BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Moon River and Me: A Memoir

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Book by a Classy Guy

I just finished this book and found it to be thorougly enjoyable. I have been a fan of Andy Williams for years. When I was a young girl and my parents took me to see him in person in Lake Tahoe. I still remember it to this day.

I watched his tv show and remember th...
I just finished this book and found it to be thorougly enjoyable. I have been a fan of Andy Williams for years. When I was a young girl and my parents took me to see him in person in Lake Tahoe. I still remember it to this day.

I watched his tv show and remember the Osmonds, who were my age but I didn't care, I had a MAJOR crush on Andy. His Christmas Shows were my favorites (except for the Williams Brothers all being dressed in the same color!!!).

I picked up this book because I am a fan but in all honesty I knew little about him. This book is about his career from an early age singing with his brothers in Iowa up to the present, owning and performing in his Moon River Theatre in Branson, Missouri and everything in between. Great book and well worth the price.

posted by Cisley on October 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not cool

I was surprised to be interested in reading this book, but the beginnings of his story drew me in somewhat, so I kept reading. However, as Andy gained success, his storytelling reflected the ego that no doubt helped him get where he did and he obviously lacked the humil...
I was surprised to be interested in reading this book, but the beginnings of his story drew me in somewhat, so I kept reading. However, as Andy gained success, his storytelling reflected the ego that no doubt helped him get where he did and he obviously lacked the humility of his early years. The vignettes he includes describing others invariably seem to place those others in a more unflattering light than good ol' Andy. Particularly over the top was his telling of June Haver's drunken reveal of her initimate romping with her husband. If she or her husband had written it, that would be one thing, but it is not Andy Williams' place to do so. Was it necessary for him to specify that in his long-term relationship between his two marriages in which they had such a wild time, she was the identified alcoholic? Would these people and the others that he wrote about approve of his sharing these types of details? Obviously he cannot illustrate his positives without contrasting with others' negatives. Not cool.

posted by E-Reads on December 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Book by a Classy Guy

    I just finished this book and found it to be thorougly enjoyable. I have been a fan of Andy Williams for years. When I was a young girl and my parents took me to see him in person in Lake Tahoe. I still remember it to this day.

    I watched his tv show and remember the Osmonds, who were my age but I didn't care, I had a MAJOR crush on Andy. His Christmas Shows were my favorites (except for the Williams Brothers all being dressed in the same color!!!).

    I picked up this book because I am a fan but in all honesty I knew little about him. This book is about his career from an early age singing with his brothers in Iowa up to the present, owning and performing in his Moon River Theatre in Branson, Missouri and everything in between. Great book and well worth the price.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    Enjoyed Every Word

    This is a must read for anyone who has admired Andy Williams and his music over the years. As a long-time fan, I enjoyed reading about Andy's life in his own words. I remember reading that Andy wanted to write his own story before someone else did so he could tell it like it really was.
    Moon River and Me will give you new insight into Andy's long career -- from his early struggles to make it in the music world to how he started a new life when he opened the Moon River Theatre in Branson, Missouri. The book gave me even more admiration and respect for a true gentleman. I highly recommend it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    Andy Williams

    With honesty, humility and humor this talented singer tells of his childhood in Iowa and career in radio, television and recording. Particularly moving is his account of his friendship with Senator Robert F. Kennedy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thoughtful introspection from an American and Hollywood success story

    I found this book to be poignant, humorous and historically interesting. Andy Williams' life and career covered from the Great Depression through the Great Society! It was fascinating to discover infuences on his life-that of early midwestern upbringing, depression era family dynamics, World War II upheaval and finally the golden age of Hollywood. The book is not all fluff. He touched on the fact that the people who love us the most can still be exploitative. However, it is apparent that he did not develop bitterness, but more of a reflective nature- which is a clear insight into his personality. Perhaps this inner peace is why his singing has a genuine warmth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    Not cool

    I was surprised to be interested in reading this book, but the beginnings of his story drew me in somewhat, so I kept reading. However, as Andy gained success, his storytelling reflected the ego that no doubt helped him get where he did and he obviously lacked the humility of his early years. The vignettes he includes describing others invariably seem to place those others in a more unflattering light than good ol' Andy. Particularly over the top was his telling of June Haver's drunken reveal of her initimate romping with her husband. If she or her husband had written it, that would be one thing, but it is not Andy Williams' place to do so. Was it necessary for him to specify that in his long-term relationship between his two marriages in which they had such a wild time, she was the identified alcoholic? Would these people and the others that he wrote about approve of his sharing these types of details? Obviously he cannot illustrate his positives without contrasting with others' negatives. Not cool.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    Moonriver and Me is a fantastic journey into the Hollywood of Old

    What an enjoyable read from the first page to the last. Humorously written with lots of heart and stories of iconic politicians and Hollywood stars of old...Bing Crosby, Frank Sinatra, Bobby Kennedy, Ronald Reagan and more. This book is for anybody that wants to take a trip back in time with one of the classy guys in show business.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My Heart still Pitter Patters for Andy

    This is a very interesting read because Andy Williams managed to keep his private life out of the media...even at the height of his career. The only time that anything was said about him was during the trial of his first wife.
    His persistance to make something of himself in the music world has given us a crooner of the quality of Frank Sinatra, Perry Como and Tony Bennet. He has reached many a woman's heart and soul through that beautiful baritone voice.
    I am so glad that Andy Williams opened his private world and let us in for a glimpse of an American icon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Andy's songs are always in the background

    Have always enjoyed Andy William's music. very interesting to read about his life and his journey in the music world. While reading, i can imagine his voice relating the words and the tunes of his songs. Don't usually read bios, but enjoyed this one and will recommend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable Autobiography of a Pop Icon

    As I was reading this pleasant retelling of Andy Williams's life, I was reminded of the huge inventory of hits the smooth-voiced singer had in his day. Though the book is a bit bland and "vanilla", it effectively tracks his career from his childhood as part of the Williams Brothers quartet through his difficult times as a solo artist singing in half-empty dives to the enormous success (and wealth) he found as a television and recording star. I'd like to think Mr. Williams left out some juicy details, but then I suspect there really aren't any, and he is exactly as he seems - a sweet-natured midwestern boy with a pleasing voice and manner who made it into the big time - with just a few sacrifices along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    A Very Good Book & Easy to Read

    I never heard any of Andy Williams' songs until recently. I bought his book even though I seldom buy anyone's autobiography. His ghost writer did a great job. The book was very easy to read and a real page turner. I thought Mr. Williams' book was brutally honest and reflective. He recounted his life story without trashing anyone. I would highly recommend this book to fans and non-fans of Andy Williams.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Great gift especially for fans of AW age

    I bought this for my parents after hearing Andy Williams interviewed on NPR. Andy Williams supported Robert Kennedy for president and was there in California when RFK was assassinated. My parents also were supporters, so that passage was especially touching to them. They felt the book was surprisingly good and not as shallow as many celebrity autobiographies, plus it really reflected the time the Andy Williams was at his most popular, and showed him to be a fairly well grounded person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    Don't Bother!

    This so called autobiography is without factual merit, many misstatements and much self agrandizement. Don't waste your money!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2