BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Moon Over Edisto

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 30 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    87

    9fm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Exciting

    Exciting because has lot of detales

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Yyytgftyy

    Efyyghuytthhugtyuehuuyghuihhkiuyyyuhhjjjjjuiughiufjiuthjiugkltjdfefdwqdhjkolmmjhggghggfdxzzgm...mnnjl.poojhujhffhbfssxhnnnnmkmklopp
    N
    B

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Good

    Thus book is so good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Jamie.d

    Hi.chat?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    While reading "Moon Over Edisto" my emotions ran the g

    While reading "Moon Over Edisto" my emotions ran the gauntlet and I enjoyed every word!  Julia's father, Charles, abandoned their family to wed a friend of hers, Marley, who visited their home in Edisto Beach, South Carolina every summer.  It is a betrayal that affects each member of the family, mother Mary Ellen, sister Meg, and Julia in their own separate ways.  The mistake of a beloved lawyer and artist in a small town had repercussions beyond their own family, as well.  In time, Charles and Marley had three children; Marley was pregnant with the youngest when Charles had a heart attack and died.  The family had kept to themselves in the summer home of Julia's childhood, having all but the entire town turn its back on them save Charles' elder sister Dot.  Four years later, Marley needs Julia's help with her children as she has to undergo an operation to remove cancer from her lungs.
    Julia has thought she has left her old life behind.  She packed up and left for New York City becoming a successful artist, a talent she inherited from her father.  She's on the fast track to a wonderful future.  Engaged to successful English art dealer who has brought her many connections to the academic art world, she is to leave for a teaching assignment in Budapest when Marley comes to town.  Aunt Dot persuades her that it will only be for a short time and then she can resume her life again.  Of course, plans can't be that simple!
    This book follows a different writing format.  Each chapter is written from the eyes of a major character in the book.  Each character becomes just as close to you as the main character of Julia.  The story unfolds further with every chapter as you read each point of view.  Even though I have never experienced anything quite like Julia's life, I found I was able to understand and validate each character's emotions in some way.  Mary Ellen's happy world came tumbling down when the love of her life abruptly walked away.  Charles took away her children from her as well, with Julia moving states away and Meg staying in town yet becoming increasingly distant.  Meg felt resentful towards her mother for not fighting to keep the family together and hatred for her sister who brought the home wrecker into their lives.  Julia only wanted to run away from her past and never meet it head long despite the physical pains she endured, such as depression and anxiety attacks.  She also longed for her family to be complete again and build the loving relationship she once had with her mother and sister.
    It is easy to place yourself in Julia's shoes.  Would you want to be a caregiver to your father's children, your half siblings, whom he had with a woman your own age?  It would be a difficult decision to make.  Do you place the well being of innocent children before your own desires no matter how painful accepting the realities of the past can be?  Aunt Dot placed a foundation of God and church in the hearts of Julia and Meg when they were children.  Are those truths still relevant in Julia's life even though she hasn't thought to pray in years?
    I loved reading this book because of the in depth detail of the South Carolina lowcountry.  If you read it, you will see why I was blessed to grow up around water and now blessed to live in that same lowcountry!  The slow Southern lifestyle is a joy to read about, especially the food that was devoured.  The only con of the book is that there are no recipes in the back pages!  This is one of the best books I have read in a long while.  Mrs. Hart brings you into the intimate lives of each character and if you are anything like me, you will feel a deep connection with them all.  Both families are in need of healing; one with closure and the other with acceptance.  God's plan is surely in action! 

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    Life is messy and oftentimes the messiness inflicted on you is t

    Life is messy and oftentimes the messiness inflicted on you is the result of others’ actions. Several years before this story takes place Julia’s father made a very messy decision. This decision shattered many lives and the cracks kept appearing even after he was gone. His actions set into motion repercussions for both of his families.

    Julia has spent many years isolating herself from all of the pain and mess of her family. But sometimes there are journeys that we need to take. It may see as if we are doing something for someone else, but in the end we are the ones that are blessed.
    Beth Webb Hart has once again woven a southern gothic dream (or is it nightmare) of a story. In this novel she allows her main character Julia to face the worst type of betrayal. The situation will have you yelling, NO NO NO…that’s not fair! But we all know that life isn’t fair, it’s about refinement.

    I enjoyed the book so much. Coastal South Carolina is my favorite place to be and Beth puts you right there with the pluff mud between your toes and the salty breezes in your hair. After reading it someone asked me if it was a happy ending. I had to respond that I don’t really know. It wasn’t what Julia had planned, but it was definitely what God had intended all along. It’s a story that leaves you speculating about what all of their lives were like ten years down the road. My bet is that there are lingering consequences but most days are happily ever after. This book is definitely worth purchasing and savoring and then passing along to many others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    Julia Bennett's family fell apart twenty years ago when she brou

    Julia Bennett's family fell apart twenty years ago when she brought her friend home from college. Julia left it all behind her and forged a new life as a Manhattan artist. Her sister Meg lives in deep denial, raising the perfect family and posting it on Facebook; and her mother, Mary Ellen, is still trying to understand what went wrong. But a family emergency has brought about the unthinkable: Julia is going back to Edisto Island to look after her father's second family. Her feelings for three innocent children are stronger than she expected, and a reunion with her first kiss leaves her wondering if it is possible to go home again, after all.



    Moon over Edisto is a beautiful story of a fractured family that is trying to recover from the ultimate betrayal. Each character has been wounded and suffers in her own way. The novel carries the feel and atmosphere of the South: slow, laid-back, and welcoming. It was a difficult book to put down, as each time I tried, I found myself homesick for Edisto Island and wanting to know what happened next.



    Overall, the plot and storyline flow beautifully. A couple of scenes with Simon, Julia's fiancé, seemed like unnecessary filler, but otherwise, it was perfect. The point-of-view shifts between characters, but as it changes with each chapter, and the chapter heading gives the reader advance warning, it is a comfortable shift.



    Although Julia is the main character, they are all equally interesting. I could imagine Mary Ellen, growing older in her small town, still trying to piece together the fragments of her life after being discarded by her husband, and wondering why she was not enough. Meg, at first, irritated me with her self-righteous little perfect world. But as the story progressed and I saw how damaged Meg was by her father's actions, I could not help but feel sorry for her. I also enjoyed a little chuckle when she was updating her Facebook status; this is exactly what so many people seem to do there: they project the life they wish they had and hope everyone believes. And then there is silent little Etta, the secret keeper. It seems that the second family are in need of healing, as well.



    Although this novel is classified as Christian fiction, it is not the typical Scripture-heavy story where everyone skips into the sunset. Not that there's anything wrong with that, but everyone does not care for the style. This is a clean story, but with realistic, modern situations with which the average reader can identify. The Scripture-based themes of forgiveness, healing, and redemption are presented in such a way that represent the Biblical teachings without alienating the non-churchgoing reader.



    Recommended for teens and older.



    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 30 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2