Customer Reviews for

The Moonflower Vine

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A WONDERFUL FIND!!!!

    As an English teacher I received several Barnes and Noble gift cards, so I used one of them to take chance on a novel I knew nothing about: "The Moonflower Vine." And am I glad that I did!! I just finished reading it about two hours ago, and I already miss the characters, the members of the Soames family that form the core of this wonderful story. This is a rare book in that you cannot put it down because the story is so interesting (and often surprising), told from the points of view of six family members, but it is also so beautifully written. The language is just lovely; in fact, I think you could take many of Jetta Carleton paragraphs and make them into a stanza of poetry. If you love great fiction, I highly recommend this book. You will love it.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Author shares intimate story of dear people who have touched her life

    In the 1950's in rural mid-west landscape, a story unfolds of a seemingly simple and idylic family. The backstory however, is anything but simple or idylic. The characters are complex. Some are even difficult to like. But some will totally captivate you. This book is well written and engaging. It is a shame that it was the only novel that Jetta Carleton wrote.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    hidden treasure!

    I accidentally happened upon this book and the cover captured my interest. Behind that beautiful cover I found a story of a simple country family as the travel through their lives. Different individuals with different dreams and hopes but their commonality was their love and respect for each other. !This was a terrific book which was so pleasant to read.The dialect is quirky and fun and the story is well developed. It was fascinating and thought provoking to view a family's journey through each of their different eyes.Time well invested!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a reprint of an early 1960s family drama that captured the essence of living in Missouri in the 1950s

    In the 1950s near Renfro, Missouri, retired teacher Matthew Soames, his wife Callie, three of their adult daughters and their one grandson gather at the family farm. Each is happy to see one another.

    The youngest daughter Mary Jo is a TV producer living in New York City; she hates to come home to the dirt of Missouri. The oldest child Jessica feels good about her life though her father feels her choices were stupid as he believes she could have been much more. The patriarch Matthew feels the world is passing him by as he wants to go beyond Missouri to see firsthand what he reads; but feels strongly he could never leave Callie behind. Though he hides his anger, Matthew believes his out of control daughter Mathy is God punishing him for his transgressions; his salvation he feels lies with her son. His other adult child Leonie is the one who most honors her parents by obeying their demands; however she loves a man her father will reject if asked. Callie is the oddity amongst the five as an illiterate who adheres strictly to late nineteenth century morality as if two world wars never occurred.

    This is a reprint of an early 1960s family drama that captured the essence of living in Missouri in the 1950s. The story line is character driven as the audience obtains mostly through Mary Jo's observations how each of the others perceive their respective lives; ironically Mary Jo has no section to call her own, but her lens cutting across the family brings her into focus. In some ways a novella collection as each member has their own chapter; THE MOONFLOWER VINE is a fascinating mid twentieth century historical tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    The Moonflower Vine

    This book is a wonderful family saga with twists and turns and many secrets. I found myself living in the book and becoming part of the family's daily living and story. The author captures the time in which the story is set beautifully. The stories of the individual members of the family help pull the tale together and create understanding for the reader. I found myself asking for more after each character's chapter, but the author gives us just enough of a glimpse into their hearts to carry us on to the next one. I enjoyed this book tremendously and experienced laughter and tears in the journey from the first page to the last. I believe this would be a good choice for book clubs as well as the recreational reader.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    and to think she wrote just one book

    This is just a fabulous book, could not put it down. Just so sorry that this writer never offered another such masterpiece.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Good read love one man

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    To below below

    Or a prophesy of Moonshine
    Not cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    To below

    That prophecy sounds like a poem...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Prophecy of Twilight

    Twilght bends, but Alas<p>
    Never breaks<p>
    Through the scarlet blood she fights<p>
    She lights up the dark with her half-day, half night<p>
    Unearthly shine<p>
    Just before the Moon will shine<p>
    She prevails, victorious<p>
    Oh My<p>
    They May try to strip away that light<p>
    But She will never give up without a fight<p>
    For One<p>
    And for All<p>
    She never breaks, only bends.<p>
    A Prophecy by AmazonLeaf

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Hey hannah its bree

    Cool i love that series...book 5 is sad....&hearts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Great read!

    Although this book started out to be a slow, ho-hum read, it quickly picked up steam and became very engrossing. I found myself reading until midnight---just one more chapter!!!! There were quite a few similarities between the book's family and mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Heart-warming

    I like the story of this family is told byeach member, but throughout the different stages of their lives. The characters were easy to like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    To keep it plain and simple, I loved this book. It was a good story and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    T

    It is an honor to be here bluestar tell me if there is cat willing to be my apprentice i also need to talk to you in my den





    Dawnlight

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Hiddenclan

    As all the clans gathered bluestar climted tto the highrock. " the clan has been very fotunate. It was a though leafbare. However staclan has blessed us. We have a new medicat, Dawnlight!"

    "Dawnlight! Dawnlight!" Called the clan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    ok

    Not as good as I expected. I was disapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Thumbs Up

    No crime to solve, no mystery to unravel, no villains to defeat - just an enjoyable "slice of [real] life" novel where the characters are the story. Engrossing, hard to put down. Well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Should be a classic

    A satisfying and well written novel that proves no one is perfect. It was recommended to me by a friend...I would definitely recommend it to my other friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    an amazing read - I thoroughly enjoyed this book!

    This book reflects a family in a simple place and time and yet nothing is just as it seems to be on the surface. The characters are complex and each is held in place by a fear, a longing or an unknown flaw. I was so taken by the love and tenderness with wich the author, (Her only novel and written quite long ago as well), wrote about the characters. This is a great book for readers who enjoy a vivid and descriptive prose. The writer here is almost an artist in her descriptions of nature. I would highly recommend this novel to any book club or group.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4