, Sophie's heart melts. Like Jenny in "Forrest Gump," Sophie knows she can depend on Cole regardless of his infirmity. She tells Cole what really happened the night of the fire, and he vows to keep her safe. Taking matters into his own hands, Cole confronts an inebriated Ellis in Victory's lone tavern.

    However, Cole's insecurities lie less with his malformed leg than with his fractured relationship with his father. Like the broken father/son dynamic in Garden State, the father blames the son for the accidental death of the mother.

    To make matters worse, further violence descends upon Cole in the form of Graham Grier, a childhood friend of Sophie, who instigates a bloody fist fight with his new rival. Afterward during a dance to celebrate the community re-building of the Heller barn, Graham makes a drunken scene.

    From that moment on, things come to a head. Over the course of the evening, the score is finally settled in Victory, Illinois.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wow! I've found a new favorite author!

    Wow, I think for the first time in a while I'm done with a book that has just left me in awe. I loved this one.

    I almost immediately was connected with Sophie, through the entire book I could feel her emotions. Fear, love, disgust, happiness, longing this book has it all. And it's not just Sophie that I connected with. I loved Cole and was almost as attached to him as I was Sophie. The other main characters (the bad guys) were also just as well written, and although I didn't want to connect to the bad guys I think I did anyway.

    The story takes off with a bang (almost literally) and while there was a short lull in the action it really keeps you going. I couldn't wait to see what was going to happen next, and I didn't have to wait long to find out. The ending to the story was a bit predictable, but the path taken to get there was anything but. I couldn't have imagined some of the twists until the happened.

    This was such an easy book for me to get lost in. I was so connected with what was going on I could see it as if I were right there in the story.

    I'm surprised I've never heard of Dorothy Garlock, as she's written many titles, but I'm glad I've found her. I will be picking up more from her in the future. I have a lot of catching up to do with her...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Moon Looked Down

    As always another wonderful story from Dorothy garlock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Yuk!

    I read about a novel a or two a week. I would say this is
    rock bottom.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a warm WWII on the home-front romance

    The Heller family fled Germany for America. They settled in Victory, Illinois where they were welcomed by their new American neighbors.

    A decade later, the neighbors some of whom befriended the family a decade ago when they moved here and remained friends throughout suddenly think they are German sympathizers. Angry over the growing threat to her family, twenty years old Sophie Heller wants it to end, but cannot figure out how to do so as vigilantes harass her and her loved ones because of their German heritage. A train wreck occurs nearby leading to many neighbors suspecting the Heller brood as Nazi saboteurs. When Sophie meets schoolteacher Cole Ambrose they are attracted to one another. He understands hatred as he has received his share for not serving though his leg kept him out of the military. Now the locals have a new cause, keeping the couple apart.

    This is a warm WWII on the home-front romance starring two likable lead characters. The support cast especially the anti-German antagonists are super with what today would be hate crimes; they make the tale fun to read. Although the psychological impact on the Heller family and the mob mentality of much of the townsfolk towards German immigrants they have known for years is shallowly explored leaving THE MOON LOOKED DOWN as a gripping historical worth reading that could have been a classic.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    With America in the midst of war, trouble seems to be brewing in the form of 3 vigilantes who are going to make sure the Heller family is ran out of With America in the midst of war, trouble seems to be brewing in the form of 3 vigilantes who are goi

    Victory, Illinois- 1942

    The Heller family, threatened and hounded, came to America 10 years earlier from Germany to be free and start over as farmers.

    With America in the midst of war, trouble seems to be brewing in the form of 3 vigilantes who are going to make sure the Heller family is ran out of town.

    Cole Ambrose returns to Victory from Chicago to become a school teacher. He meets Sophie Heller in the local diner. Sophie encounters the three vigilantes there. How could she forget what they said that night? Cole comes to her rescue. Now, he can also be in danger.

    As time goes on and things happen in the town of Victory, the townspeople start to lay the blame on the Heller family. Will the Heller family stay in Victory or will they be forced to escape again? How will this affect Cole and Sophie? Can they withstand the danger that seems to follow them every step of the way?

    Dorothy Garlock is one of the top authors today. This book will be out on the shelves in July, 2009. If you are a fan of her writing, you will not want to miss it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1