Customer Reviews for

Moon Over Edisto

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    If I could get away with it, this would be a three-word post: Re

    If I could get away with it, this would be a three-word post: Read this book.

    Seriously, this may be one of the best books I've read in awhile. This author proves good writers can craft a book that contains the common elements of a dysfunctional family, a tough choice (or choices), and relationships without the raunchy sex scenes, unnecessary foul language, backstabbing, or anything else that can ruin an otherwise good book.

    I feel like can't give too many details about the plot because that will spoil it. However, I can say each chapter is told from one person's point of view, changing among five of the characters.

    An unexpected consequence of reading this book: I really want to take a cooking class now to learn how to make a bunch of Southern classics.

    The bottom line is you can't go wrong with this book, and I look forward to reading others by Beth Webb Hart.

    Note: I received a review copy of this book from the publisher, Thomas Nelson.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Moon Over Edisto by Beth Webb Hart is a stand-alone novel that b

    Moon Over Edisto by Beth Webb Hart is a stand-alone novel that beautifully captures the sights, smells and tastes of South Carolina's Lowcountry as the backdrop for this complex and moving drama involving the dysfunctional Bennett family. My attention was captured from the very beginning of this well-written novel.

    I was drawn to this story because it seemed to fit two of my interests - southern fiction and relationship drama - and it certainly did not disappoint. South Carolina's Lowcountry and Edisto Island are so vividly described and become such an integral part of the story that they are elevated to character status - traditional southern cuisine, the Ravenel bridge, salt marshes, winding streams, and "massive live oaks, their Spanish moss waving in the light evening breeze from the creek."

    This story is all about the Bennett family, a family Julia describes as "Southern Gothic Dysfunction." Instead of looking at how a seemingly loving marriage disintegrated, Moon Over Edisto focuses on the lingering effects of betrayal and desertion on the ones left behind, for it's always the innocent who are most affected.

    Characterization is rich and complex. The older sister, Julia, tried to cope by running away and starting a new life in New York, though often haunted by panic attacks and bouts of depression. Meg - feeling that her father was a fool, while her mother had no clue - became harsh and legalistic, wanting justice for the guilty ones rather than grace, to the extent that her own marriage was threatened. Meg "realized how very worn out she was. How exhausting it was to wear her masks, to build her reputation, to prove to the world day in and day out that even though her parents were fools, she was not. She was a responsible, morally upstanding citizen. She could be counted upon. She was worthy of admiration. She would not shame her husband or falter in any way. She had the blessed life, and she would not squander it. Or would she?"

    The three children from their father's other family simply captured my heart, especially Etta, who only talks to her little brother. I love how Beth uses art in this narrative, as Julia and Etta discover a shared talent. One day, Julia sees Etta's sketch of their father: "This young girl had captured something true about him. Something in his rich brown eyes that could only be described as love. How could someone with eyes like that cause so much damage?"

    Although the ending is upbeat and satisfying, this is not a story where everything is tied up neatly, nor should it be. If I wished for anything, it would be a longer ending, but that in no way detracts from this powerful novel. There is a strong spiritual message, but rather than being overt, it is embedded in Julia's heart and actions. Julia's character occasionally uses the phrase, "Lord have mercy, Christ have mercy," and these words seem to have so much more feeling and depth at the end.

    I am so glad that I discovered Beth Webb Hart's work. Moon Over Edisto is a very moving novel with great depth, and I recommend it highly. I suspect many readers, especially those touched by divorce, will find that this story speaks to them.

    This book was provided by Thomas Nelson through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Moon Over Edisto by Beth Webb Hart is a sweet story ¿ a very swe

    Moon Over Edisto by Beth Webb Hart is a sweet story – a very sweet story. You smile all the way through it with the characters. They’re good people, good fictional characters, just facing circumstances that they were not expecting.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Loved it!

    Great story!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    How do you get a free copy for review.?

    Where do you get copy, on nook or hard copy? Is it random raffle or do you sign up? Am not use to all this electronics and barely function on pc since windows. Nook was a gift for my 85 birthday since no longer make it out to library and depend on reserve and systems for books. I am not the only one who says their one star reviews are never printed. I asked my daughter to look for my review on best sellers and they arent there or hers. Mrs B of Wis.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Frozenmoon

    Name- frozenmoon. Age-16 moons. Rank-queen. Looks- silver furred shecat with white under bellie, and white tabby striped leggs, gray eyes.

    1 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    As I started this book, I have to admit that I was not sure if I

    As I started this book, I have to admit that I was not sure if I would like it. There are some very serious hurts that are being dealt with in this book. But as I read on, I discovered that I did not want to put this book down. The author did a great job of telling this story through the different perspectives of the characters in this book. The book delves into infidelity, desertion, desire for love and family, injustice, anger and hurt. We view much of the book through Julia's eyes, the oldest sister in a family that was destroyed by a father's infidelity and desertion. We also view events through her younger sister, Meg's, eyes. There is a lot of anger there. We see Julia's mom, Mary Ellen's, side of the story and view how her life has been for the past twenty years. We view part of the story from Jed's viewpoint. Jed is a neighbor and was Julia's first kiss. Finally, we get a child's perspective through Etta, who is one of the children from Julia's father's second marriage. This book is so interesting and I felt very emotional reading it. I really enjoyed the book, however, I felt it ended a little abruptly. I would have liked another chapter or two, or maybe an epilogue to really feel that the conclusion of the book lived up to the rest of the story. I received a copy of this book from Thomas Nelson through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Moon Over Edisto Beth Webb Hart ©2013 Thomas Nelson Publisher I

    Moon Over Edisto
    Beth Webb Hart ©2013
    Thomas Nelson Publisher
    ISBN9781595542021
    320 pp. pppbk.

    Julia’s best friend, Marney, shattered the family when she married Julia’s Dad and had three children. Julia’s sister, Meg, has never recovered and works desperately to be a perfect wife, mother and community leader. Julia’s Mom finally is beginning a new life.
    Julia is expecting a new job, a summer in Budapest lecturing on art, and new life for her own art work. She’s engaged to marry an art dealer who has given her a huge engagement ring. But what will she do about Jed?

    Now Marney is ill and needs help, so asks for Julia. How will all the family cope, including elderly Aunt Dora? And will the family ever be restored again? Maybe, but sadly only after the source of conflict is forever gone, leaving three orphans.

    Set in beautiful North Carolina, Beth Webb Hart’s story is compulsive reading with characters readers will care about, including Marney. How everyone finally copes is surprising and satisfying, although I wish the two main characters, the romance figures, showed more than a superficial Christianity. And I wasn’t convinced that Julia’s motivation for change showed the necessary depth for such an important and sudden decision. Nevertheless, an enjoyable story.


    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Midnight to Blue

    She pads in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Lily

    She growled. "WHAT, Bluemoon?" (Mignight, i'll get u later. Can u leave for two min?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Bluemoon

    Forget this i will get you at macbeth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Touching story!

    A truly touching story about heartbreak, family, betrayal and, ultimately, forgiveness!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Boring

    Boring read only about forty pages hoping it would get better. No such luck

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Really enjoyed this

    It was a little slow at first but just as I was about to put it down and switch to another book it got my attention and I didn't want to put it down. I couldn't wait to get back to it. I'm just wondering if there is a book following that picks up the storyline? it could easily happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    I loved this book and could not put it down!

    I loved this book and could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    This is a nice story with believable characters. Moves between c

    This is a nice story with believable characters. Moves between characters with the chapters. Julia whose parents' marriage breaks up when her best friend and Julia's father fall in love. After 20 years her father is dead and her former best friend has cancer. Julia ends up watching their 3 young children on Edisto Island. She is engaged when she meets her old boyfriend again. A nice ending after complications for Julia and her mother and sister and especially her former friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    A Great Read!

    Very enjoyable story, nostalgic, romantic and a few surpeises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Recommend

    Very slow beginning and had trouble figuring out all of the characters. However, after I got into it, I enjoyed it immensely. A lesson in doing what is right even when it is difficult or makes you reevaluate your beliefs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2013

    Good story !!!

    Good story of family love, heartache and redemption over the years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Recommended

    Very good. I recommend it to others, and I would read it again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3