BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Moonglass

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Moonglass was absolutely beautiful!

I am so happy that I decided to check out this book from the library. It had lots of detailed paragraphs that made me feel like I was also experiencing Anna's new life in Crystal Cove. Moonglass reminded me of how much I love the beach and hot summers. Jessi Kirby knows...
I am so happy that I decided to check out this book from the library. It had lots of detailed paragraphs that made me feel like I was also experiencing Anna's new life in Crystal Cove. Moonglass reminded me of how much I love the beach and hot summers. Jessi Kirby knows how to make you laugh, cry, and everything in between. I found myself tearing up near the last few pages of the book. I fell in love with Kirby's characters. Even though Anna has been going through her mother's death for ten years, she stays strong. She's also brave and different from how Kirby describes the other people living in Newport Beach. (Teens with tons of money, designer everything) Anna's dad seems to remind me of my own. He can be mean and strict at times, but only because he loves and cares about Anna. Tyler is different than most characters in contemporary novels like this; he's unpredictable. I like how Kirby doesn't rush Anna's and Tyler's relationship. Finally, I adore the book cover. Its color scheme and the setting on the beach is gorgeous! Props to whoever designed the book jacket. Its amazing. If you haven't read Moonglass already, I highly recommend that you read it. Its an amazing debut novel and a lovely summer read!

Twitter: @teenagereader

posted by ashlynrae on July 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good but not Great

Moonglass has been on my wishlist for a while now based on the cover and summary, so when I finally got my hands on a copy I was nothing short of ecstatic. Thankfully, while Moonglass did contain a few downsides, it still was a great debut filled with interesting, relat...
Moonglass has been on my wishlist for a while now based on the cover and summary, so when I finally got my hands on a copy I was nothing short of ecstatic. Thankfully, while Moonglass did contain a few downsides, it still was a great debut filled with interesting, relatable main characters and beautiful scenery.

Anna's life has not nearly been the same since her mother's sudden death ten years ago. Her and her mother used to be the best of mother-daughter teams. They collected sea glass on the beach every day, and bonded over their love of the ocean. Now, ten years later, Anna's dad is ready to pack-up and move on to the town where Anna's mom and he fell in love. Scared to leave behind her memories, friends, and life behind, Ann reluctantly leaves only to meet with some unexpected surprises. From great friends, to a new love interest, to a chance to become an "official" runner, Anna is enjoying her new life. Slinking around the amazing things, however, is secrets and drama about her mother's last day and life that Anna could never have imagined. Will Anna be able to survive once everything tumbles out, or will her life once again take an interesting and deathly turn? Only time and more pages will tell in this read of love, loss, and remembrance.

From the first page, I knew I would like Anna. Sweet, candid, and determined, Anna is someone you cannot help but root for and relate to for the majority of the story. What I loved most about her character, though, was the relationships she had with the other characters. The one with her mom was complicated beyond words, and Jessi Kirby presented it in a powerful way that nearly made me cry once or twice due to not only Anna's memories but also her distress over her mother's death. On the other hand, Anna's relationship with her Dad always brought a smile to my face, because it was easy to see just how much they cared about the other. Anna's ones with her new friends were my absolute favorite simply based on the secondary characters' personalities and the different ways they changed Anna's life for the better in small but important ways.

The plot in this moved in swift yet slow motions that always managed to carry this novel at a great pace. While the plot events were always a bit predictable, I still managed to be surprised once or twice, especially towards the end. Best of all, the scenery details in this are beautiful. I truly could always imagine a cozy and beautiful beach town, which makes this a perfect summer read based on setting alone, in my opinion.

However, there were a few things in Moonglass that it made it fall of the "amazing" scale a few points. For one, I felt that Anna's romance with Tyler was lacking necessary development, and while the lack of development in this aspect lead for more development in other placed that I enjoyed, I feel Moonglass would have been even better with it. The other thing that brought down the "amazing" was the Sarah Dessen references. Because while there is nothing I love better than a Dessen-like story I always loathe when the novel does not live up it, as in effect it makes the story less perfect in my eyes so to say.

Even with that, Jessi Kirby's Moonglass is an impressive debut that I still recommended highly. I simply cannot wait to see what Jessi has up her sleeve for her sophomore novel.

Grade: B

posted by Lauren817 on June 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Moonglass was absolutely beautiful!

    I am so happy that I decided to check out this book from the library. It had lots of detailed paragraphs that made me feel like I was also experiencing Anna's new life in Crystal Cove. Moonglass reminded me of how much I love the beach and hot summers. Jessi Kirby knows how to make you laugh, cry, and everything in between. I found myself tearing up near the last few pages of the book. I fell in love with Kirby's characters. Even though Anna has been going through her mother's death for ten years, she stays strong. She's also brave and different from how Kirby describes the other people living in Newport Beach. (Teens with tons of money, designer everything) Anna's dad seems to remind me of my own. He can be mean and strict at times, but only because he loves and cares about Anna. Tyler is different than most characters in contemporary novels like this; he's unpredictable. I like how Kirby doesn't rush Anna's and Tyler's relationship. Finally, I adore the book cover. Its color scheme and the setting on the beach is gorgeous! Props to whoever designed the book jacket. Its amazing. If you haven't read Moonglass already, I highly recommend that you read it. Its an amazing debut novel and a lovely summer read!

    Twitter: @teenagereader

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One Great Summer Read

    Moonglass, by Jessi Kirby: The Plot
    Anna is an active 16 year old girl raised beach side by her father who lifeguards locally. When he is offered a lead position, Anna is moved back to the town where her mother and father met years before. After the death of her mother when Anna was young, she finds her relationship with her father slowly becoming quieter and now she will be leaving behind the only home she has ever known and the few good memories she still clings to before the tragedy accrued. This new beach home for Anna is where she unravels the mysteries of her parent relationship, realizes the truth behind her mother's death, finds an unlikely friend, feels the spark of romance, takes the first step at repairing the space between her and her father and discovers the courage she never knew she had.
    Why Moonglass is this months: Best Book Ever
    The Writing: As a frequent reader of the YA genre, I have noticed that not all authors are of the same caliber in their own personal style of writing. Sometimes, a YA book will seem as though it was written as a Junior High english assignment. The story may read choppy, the conflict can seem trite and many times the description of emotion will make me want to physically roll my eyes! Kirby however, fluently puts together a story that is not only intriguing, but emotional and thought provoking. Anna, the main character, is just plain relatable. You can imagine yourself being friends with her, you have sympathy for her and you want to know what is going on with her family just as much as she does. This is important. If the author cannot write a character I care about and is simply to unrealistic in her thoughts and emotion, I'm out. I do not want to read some 12 year olds journal doodling of her hopes, dreams and disappointments. The writing of Moonglass can transcend to the adult category simply on the style of writing alone. As a matter of fact, it has passed some of the toughest reading critics I know: my mother-in-law, who generally doesn't agree with me on what's likable and what's not, and Yolanda, a teacher from my school who sets the bar very high on anything in the entertainment realm. I have given it to people who sat down and read it in a day and came back to me and told me that it brought up feelings of their own upbringing and I have had people tell me that they loved the description of the way the everyday things were true to life, like the way Anna felt during a run. Brenda, was even late to work one morning because she just had to sit in her car and finish the book uninterrupted and then handed it to me with tears in her eyes. The truth is I have had several people read it and I haven't met the person yet who didn't truly enjoy the story.

    The Setting: The Beach...who doesn't love to read a great book set on the beach during the summer. Even better, I just went camping at the beach this weekend and kept thinking that I wished I had brought it with me. It's perfect for July's BBE, so if you are on your way to the coast right now as we speak, stop by B&N and put the cash down for this book before you get there, it will only make it better!

    The Crystal Cove Store where Kirby did her book signing on
    on the 1st weekend of the official release of Moonglass
    It's All In The Details! Let me try and give you some details behind the elements of this story from a round-about interview I had with the author without raising any spoiler alerts. The view from

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Anonymous

    Ms. Kirby's my library teacher!!!!!!!

    Great book for the emotional reader absolutely love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    My favorite book!

    This is one of the best books have ever read! Its a beach romance what gets better than that!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Book!

    I love books that have to deal with forgiveness. Sometimes in life, bad things come at you, you don't understand till years later and then BAM! You realize your angry. You understand the situation more, but you still don't understand why it happen that way. You want explanations. You want answers now, but more importantly, you need to let it go.

    Anna is that girl. Caught in the sea of dying secrets, she needed to understand, that she wanted answers to. Anna, I felt everything for this girl. She was so young when it happen, so she didn't grasp the whole thing. When she starts to learn about the past and what it held, she let it out. I felt tears prickling down my face as I fell into Anna's shoes. So much of her was lost that night and so much of her is hurt. I loved her determination to find out what really happened. But what I loved more is that once she saw the whole picture, she understood, and let go.

    I am so very grateful for the love interest in this book. If it weren't for him opening the doors for her to see, she might not have seen it all. Also, she needed him. He help her a lot with understanding and seeing it differently from another point of view. One thing that amazed in this book that really took me by surprised in this story was the beach bum. Yeah that's right, he played a bigger part than I ever imagined.

    This is a beautifully written story about a girl who finds answers to a question that has boiled in her soul forever. One that will change everything that she knew. It is a tear jerker, so if you decided to read this, grab your tissue box!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Great

    This novel was amazing I LOVED it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    I have to read this

    I have to read this in my reading i chose to i think i am going to like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    oh my gosh, i loved this book!  it was beautiful in every way!  

    oh my gosh, i loved this book!  it was beautiful in every way!  the writing was extravagant and the characters were truly believable and i fell for them.  i went through Anna's journey with her and ached for her.  this book was marvelous and oh my gosh, i just really want to read it again.  it was a tale of loss and forgiveness.  it was truly fantastic.  i highly recommend this book to anyone.  i'm normally into paranormal teen books but this one tugged at my heart strings!  it's great and i cant wait to see what Jessi Kirby comes out with next!  hopefully it'll be just as good as Moonglass.  Moonglass was creative and was a breath of fresh air from the genres of dystopian worlds and vampires, werewolves, etc.  truly original!  you must read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Maoonglass

    Moonglass is a grest book i am reading it now and its such a good book i would recomend this book for anyone who like romance and the beach

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Love

    Awesome summer read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Love, love, loved Moonglass!

    A stunning debut novel. The characters, setting, story line all written beautifully. Can't wait for Kirby's second novel, IN HONOR , May 2012!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book was excellent! I really felt like i was there while I was reading it. I highly recomend this book for teen girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    great

    it was a great book!! diffrent but great!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    Best book i have read:)

    It was so hard to put this book down, the characters are so real and the story is like no other! 100% loved this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    Incredible!!!!

    This book is romanic, touching, passionate and so much more!!!! When annas mom dies, her father takes her to the place where she used to live. Anna meets a boy named tyler and they start looking for moonglass together and anna becomes even closer to her mom then shes ever imagined.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2