BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Moon Shines Down

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    A Delightful Journey Around The World

    I am very excited to be adding The Moon Shines Down to our family library. By the author of Goodnight Moon, this manuscript lay hidden in a Vermont attic until its recent discovery and subsequent publishing.<BR/><BR/>The Moon Shines Down tells, in rhyme form, of little boys and girls around the world, and asks God¿s blessing on them and on the reader. I found this book particularly endearing since I have a great love for foreign cultures and want my children to grow to love such cultures as well. It will be perfect to read with my toddler as a first introduction to children in other countries.<BR/><BR/>I like the large format of The Moon Shines Down, which gives plenty of room for the colorful and endearing illustrations of things like the Dutch boy in the land of cheese and cream, the children asleep in the Swiss Alps, the Chinese countryside, a French country village, kangaroos in Australia, or the plains of Africa.<BR/><BR/>Towards the end, the book returns to ¿our own country¿, at Christmastime, with scenes of New York-type brownstones, and a New England village decked for the holidays, asking once again that God would bless the children in every country, bless the moon, and bless me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A fabulous additional to the bedtime bookshelf

    Honestly, this is probably one of the best children's books I have ever had the privilege to read. It has a wonderful rhythm that is reminiscent of her most well known and loved book "Goodnight Moon". But this book is so much more than that. This story has longer stanzas per page and is perfect for a read-to or a learning-to-read story. It is short enough for nap or bedtime, and long enough to be a one book night and to cause conversations and questions. The moon shines down on all the world, and this book is an educational tool to teach about the people and some animals around all the world.<BR/><BR/>For me this book is an absolute winner and I am so grateful that it was found and plan that my entire family should have a copy of their own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Ivyheart

    Yes?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book

    I think this is the perfect book to read to a child. My 6 month old daughter loves it. It's an easy read with bright colorful pictures. I first found this book while I was at work (I'm a childrens home care nurse). I had to search to find out the title. My only disappointment is that it's not available in the stores and only in one size. Everyone is familiar with Goodnight Moon, but this treasure is hidden in a warehouse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Mom's Choice Awards Recipient!

    The Moon Shines Down is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award. The Mom's Choice Awards honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of PBS's Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, New York Times best-selling Author; LeAnn Thieman, motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books; and Tara Paterson, Certified Parent Coach and founder of the Mom's Choice Awards. Parents and educators look for the Mom's Choice Awards seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    Moon does shine.

    The Moon Shines down by Margaret Wise

    From the author of the hugely popular Goodnight Moon.
    This is sure to be a classic snf just as popular, the main character is cute and instantly loveable. You find yourself looking for him on every page just to see what he is up to.
    This previously lost Manuscript will delight readers of all ages and based on the New England Prayer "God bless the moon and god bless me".
    Follow along with the cutest Koala ever drawn as he travels the world spreading his love.
    He is showing everyone is the same underneath and just as loved by God.
    This easy to read book will inspire children all over the world to want to follow along and then read the book themselves.
    The Illustrations by Linda Bleck are charming, capturing the spirit of the written word and expressing them in visual splendor. Each pciture illustrates what country the Koala is in without even needing to read the words, which makes this great for those children that can not yet read.
    The Illustrations are colorful and full of life. Readers everywhere will smile over seeing the litte joey kangaroo hplding his tail due to the brambles, with mother kangaroo looking on with a comforting look.
    The Lizards, toucans, lions and elephants will have children asking to see the pictures again as they each have their own personality shine through.
    Personally I found the story compelling and wanting me to continue on to find where the Koala would travel next and which part of that country would be commented on.
    The story is heart warming and very reassuring to all those that believe that god loves everyone no matter where or who they are. The fact that this book sat around for 50 plus years in a trunk unseen is amaxing by the fact it was still in tact. It is only now being published makes it that much more special. To me it feels like a true gift from the author to her fans even though she is no longer with us.
    After reading this book several times I can hear myself reciting the lines of the book in my head, they do rhyme. Some are funny or sill and others are just words of love expressed in many ways. But each page expresses the love the author obviously feels for the children and the world in general.
    If I had to choose any one picture book for this year, I would choose to add this one to my collection so I can enjoy it for many years to come.
    It is a great gift for a young child who enjoys enthralling pictures, written words they can recite and a story that will help them sleep. To buy this book for a child in your life would be showing that child you love them.
    This is one book I would love to have each page framed and put up on my wall, the combinations of Brown and Bleck is a perfect mesh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    kindredthought.blogspot.com

    The Moon Shines Down<BR/>by Margaret Wise Brown, illustrated by Linda Bleck<BR/>Thomas Nelson, 2008<BR/><BR/>Margaret Wise Brown, beloved author of Goodnight Moon, passed away 56 years ago ¿ but not before she began writing a charming new story. The unpublished manuscript for The Moon Shines Down was found in an old trunk and completed by talented children's book publisher, Laura Minchew. Now this wonderful book is available to add to your collection and is sure to be a hit!<BR/><BR/>The Moon Shines Down is based on the New England sampler prayer, ¿God Bless the Moon and God Bless Me,¿ which makes it even more of a special bedtime read for me and my daughter. The words are soothing and poetical and the whimsical paintings draw you in ¿ I felt compelled to take in every detail and enjoy the atmosphere of each picture.<BR/><BR/>Upon opening The Moon Shines Down to the first page, I was greeted by a spotted cow happily munching on a red tulip in the moonlight. We can peer into a window, lace curtains brushed aside by the breeze, and spy a blond little boy peacefully sleeping in his bed, a half smile on his face. The scene is adorable, and so are the scenes that follow!<BR/><BR/>In Switzerland<BR/>Where the cowbells ring,<BR/>The Moon shines down<BR/>And the Nightingales sing.<BR/>The mountains rise<BR/>Into moonlit skies,<BR/>And the children dream of edelweiss.<BR/><BR/>We continue along to visit children in the Swiss Country, the Far, Far East, Mexico, France, Australia, England, and all over the world, being reminded that the moon shines down on them as well as us, and even in the ocean deep.<BR/><BR/>This timeless children¿s story will definitely be a favorite in our family! Who wouldn¿t want to gently drift to sleep to these soothing words:<BR/><BR/>I see the Moon<BR/>And the Moon sees me.<BR/>God bless the Moon.<BR/>And God bless me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    Wonderful story

    Today, I read my children ¿The moon shines down¿. My boys are 7 and 2. They were fascinated by it. The illustrations are colorful and fit the story perfectly. They had fun looking for the Koala on every page. There are a variety of animals for kids to look at. Some they had never heard of, and so we went online to look them up. As a mother, I appreciated the diversity of the children, and the different countries that are portrayed in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    A New Found Treasure from Margaret Wise Brown

    When my kids were younger, we used to read them books such as "Goodnight Moon" and "Runaway Bunny" by Margaret Wise Brown. There was something special about those stories. Their charm was in their simplicity and Ms. Brown¿s ability to say so much with so few words. We¿d read them so often that pretty soon we¿d have the entire book memorized. No matter how many times we read them, our girls never got tired of them.<BR/><BR/>Fans of Ms. Brown¿s work will be thrilled to learn that over fifty years after her untimely death, a once lost manuscript has now been published. "The Moon Shines Down" is based on the New England sampler prayer ¿God Bless the Moon and God Bless Me¿ and evokes memories of her earlier works. Reading the book for the first time, I was reminded of the many times that I had read her other books to my children. The cadence of the rhymes brought back memories similar to reuniting with a long lost friend.<BR/><BR/>Adding to the story¿s charm are the wonderful illustrations by Linda Bleck. Like previous illustrators of Ms. Brown¿s books (especially Clement Hurd, who illustrated both "Goodnight Moon" and "Runaway Bunny"), Ms. Bleck weaves into her illustrations numerous elements from the story which add to the impact of the text. The illustrations are bold and use bright colors which are sure to be of tremendous appeal to younger readers. <BR/><BR/>Any parent who either grew up with or has had children grow up with Ms. Brown¿s books will be sure to be charmed by "The Moon Shines Down". I am sure that it will soon be seen on bookshelves everywhere perched right next to her other classic bedtime stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1