Customer Reviews for

Moonblood (Tales of Goldstone Wood Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    Anne Elizabeth Stengel is a brilliant writer who's stories seem

    Anne Elizabeth Stengel is a brilliant writer who's stories seem to flow
    so exceptionally well that sometimes I forget that I'm reading a work of
    fiction. You can tell that she lives and breathes her characters and
    environments and so much thought goes into her stories that sometimes I
    wonder how she manages to keep it all together! Her books are not
    predicable, I can say that for certain, but I do know that I'm a fan of
    good ol' Prince Aethebald and Eanrin the poet. I perk up anytime I see
    them show up in the story. All in all, I'd recommend this book for
    anyone who wants an intriguing read. :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    I love these books! Moonblood is third in this award-winning ser

    I love these books! Moonblood is third in this award-winning series, and while it *can* be enjoyed alone, readers are advised to read the books in order. (Who would fully enjoy Return of the King without first reading the first two books in LOTR?)
    The author's beautiful writing, keen insight into human motivation, and allegorical touches add depth to an action-filled, unpredictable plot. Dragons, goblins, a unicorn, a poetry-loving tiger, faerie beasts, and the looming presence of Goldstone Wood may all be found within these pages, as well as memorable characters like Prince Lionheart the cowardly hero, Rose Red the captive princess, Vahe the evil goblin king, Dame Imraldera of the mysterious past, and Sir Oeric the goblin knight. Best of all is Sir Eanrin, Knight of Farthestshore, Chief Poet of Iubdan Rudiobus. . .and fluffy orange cat with an enormous ego and sarcastic mouth. Readers will long for further books about these characters!
    These books are clean enough for children to enjoy, although some of the action is intense and might be frightening. Touches of humor lighten the mood, and the overall message is one of hope and grace. A great book and series for the whole family to enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Awesome books!!

    I read the first two books and cannot wait to read this one!! I am only 11 and I actually uunderstand them!!! I love them a lot!! (especially since I love Christian allegories)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    Moonblood is a continuation of Veiled Rose. Prince Lionheart bow

    Moonblood is a continuation of Veiled Rose. Prince Lionheart bows to the demands of fearful people and banishes his only friend, Rose Red to certain doom, nevertheless, he has lost the throne, his father removing him. Now he must face the consequences of his actions as he sets out to redeem himself and rescue you Rose Red.




    Most of the books I read or movies  I watch tend to focus on a story that contain this huge climatic battle and a grand ending of sorts, but we really never revisit the world to see the aftermath, the rebuilding of lives, fields, homes, etc. In Moonblood, we see the aftermath of the Dragon's destruction to Southlands and Parumvir, and how the kingdoms must find a way to rebuild their lives and homes, to figure out how they are going to feed themselves, and replant their fields poisoned by the Dragon's fumes. This struck me as beautiful and deepens, enriches the story.




     Many of our favorite characters return: Sir Eanrin (Teamed up with Lionheart, for those of you who have read Heartless & Veiled Rose will understand the irony!) Rose Red, Beana, Oeric the goblin knight, Prince of Farthestshore, Felix, King Fidel (But no Una), and Dame Imraldera (Which I am so glad to have read Starflower before). 




    I love the creativity of this series, the way the author writes, and how everything is woven together. Such beautiful, poignant stories filled with real characters and fantastical creatures, objects and landscapes. It's a world I want to get lost in over and over, and here's hoping for many books to come!




    Obviously, I can't wait until the next book comes out. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Moonblood reunites some of the fantastic characters from the oth

    Moonblood reunites some of the fantastic characters from the other books and introduces us to some new ones. This book is action packed and will keep you turning the page to find out what happens next. Moonblood is a great book for young adults, boys, girls and those of us that enjoy a well crafted story, no matter what age we are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Awesome read!

    I love every one of these books & can't wait for the 6th to come out. The characters are so unique & the books are well written. Each book deals with a character from one of the previous books, but in their own very complete story! I love the parallels between the bible & this world. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    The best one so far!

    I loved "Heartless" and "Veiled Rose," but "Moonblood" just blew me away! This is the first book of the series to take place mostly in the "Far World," and Stengl's creativity really shines in her descriptions of all the different kingdoms that comprise it. This is the conclusion (for now) of Leo and Rose's story, and while it is a little bittersweet, I found it satisfying. Also...Eanrin/Monster is one of the main characters in this book!!!! Being a cat lover, I just have to grin at everything he says and does! All of the characters have found their way into my heart by now, and I will definitely be reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    This series just keeps getting better! In Moonblood, the third b

    This series just keeps getting better! In Moonblood, the third book in the Tales of Goldstone Wood, Rose Red is held captive in her father’s realm, Arpiar, and Lionheart is searching for her, hoping to redeem himself after banishing her from the near world. Prince Felix, Una’s little brother re-enters the story and we catch up on how he is faring after leaving the Haven still contaminated with dragon poison. Side stories start to weave together as the author spins her tale in this entertaining story and we learn more about the legends of Goldstone Woods. New characters are introduced in a way that adds depth to the original storyline. 

    Anne Elisabeth Stengyl is a master of allegory. I’ve said it before but it bears repeating, her use of the Prince of Farthestshore as an allegory of Christ and the dragon as a symbol of evil are one of my favorites! Prince Lionheart demonstrates the power of redemption as he seeks to right the mistakes of his past. With so many young adult books out there filled with death and violence, this story provides an alternative without losing any of the adventure and mystery of a good fantasy story. Moonblood is Christian fantasy at its finest.

    Creative and engaging, I had a hard time putting this book down, and am looking forward to the next installment in the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    As much as I enjoyed the books Heartless and Veiled Rose: Moonbl

    As much as I enjoyed the books Heartless and Veiled Rose: Moonblood is superb! It completes the two books and makes me want to read more by Ms. Stengl. I am looking forward to the prequel series she has begun in Goldstone Wood. She is a gifted writer. Her words create worlds that I long to visit and I have her books on my shelf with Tolkein and C. S. Lewis. Her dragons are not pets:-) Thank you AE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1