Customer Reviews for

Moon Spell (The Tale of Lunarmorte #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great blend of Mythology & Supernatural

Entwining Greek Mythology and the supernatural comes easy to Ms. Young. Moon Spell is a wonderful combination of both and kept me flipping these pages. I had a little trouble with the beginning but as we voracious readers know, the first book in a series slams you with ...
Entwining Greek Mythology and the supernatural comes easy to Ms. Young. Moon Spell is a wonderful combination of both and kept me flipping these pages. I had a little trouble with the beginning but as we voracious readers know, the first book in a series slams you with the entire history to bring us up to speed for future books.
Young's heroine is Caia who has lived separate for her pack called, Pack Errante. She has been protected until she is ready to face her destiny. Now that Lucian has killed The Hunter (who eradicated Caia's family) and assumed the Alpha position it is time to bring her back and face their future together.

Caia does her best to integrate back into the pack and Lucian believes that she will connect better if she attends a semester of school with lykans her own age. Caia is not a normal lykan, however. There is something very different about her and Lucian knows. He also knows that they are destined to be together and the sizzle between them is palpable every time they are in the same room (HOT, HOT, HOT). Lucian is very Alpha and sometimes that gets him in trouble with the VERY independent Caia. Young's supporting cast of characters make for some great reading. Sebastian, who is also falling in love with Caia, is such a sweety!! Caia also starts to realize what she has been missing out her entire life. She may be independent but she has always dreamed about having a family.

Things are not safe for Caia. Her uncle, who is now very aware that she is still alive, wants her dead. Because of Caia's mixed heritage, she is a HUGE threat to her uncle and he will stop at nothing to see her dead. At the same time, Caia is coming into her special powers and realizing how powerful she really is.

The twists and turns leave you breathless and anticipating the climax. Caia's growth from a quite, reserved little girl into a strong, powerful woman equal to her Alpha is intense and dramatic and flows naturally throughout this book. Moon Spell is worth the read and you will fall in love with Young's characters, evil and good. I look forward to this story continuing.

posted by kopsahl on June 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Get an editor

So boring, it took me ages to finish, with one dimensional characters and plenty of spelling, grammar mistakes and repetitions that were contradictory. The writing read like a school project written by a 12 year old with constant changes in perspective in the middle of ...
So boring, it took me ages to finish, with one dimensional characters and plenty of spelling, grammar mistakes and repetitions that were contradictory. The writing read like a school project written by a 12 year old with constant changes in perspective in the middle of a paragraph that made following the story a nightmare.

posted by CynthiaLA on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow!!!

    A seriously amazing series! Samantha Young is a brilliantly imaginative author that has created characters that will take up permanent residence in your heart. Captivating! Don't miss out on this great adventure. I'm half way through River Cast and I have to say that the second book is blowing me away so far. Can't wait to finish it and devour the rest of her books! Why oh why haven't I heard her name before?!?!?!?!? I must note that there are a few editing issues here and there but not enough to take away from this great read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    MUST READ!!!

    i really like this book. its pretty awesome, so you should give it a try

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    Brilliant start to a series!

    Moon Spell is a romantic fantasy with a feisty heroine, sexy alpha hero, and a wonderful mythology that pulls you in from the very first page. Not only do I love the plot to Moon Spell, which had sprinkles of true uniqueness throughout it, but I love the characters. Caia is a girl who starts off as quite reserved and then as she's taken through all the twists and turns (and there are many!) of rejoining the pack and discovering who she really is, she develops into this strong young woman who knows her own mind. The pack itself are full of wonderful, rambunctious, funny characters, and you really do forget that they're not real as you're reading about them. Finally I just loved the way Young uses Greek mythology to explain the existence of supernaturals, very different and exciting.
    Now I can't wait for the next installment.

    Pure escapism and a young adult novel for older readers too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    #brandygirlluvs2read

    I buy my books by the reviews if they are a one i keep going simply b/c book people kno whats what #gettindownw/thegetdown

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love werewolf stories and this was a fantastic one! Moon Spell

    I love werewolf stories and this was a fantastic one! Moon Spell is somewhat different and fun.

    Caia is returning to her pack after being away from them for ten years. Most of the pack welcomes her home while others want nothing to do with her. She has a difficult time adjusting to living with the pack again. Then Caia finds out the she is half lykan and half magik. There are secrets, a love triangle and a war going on to add to the mix.

    I loved Lucien, I mean who wouldn't? He is the hot alpha male leader and did I mention he is hot? LOL The tension between him and Caia builds up throughout the book and then... well you'll have to read to find out. Caia is a kick butt kinda girl. She stands up for herself and her friends. She doesn't take crap from anyone, even Lucien. I also really like Sebastian, he is a really good guy and a great friend to Caia. Saffron, the fairy, loved her. She was so funny and just kinda popped up with these one liners. All the characters were well written, these were just some of my favorites.

    The author really brought this story to life. I connected with the characters right from the start. Once I started reading it, I didn't want to stop. I love how the author brought so many things to this book. There are different paranormal/mythical creatures, mythology, romance, suspense and humor. I liked how it took some time for things to build up, it just made the story more fun to read. I cannot wait to see what happens next!

    This e-book was given to me for review. This did not affect my review in any way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    So, I personally love books like this that start off having you

    So, I personally love books like this that start off having you so incredibly confused, but end up with you so enamored that you can't put them down.


    I am a HUGE Fan of Caia, the poor girl has so much going through her head. She is with a pack and has no idea how to be a part of a pack, so has an undeniable attraction for the Alpha who she doesn't really want anything to do with, and people keep on saying weird things about her being different.


    I loved the flaws between Caia and Lucien. Both of them make so many mistakes whether it be saying the wrong thing, doing the wrong thing, or just being plain idiots, lol.


    The supporting cast is great, and you really get involved in everyone else's relationships too.


    As the plot unfolds, you enter a world which is segregated between the Daylights and the Midnights. I really enjoyed the action, drama, and of course romance in this one. Can't wait to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Anonymous

    I absolutely loved this book!! I can't wait until book #2!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Blue sky

    Really enjoyed this book i was only disappointed that they didn't end up together but i see a future story i hope

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Ok

    5 stars ok book not my favorite i was quite confused about the plot on sime chaptere

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Amazing!!!!!

    This book was amazing and sovare the others finished them in week!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Loved it

    What a great book, loved all three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Loved it

    Couldnt put it down. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    Definitely a good read.

    i read all 3 books in about 5 days. couldn't put them down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Fab!

    This is a great book - thoroughly enjoyed it and the other two in the Lunarmorte trilogy. Looking forward to more exciting stuff from this young author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    AH-MAZING!!!

    since the first page i immediatly feel in love with this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    Highly Recommend!

    Just finished reading entire trilogy and I was completely hooked. Great story, great characters, great writing! A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING!

    This book was amazing. I couldn't put it down. It's well written and it tells a believable tale to readers. I can wait to read the other books of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3