Customer Reviews for

Moonglass

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Moonglass was absolutely beautiful!

I am so happy that I decided to check out this book from the library. It had lots of detailed paragraphs that made me feel like I was also experiencing Anna's new life in Crystal Cove. Moonglass reminded me of how much I love the beach and hot summers. Jessi Kirby knows...
I am so happy that I decided to check out this book from the library. It had lots of detailed paragraphs that made me feel like I was also experiencing Anna's new life in Crystal Cove. Moonglass reminded me of how much I love the beach and hot summers. Jessi Kirby knows how to make you laugh, cry, and everything in between. I found myself tearing up near the last few pages of the book. I fell in love with Kirby's characters. Even though Anna has been going through her mother's death for ten years, she stays strong. She's also brave and different from how Kirby describes the other people living in Newport Beach. (Teens with tons of money, designer everything) Anna's dad seems to remind me of my own. He can be mean and strict at times, but only because he loves and cares about Anna. Tyler is different than most characters in contemporary novels like this; he's unpredictable. I like how Kirby doesn't rush Anna's and Tyler's relationship. Finally, I adore the book cover. Its color scheme and the setting on the beach is gorgeous! Props to whoever designed the book jacket. Its amazing. If you haven't read Moonglass already, I highly recommend that you read it. Its an amazing debut novel and a lovely summer read!

Twitter: @teenagereader

posted by ashlynrae on July 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good but not Great

Moonglass has been on my wishlist for a while now based on the cover and summary, so when I finally got my hands on a copy I was nothing short of ecstatic. Thankfully, while Moonglass did contain a few downsides, it still was a great debut filled with interesting, relat...
Moonglass has been on my wishlist for a while now based on the cover and summary, so when I finally got my hands on a copy I was nothing short of ecstatic. Thankfully, while Moonglass did contain a few downsides, it still was a great debut filled with interesting, relatable main characters and beautiful scenery.

Anna's life has not nearly been the same since her mother's sudden death ten years ago. Her and her mother used to be the best of mother-daughter teams. They collected sea glass on the beach every day, and bonded over their love of the ocean. Now, ten years later, Anna's dad is ready to pack-up and move on to the town where Anna's mom and he fell in love. Scared to leave behind her memories, friends, and life behind, Ann reluctantly leaves only to meet with some unexpected surprises. From great friends, to a new love interest, to a chance to become an "official" runner, Anna is enjoying her new life. Slinking around the amazing things, however, is secrets and drama about her mother's last day and life that Anna could never have imagined. Will Anna be able to survive once everything tumbles out, or will her life once again take an interesting and deathly turn? Only time and more pages will tell in this read of love, loss, and remembrance.

From the first page, I knew I would like Anna. Sweet, candid, and determined, Anna is someone you cannot help but root for and relate to for the majority of the story. What I loved most about her character, though, was the relationships she had with the other characters. The one with her mom was complicated beyond words, and Jessi Kirby presented it in a powerful way that nearly made me cry once or twice due to not only Anna's memories but also her distress over her mother's death. On the other hand, Anna's relationship with her Dad always brought a smile to my face, because it was easy to see just how much they cared about the other. Anna's ones with her new friends were my absolute favorite simply based on the secondary characters' personalities and the different ways they changed Anna's life for the better in small but important ways.

The plot in this moved in swift yet slow motions that always managed to carry this novel at a great pace. While the plot events were always a bit predictable, I still managed to be surprised once or twice, especially towards the end. Best of all, the scenery details in this are beautiful. I truly could always imagine a cozy and beautiful beach town, which makes this a perfect summer read based on setting alone, in my opinion.

However, there were a few things in Moonglass that it made it fall of the "amazing" scale a few points. For one, I felt that Anna's romance with Tyler was lacking necessary development, and while the lack of development in this aspect lead for more development in other placed that I enjoyed, I feel Moonglass would have been even better with it. The other thing that brought down the "amazing" was the Sarah Dessen references. Because while there is nothing I love better than a Dessen-like story I always loathe when the novel does not live up it, as in effect it makes the story less perfect in my eyes so to say.

Even with that, Jessi Kirby's Moonglass is an impressive debut that I still recommended highly. I simply cannot wait to see what Jessi has up her sleeve for her sophomore novel.

Grade: B

posted by Lauren817 on June 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful and light.

    If someone told me this was Jessi's debut novel I wouldn't have believed it! Moonglass is beautiful, light and has the affect of making me tear up a couple times.

    Anna is flooded with questions and emotions when she is slowly picking up pieces of her mom's history. Emotions that she pushes down when she turns up at a new house, the very place her parents first met. Although she goes to school, it mostly focuses around her and her house on the beach. As many people have mentioned the beach becomes a character of its own. I feel so connected to the cove and the whole setting. I don't think I've ever enjoyed a setting so much and how it means so much to the book.

    I can't possibly understand the feelings of losing a mom, but I can relate to losing someone you care about. Anna is a character that I can connect with and someone I end up caring so much about throughout the story. Jessi wrote it so well that I felt the love and pain she feels whenever she think of her mom.

    If you're wondering what's her love life like and is there a guy? (One of the first questions I always ask) Then yes. Tyler is an easy going life-guard that's realistic. He's written out in a way that makes me feel like I could possibly walk out side and maybe bump into someone like him. Honestly though, I didn't see much in him and why Anna liked him so much in the beginning. But there's this loving quality about him that I grew to like.

    What I loved most was how moonglass tied the whole story together. They are usually called sea glass, but moonglass is a word Anna and her mom made up. Whenever they found a piece of sea glass during a full moon it'd be called, moonglass. It just fit so well and wrapped up the story like the finishing touches of a bow. You'll have to read the book to see how it ties in so perfectly!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Vivid & Atmospheric - The Perfect Lazy Day Read

    Moonglass is truly a stunning book, with its atmospheric setting and poignant storytelling. It pulls the reader into its pages and drops them right on the sand with Anna, fumbling for purchase in a new town, on a new beach, with no friends and the weight of the memories of a mother she never really got to know.

    Kirby balances Anna's growing sadness with a sweet love story and quite a few amusing characters. Tyler is everything a beach-loving girl could want. He's gorgeous, a lifeguard, and confident without being overly cocky. His personality is electric and the reader will feel that, along with Anna. Then there's Ashley, Anna's first new friend, who is pretty much a bimbo, but very innocent and impossible not to like. Jillian, Anna's cross-country teammate, is such a contrast to Ashley, but her backstory plays well into Anna's.

    The focus of the story is Anna and her family though, her dead mother, her father, and the world the two of them left behind; the world that Anna never knew, but that her father has pulled her to. Kirby's vivid descriptions of the ocean, the sea glass, Anna's 'moonglass,' and the story of the mermaids is heartbreaking and poetic. This small community that Anna first views as foreign becomes such a huge part of who she is. Every detail is important; every character adds to the intrigue about Anna's mother and towards the end I was near tears.

    Moonglass is a beautiful debut that is the perfect summer read. It delicately confronts family issues, while allowing for a romance to bloom. If you're heading out to the beach or plan on spending a night overlooking the water, grab this one to bring with you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review: Moonglass

    've been reading way to much paranormal. At any given moment, I honestly expected the truth to come out that Anna's mom was really a mermaid. I was really happy to see that this is really just a fantastic contemporary book about dealing with truth's long hidden.

    I really enjoyed Anna's character. I got the impression right away the she was in a little bit of denial of what might have happened the night her mother died. And since neither she nor her father like to talk about it, I'm not surprised that the truth has managed to stay buried for so long. I do like the relationship she had with her father. They seem to get along really well outside of the one taboo subject. I found humor in the fact that her father doesn't like her to hang out with the very people he's worked with his entire life. I also liked Anna's relationship with Tyler. It felt real and that's always a change of pace from instant romance. She doesn't trust her feelings, and he's weary of the boss's daughter.

    I think my favorite part of this book was the ocean itself. It's seem to be a character in the book. Anna reacts to it. It makes her feel things that she's really want to deal with. And she becomes familiar with it and her mother that she didn't know in relationship with this place, she begins to remember bits and pieces of that night that she has long buried. Really a beautiful setting for this type of book.

    I look forward to another book by Kirby. I understand the need to do something different, but she really has a knack for the ocean setting and I would mind reading something with it again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

    This is a perfect mixture of grief and romance. I really connected with the main character Anna, and Ms. Kirby wrote her emotions beautifully and they really evoke a response.
    I enjoyed reading about Anna's relationship with her father, there is pain that they work through, time honored family traditions that they uphold, and I really enjoyed the parts where they get honest with each other.
    Anna's relationship with Tyler is sweet, and he really is a good guy even though his reactions to some stuff still really has me puzzled. But, that is just the trademark of a well written and true to form guy.
    The friendships that are formed in this book are a bit surprising. Ashley is both the opposite and exactly what I expected, and I really like the competition and comradry between Anna and Jillian.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Anna's story begins on a rainy and windy day, indeed fitting he


    Anna's story begins on a rainy and windy day, indeed fitting her mood. She and her father just packed up everything they own and are on their way to their new home. Moving to a new town is never easy. New school, friends and crush.
    And Anna's finding a friend pretty quickly after moving to Crystal Cove, or better said she's found. Anna's trying to keep her distance but no one can resist cheerful and devoted Ashley. They both join the school's cross-country team and the sportive meetings and bubbly personality of Ashley add a lot of positive energy to the story.

    Tyler is a local lifeguard who offers Anna a new chance for love and trust. Their relationship has its sweet and daring moments. It was a welcome change to see there were no major conflicts troubling Anna and Tyler's relationship because they deserved some quiet and peaceful time to find to each other. I just wish we had more time to follow the development of their love story.

    MOONGLASS is not only sunny beach days. It's also a story about regret and a terrible family tragedy. Short falsh backs to the past show how much Anna's remembering of one unfortunate night many years ago. You can see that the death of Anna's mother still affects her very much. The beach will always be a reminder of her lost mother and at the same time a source for Anna to draw new energy and recover.

    This all beach-themed read takes you to the beautiful place of Crystal Cove with wide long beaches and shimmering blue water. Jessi Kirby's writing magically makes it your temporary second home. How I wish I lived there. Scuba diving, snorkeling, swimming, surfing, a bonfire and BBQs are only a selection of the fun beach activities we are invited to partake in.

    The first book I read by Jessi Kirby was IN HONOR, followed by GOLDEN and MOONGLASS. One thing they have in common are their unsatisfying endings, making us leave our characters too early and too abrupt after major-life changing events. To sum up, I can say that I did enjoy all of Jessi Kirby's novels so far and with nearly over 230 pages MOONGLASS serves as a quick beach read, one I would always recommend.


    4/5 **** MOONGLASS – A contemplative and uniquely soulful beach read.

    A right portion of soothing, lulling beach moments and kisses stolen in the moonlight are Jessi Kirby's formula to heal a broken heart. Like sea glass her debut has many facets and colors to shine with, so take your time to find them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Moonglass is a beautifully written novel of acceptance and self-

    Moonglass is a beautifully written novel of acceptance and self-discovery set against the sun-soaked sand and waves of summer.

    I loved the character of Anna, as she's just the right balance of smart, confident, tough, and yet still vulnerable. She's also very easy to relate to because she doesn't always make the right decision. She's had to become very mentally strong to deal with the death of her mother and I loved getting to watch as she slowly let new people into her life. I also appreciated the realistic, if not strained relationship that Anna shares with her father.

    I really enjoyed the pacing and unpredictability of Anna and Tyler's relationship since I never really knew what to expect from it. One minute I'd think it wasn't really going anywhere, and then the next, I'd be wondering why they weren't already making out somewhere, LOL.

    One relationship I wanted to learn more about was Tyler's relationship to Jessica. I can't talk to much about it without giving anything away, but I will say that I expected more of an explanation to what happened. I felt kind of cheated that this "thing" only gets a very small mention. I think if each of them had discussed more about what happened, it could have provided Tyler and Jessica with more depth and a deeper understanding of Anna's personality.

    The way in which author Jessi Kirby slowly reveals the details of Anna's, mother's death is truly moving, not just for Anna but for the reader as well. It also help to better explain the strained relationship and distance that has grown between Anna and her father. I loved all the mermaid metaphors that were used throughout the book since they truly helped to capture the atmosphere and mood of the story.

    Recommended to any fan of YA contemps. Jessi Kirby is an author to watch and Moonglass is a novel that shouldn't be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Great book

    Fantastic book. Easy reading, really draws you into the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1