Customer Reviews for

Moon Shot: The Inside Story of America's Apollo Moon Landings

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good history from a pioneer

I read this when it first came out. It's a great inside look at the early space program up through Apollo 14 (Shepard's last flight). This was also the basis for a TBS series in the early 90's. Interesting read, recommended to any that like space.

posted by rfortson on July 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

No New Details or Stories - Book Falls Flat

"Moon Shot" tells the story of NASA's attempt to get to the moon from the perspectives of Al Shepard and Deke Slayton, two of the original Mercury 7 astronauts. Although I find the recollections enjoyable, it's nothing I haven't read before. There is no information or a...
"Moon Shot" tells the story of NASA's attempt to get to the moon from the perspectives of Al Shepard and Deke Slayton, two of the original Mercury 7 astronauts. Although I find the recollections enjoyable, it's nothing I haven't read before. There is no information or anecdotes in this book that aren't covered in the plethora of other books and documentaries about the space program. Also, no events or topics are covered in enough detail, and are usually washed over in a few pages. I often wanted to hear more about particular events, only to be let down when the author moves on to a new topic. I imagine this book would be much better if you knew nothing about NASA.

If you want to read a great book about the glory days of the US Space program, read "Failure is Not an Option" by Gene Krantz.

posted by Mr_Kandyman on August 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Good history from a pioneer

    I read this when it first came out. It's a great inside look at the early space program up through Apollo 14 (Shepard's last flight). This was also the basis for a TBS series in the early 90's.

    Interesting read, recommended to any that like space.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    No New Details or Stories - Book Falls Flat

    "Moon Shot" tells the story of NASA's attempt to get to the moon from the perspectives of Al Shepard and Deke Slayton, two of the original Mercury 7 astronauts. Although I find the recollections enjoyable, it's nothing I haven't read before. There is no information or anecdotes in this book that aren't covered in the plethora of other books and documentaries about the space program. Also, no events or topics are covered in enough detail, and are usually washed over in a few pages. I often wanted to hear more about particular events, only to be let down when the author moves on to a new topic. I imagine this book would be much better if you knew nothing about NASA.

    If you want to read a great book about the glory days of the US Space program, read "Failure is Not an Option" by Gene Krantz.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    Highly recommended- a great entertaining and formative account of recent history

    I grew up during the years of the United States' developing space program and it's race against the Russians, but this book added so much more information than I could have ever read in newspapers and magazines at that time. It is excellent reading and hard to put down! Many of the events featured were told in incredible details. I can highly recommend this book for anyone who is somewhat familiar with the past events in the U.S. space program, or who knows very little. Great entertainment and very informative!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Great read

    I have followed America's space program since the days of Mercury. This book offers insight from two who were there from the beginning through the end of Apollo. The descriptions offered of sitting on the launch pad, of walking on the moon, and of just experiencing first-hand space travel were enthralling. I recommend this to anyone who grew up with the space program, and to those who are discovering it for the first time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Good

    Good read, learned a lot about the history and people that founded Americas space program.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2014

    This is a great read!

    If you remember anything about the original Mercury astronauts, or if you just want to know why us old folks get so excited reminissing about it, you have to read this book. You get a real feel for the people, and you learn a lot of detail that you may have missed in the 60's and 70's when many of the events happened. i highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Ikaros

    She looked around.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Madi

    Waits

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Waterclover TO ALL

    This meeting will be moved to 'moonpool'

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    SPOTTEDPAW TO ALL

    The meetig is at moonpool!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    I refuse to attend this meeting

    It should be at the true Moonpool at 'moonpool' res and it is /NOT/ the half moon! I will die before I attend a meeting not set up by Starclan themselves.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Silentfoot

    The lone medicine cat pads in, her green eyes flicking around. "I don't know why the MOONPOOL meeting is here when the MOONPOOL is at 'moonpool' only res," she mutters, sitting down by herself next to a bush.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Rippleclaw

    The starclan ca waited

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    To All

    Monpool at moonpool only result! Firekit and Twilightpaw of StarClan.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Jason to lkaros

    We building base at moon base res two. See ya there if you arnt inactive.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    SoftShine

    "They're right." She padded back, to wait for half moon, and go to moonpool.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Two kits

    Mew and stumble around each other. The stormy gray one opens his eyes for the first time and reveals deep blue eyes. He blinks them a few times and looks around at the den. The light gray one keeps her eyes closed for now.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Frostbite

    She curled up in her nest her stomach heavily swolen now

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Griffinstar

    Come to light clan thornfall

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Wolfpelt

    We act like it is. So, if youre locked out, you left for a time. And when we were arguing, I called you a deserter because being locked out is like leaving. Sorry about it. I really, really am. Im just sort of combative.)) He leaves the nursery.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3