Customer Reviews for

Moon Over Manifest

Average Rating 4
( 213 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read

Sometimes you know why a book is an award winner and sometimes you don't. In the case of Moon Over Manifest (Newbery Award winner), a debut novel by Clare Vanderpool, it is evident from page one that you are reading a wonderful book. The story itself, the characters, th...
Sometimes you know why a book is an award winner and sometimes you don't. In the case of Moon Over Manifest (Newbery Award winner), a debut novel by Clare Vanderpool, it is evident from page one that you are reading a wonderful book. The story itself, the characters, the writing all combine into a beautifully woven tale about Abilene Tucker, sent by her father, Gideon, to Manifest, Kansas for the summer of 1936 while he goes off to work on the railroad, a dangerous place for a twelve year old girl.

Hitching train rides with her father since she was tiny, Abilene jumps the train before it rolls into the Manifest depot. According to her, it's best to get the lay of the land ahead of time. Gideon had lived in Manifest for a time as a boy and has entrusted Abilene to the care of Shady, the town barkeep (in the time of Prohibition) and (long-term) interim preacher. Shady, knowing Gideon and his traveling habits, meets Abilene as she walks into town, calm as can be.

She, and we, are immediately introduced to Hattie Mae Harper, the town's newspaper reporter and author of the column Hattie Mae's News Auxiliary. Abilene begins to get an uneasy feeling about Gideon and his returning to get her from the whispering going on between Shady and Hattie Mae.

The following day is the last day of school for the summer and oddly enough, Shady makes Abilene attend-to get to know the local kids. Another omen regarding Gideon's return. There she befriends Ruthanne and Lettie who become her best friends.

Crucial to the story is Miss Sadie, a diviner or reader of the earth and its surroundings, who while Abilene tends her garden, tells a tale of Manifest during1917 and 1918, focusing in on two boys, Ned and Jinx and their adventures, travails and dreams. How Ned and Jinx fit into the Manifest of 1936 and the lives of Abilene and Shady is slowly, lovingly unveiled. And, yes, there might have been a tear or two in my eye when I read the last chapter.

If I were to ponder forever, I don't think I could think of a way to improve Moon Over Manifest. One can tell it's a labor of love. Every character is just right from Miss Sadie to Abilene and Shady, to the mean Mr. Devlin, owner of the local coal mine. The interspersing of history (Prohibition, World War I, the horrid conditions under which coal miners worked, the Midwest draught) with the lives of the townspeople to the beliefs of the times about such things as elixirs and hair tonic make Moon Over Manifest fascinating.

Ms. Vanderpool's wordsmithing couldn't be better. She manages to create suspense, humor, love and heartache in her marvelous story. So take the time to treat yourself. Get carried away in Moon Over Manifest. There are many authors writing books these days. However, there are few 'storytellers' in that grand old tradition and Clare Vanderpool should now be included in their ranks.

posted by EdNY on April 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

A Kids Review - Kind Of Hard To Keep Up

I have only been really doing a lot of reading for about a year now. In this book, Abilene is cool and when she finds an old cigar box with some letters in that that give reference to a spy called Rattler, Abilene and her friends start a spy hunt. This was my first sh...
I have only been really doing a lot of reading for about a year now. In this book, Abilene is cool and when she finds an old cigar box with some letters in that that give reference to a spy called Rattler, Abilene and her friends start a spy hunt. This was my first shot at trying to get into a mystery that also had historical aspects in the book on the recommendation of my teacher. I did get through the book; but, I wouldn't recommend this book for kids my age that have been reluctant readers. If you love reading and have been for years, you will like this book! Tex

posted by TexRogers on January 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read

    Sometimes you know why a book is an award winner and sometimes you don't. In the case of Moon Over Manifest (Newbery Award winner), a debut novel by Clare Vanderpool, it is evident from page one that you are reading a wonderful book. The story itself, the characters, the writing all combine into a beautifully woven tale about Abilene Tucker, sent by her father, Gideon, to Manifest, Kansas for the summer of 1936 while he goes off to work on the railroad, a dangerous place for a twelve year old girl.

    Hitching train rides with her father since she was tiny, Abilene jumps the train before it rolls into the Manifest depot. According to her, it's best to get the lay of the land ahead of time. Gideon had lived in Manifest for a time as a boy and has entrusted Abilene to the care of Shady, the town barkeep (in the time of Prohibition) and (long-term) interim preacher. Shady, knowing Gideon and his traveling habits, meets Abilene as she walks into town, calm as can be.

    She, and we, are immediately introduced to Hattie Mae Harper, the town's newspaper reporter and author of the column Hattie Mae's News Auxiliary. Abilene begins to get an uneasy feeling about Gideon and his returning to get her from the whispering going on between Shady and Hattie Mae.

    The following day is the last day of school for the summer and oddly enough, Shady makes Abilene attend-to get to know the local kids. Another omen regarding Gideon's return. There she befriends Ruthanne and Lettie who become her best friends.

    Crucial to the story is Miss Sadie, a diviner or reader of the earth and its surroundings, who while Abilene tends her garden, tells a tale of Manifest during1917 and 1918, focusing in on two boys, Ned and Jinx and their adventures, travails and dreams. How Ned and Jinx fit into the Manifest of 1936 and the lives of Abilene and Shady is slowly, lovingly unveiled. And, yes, there might have been a tear or two in my eye when I read the last chapter.

    If I were to ponder forever, I don't think I could think of a way to improve Moon Over Manifest. One can tell it's a labor of love. Every character is just right from Miss Sadie to Abilene and Shady, to the mean Mr. Devlin, owner of the local coal mine. The interspersing of history (Prohibition, World War I, the horrid conditions under which coal miners worked, the Midwest draught) with the lives of the townspeople to the beliefs of the times about such things as elixirs and hair tonic make Moon Over Manifest fascinating.

    Ms. Vanderpool's wordsmithing couldn't be better. She manages to create suspense, humor, love and heartache in her marvelous story. So take the time to treat yourself. Get carried away in Moon Over Manifest. There are many authors writing books these days. However, there are few 'storytellers' in that grand old tradition and Clare Vanderpool should now be included in their ranks.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    Great Book

    I know this book is supposed to be for young people, but I'm an adult and I loved it. It was a fast read and I found it hard to put down. I was anxious to see how the story would end, but once there, I hated for it to be over. I highly recommend this book to anyone.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Great Read

    I loved the mixture of characters in this story, and the moment I started reading this book I fell in love with the character and the overall storyline. This is the kind of book you just want to stare at after you've finished it. If this doesn't sound like enought to make you read it, I don't know what will. Read the synopsis.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Loved this book

    This is probably considered juvenile fiction, but I adored it. And I am way past being a juvenile, believe me. The main character, Abiline, is captivating, funny, and believable. I would not hesitate to recommend.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Awesom!!

    This was a great book I'd recomend it to anyone.......ALL AGES!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    Emotions everywhere!

    "Moon Over Manifest" by Clare Vanderpool was an amazing novel to read.
    To sum it up, it was about a girl whose father has sent her off to a mysterious town so the father can work. The girl feels abandoned, but when she meets a fortune teller, some girls, a nun, and the past, her adventures begin. Through heartbreaks, distress, anxiety and happiness, this story sure is a bumpy ride for emotions.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Dont listen

    Dont listnen to any of the reviews that say that this book is fine or that it sucks cause they are wrong! Best book ever!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    This was a great book. I liked how at the end of the book how al

    This was a great book. I liked how at the end of the book how all the characters were intertwined.I would definitely recommend this book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Intriguing

    I love this book! As so many others have said, Abeline's father sends her off on a train so he can work. Later on, Abeline finds a box with letters that bring up a spy. I highly reccomend Moon over Manifest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Moon

    B-E-AUTIFUL :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    ABBY

    LOVE THE BOOK!:)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Definently one of my favorites! It tells amazing tale through pa

    Definently one of my favorites! It tells amazing tale through past and present and holds several secrets that just make this book amazing and wonderful.:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Thrilling!

    The book Moon Over Manifest is the most clever, chilling and enveloping historical fiction book i have read in yaers!!! Trust me, once you start, there is no stoping the reading rampage you will get!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    I trully loved this book! Each chapter fit together like an unpr

    I trully loved this book! Each chapter fit together like an unpredictable puzzle. Though the ending may be easy to fortell, red-herring ascepts made the book interesting, and made you rethink your predictions. The book was trully intriguing and different! I hope you take the time to try it!
    I often find it is very helpful to know what other books reviewers liked in order to get an idea of their taste in books so I have written below of some of my favorite books (of this reading level):
    Walk Two Moons (by: Sharon Creech)
    The Outsiders (S.E. Hinton)
    Out of My Mind (Sharon Draper) ... ETC.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    L

    Looks very good!!! I have 2 read for my summer reads and this was one of the only books thart cought my attention. Im going to start reading this book soon. I hope i like it
    -CC

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    So gooood!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"""

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    this book is amazing. enjoyed it a lot and would recommend to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Kayln's rate and review...

    All i have read is the sample. And even the sample interested me. So far i think it is a good book for all ages that can read. I think almost everybody that reads this book will like Moon Over Manifest....... ;-) YOU NEED TO READ THE BOOK!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Holy shit I wanna shit in yo mouth

    Poop

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Amazing

    This is the best book ever. I read it for school and my class and i love how they think that the rattler is a german spy but its actually sister redempta.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7