Customer Reviews for

Moon Tiger

Average Rating 3.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    Insightful novel about human realtionships

    I loved this book. The main character is unapologetically unconvential. The author shows that what we think of ourselves is uniquely our own view. No one can experience life as we see it. Similiarly, as well as we know others, we will never know everytning about them. One of my new favorite authors.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another wonderful story from Ms. Lively

    An observation made over the years is that serious readers have their favorite authors. Penelope Lively has shoved her way onto my favorite list - right near the top. This is writing that you do not forget after the last page has been turned; her characters, writing style, and originality stay with you for a long time. Comparisons to people and circumstances we know are frequent - with the added dimension of nuanced insight. Penelope Lively is a very gifted writer and a pleasure to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2000

    History's narrative

    This novel was wonderfully written and evokes many different emotions within the reader. What begins as a story of Claudia Hamilton's life, the reader is introduced to a character with a strong personality that touches many different levels of interpretation and interaction. I liked Claudia's strong will, set personality, and the interesting chain of relationships that she develops. The way history is woven, her personal story, draws the reader in. In the beginning, the nurses wonder if this woman was ever 'somebody.' As we dig further into the story we realize that Claudia was a woman with many facets, sure of herself and intimidating to many. In my opinion, the character of her daughter Lisa, who always seems to see herself as a complete opposite of Claudia, seems to me in some ways similar in many ways. The fact that Lisa never reveals the identity of Paul to her mother begins to reveal, in my mind, a side to Lisa's personality that would have made Claudia see a bit of herself in her daughter. Sylvia even envied Claudia. The strength of her personality seems to overshadow many of the weaker personalities around her. The relationship between Gordon and herself was intriguing for many reasons. The fact that she keeps her relationship with Tom to herself also touched me, because there are some parts of our lives, some details so intimate and personal, that to try to explain them or share them seems to diminish their very essence. The thing that seems to strike me most is the way that throughout the story of history, the one detail that will never change, our one constant, is that the story of life goes on with or without us, some having changed or been made better or worse having known us. All we can do is try to make an impression on those we know, to live on in memory, value our accomplishments and company, and let people know that we are 'somebody' in this world. Time is fleeting, as is youth, but the beauty of Claudia's story, and the characters that she interacts with, are far from fleeting. 'Moon Tiger' is a wonderful read that speaks volumes about the narrative that we call history! The structure of writing is cleverly put together. I like the way her chronology jumps. It never gets too scattered to the point of confusion, but allows the reader to follow the flow of her memories, which after all, is all history is--a bunch of memories and facts written down. Some is embellished, some diminished, an interpretation, left for others to either believe or not. This was an excellent book that made me appreciate Claudia's version of history and the realization that where her story stops, a thousand more begin!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    Gorgeously & Luminously Written. Brava!

    Penelope Lively has written heart-wrenching and deeply moving books before ('Passing On' for example) but 'Moon Tiger' is to this date her masterpiece. An immensely engaging novel, rich with perfect language and heart stopping emotions. I recommend this book to the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Interesting and Got Me Thinking

    Moon Tiger is the journey of an elderly, dying woman looking back on her life with cleverly inserted stories told by her children and friends at various stages. It brings to light the different perspectives we each have of ourselves and of those we interact with over the years. How different our understandings are sometimes! As an independent female war journalist in the early decades of the 20th century, the main character is a fascinating woman of the sort that led the way to the feminist movement that followed. Her travels and love in the trenches keep the story moving and the character of Claudia, who seems shallow and self-centered at the beginning, becomes an admirable woman at the end. This book has made me think about how all the parts and pieces of my life will eventually fit together.....an interesting proposition to consider.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    I would not recommend this book!

    This is a very strange book, one lady war corresponite making a review.the neglect of her only child was not natural....Just not my style, I only bought because my name is Lively by Marriage now i know they must all be strange

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Atavistic

    The writer loved this word. Appeared at least five times.

    Rather enjoyable story most of the time. I found the ending, however, not well conceived. Could have been omitted.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This is a book you will not easily forget.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1