Customer Reviews for

Moonglow (Darkest London Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very satisfying story. I enjoyed it. For ADULTS only!

    This story takes place in 1883.
    I will say I was pleasantly surprised with this book. I actually got very involved with the characters of this book. I was a bit lost at times, as I never read the first book, which is based on Daisy’s sister (Miranda), and Daisy is the main character in this one I got ARC copy from NetGalley to review, so I had to wing it without reading the first book (Firelight by Kristen Callihan).
    The story starts with Daisy finding herself free of the constraints of mourning the cruel husband she hated. She has been so unhappy and gone without for so long. She has a lust for life that is frowned upon by society. She finally goes out to enjoy some life, when at a friend’s party, she is making out with a young man on a balcony, and gets a huge shock, she sees her friends dead body, and ends up living to tell the tale, as the diseased killer attacks her, but gets the young man instead and she gets roughed up a bit.
    Ian Ranulf is an exiled Lycan. He knows his behavior is not acceptable, and I am assuming his behavior in the first book towards Miranda (Daisy’s sister) and Archer (old friend and married to Miranda) was even worse. He seems to have a jealousy of Archer, but it’s for a different reason that you would first think, I will leave that as a surprise. He is running from ghost of his past and keeps his wolf mollified. Then one night he scents a werewolf and blood—lots of blood with the overlay of disease.

    Ian works it out quickly that Daisy is in danger from the diseased werewolf, but talking Daisy into accepting his protection is a whole other thing. Daisy has trust issues and she has no intention of trusting him or the attraction she feels for him. Ian would not allow them to have more than a fling, as he will not get into a deep relationship with a mortal again-not ever. Although we will see, there is more to Daisy than we initially think. She has a power all her own.
    They soon discover greater forces are play than just a mad, sick werewolf, and Ian and Daisy must work to expose them before more people are killed and worse things happen.
    We get some revelations from Ian’s past which is dangerously close to catching up to him and a few other plots twist that have devastating ramifications that left my heart twisting and aching for Ian and Daisy.
    The relationship that finally develop between Ian and Daisy is all that I hoped for because of their similar love of adventure and feisty fun along with their great capacity to experience passion. Lots of back and forth on the relationship developing, but it finally happened.
    We get some twist and turns, and some big discoveries, but all in all, a great story, and I would recommend it to anyone who likes Paranormal Romance’s, especially historical ones. As long as the erotic scenes won’t bother you. The passion that grows between Ian and Daisy is very sweet, and came to really care about them. The ending is sad, but satisfying too.
    I find myself looking forward to book 3 Winterblaze when it comes out, because it will continue with a plot that was left very open that had to do with Poppy and Winston (Poppy is Daisy’s other sister, and Winston her husband)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Disappointing

    I am disappointed in this nook. I loved the first book in the series and couldnt wait to read this one. It was nowhere near as good as the first. Characters werent as interesting, storyline bland, just never grabbed me. I'll give book three a try and hope for better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    May i join

    Please im kane. May i be alpha male or beta.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Lunarbeauty and Howlmoon

    Went to volleyball camp. Couldn't get on. )) Gazed at everyone.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Promising

    This was an interesting book. It was rather uneven towards the end. In fact, the end was rather a let down as it felt a bit too contrived.
    The beginning and middle were good. It was not as compelling (making you want the next page more than sleep) as other books; but it did make you return again and again until you were done.
    The characters were a bit too blind. Too many hints about past trials and not enough present. The author needed to stop hinting and to spell it out. She made too much of a mystery about things that should have been told in full sooner than what she did. You were almost more in the dark than the characters.
    Still, I've read worse and the author shows a lot of promise. She has a great story idea in this book. The editor should have worked with her more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Passes the sequal test.A great flowup to Firelight

    As much as I adored the story of Archer and Miranda from Firelight, I was equally as taken with Ian and Daisy in Moonglow. Even though Ian had the propensity to act like a cad in Firelight, there was something about him that I was very intrigued with. Ian has a lot of dark secrets, and a lot of charm and personality, too. He was a character I liked in Firelight, and a character I grew to love in Moonglow. I admit it: My favorite scenes of this book were the love scenes. They were long, sexy, and just explicit enough. I also loved Daisy, who was a great combination of sweet and strong. I appreciate that the author gave me a new protagonist who was so unlike the protagonist in the first book but just as lovable. For one, the supernatural aspect is increased almost exponentially. Where it was once just Miranda and her fire-starting capabilities, the mystery that was Archer, and the reveal of Ian as a werewolf - now it is a veritable monster-mash. Some of said supernatural are the usual fare, and some were... utterly unique and unusual. And had me going, "Huh. Well, that's interesting." But it almost became a case of too much all at once. There is a lot of mythology thrown at you in one novel. You're learning about werewolves, their clans and rules and customs, and then vampires enter the picture and then something else and something else and then two or three others. It made me long for the simplicity of Firelight and yet... I really want to learn more about two of the new supernaturals. I mean, move over vamps and weres - I want more GIMs. The story does bring back Archer and Miranda as well as Poppy and Winston in minor roles which was nice to see them all again. Moonglow, the second Darkest London book, has a different texture than its predecessor Firelight, which was slower-paced yet sizzled with sexual tension. What you'll find in this second installment is nice balance of mystery, murder, romance, and expanded world-building set in alternate reality Victorian England. Secrets and monsters are underlying themes. So, in my humble opinion, this one was as good as or better than book one. They both are some of the best blend of historical and paranormal out there. I am eager to get to book three, Winterblaze when it comes out because it’s going to continue with a plot thread that was left jarringly open to do with Poppy and Winston.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great sequel to Firelight

    Rating: R
    Spoilers: Nope
    Coffee Beans: 3.5
    Cover: Pretty cool
    Instalove Factor: None
    My Personal Recommendation: Worth the read
    Disclaimer: I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for this honest review

    Oops.

    So, I’ve had this book since about June, I think. Read it and then completely spaced writing the review. So, here I go.

    Moonglow is the second book in the Darkest London series, after Firelight. I loved the first in the series sooo much that I hopped on NetGalley to request this one. I wanted to know what happened to the sister.

    I think the thing I especially liked about this book was the relationship between Daisy and Ian. They hate each other and are forced to work together to solve a crime and keep her alive, but they don’t like it. One bit.

    Okay, maybe they like it a little.

    Okay, a lot.

    But that’s the fun. We know they like each other, but refuse to let the other one know it. As body counts rise, Daisy realizes she has to trust and rely on Ian to keep her safe, and Ian has to let down his guard and be brave enough to love again and strong enough to make the hardest decision he’s ever had to make.

    Moonglow is a good, fast read with an interesting plot and fun characters. Pick it up and fall in love with Daisy and Ian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    The "Darkest London" series continues with Daisy's sto

    The "Darkest London" series continues with Daisy's story. Daisy is a widow who is flying free for the first time, and she hasn't even fully extended her wings when she witnesses a werewolf attack. Marquis Northrup, Ian Ranulf just happens to be strolling in the vicinity when he catches the scent of the unknown werewolf. When Ian realizes the werewolf is after Daisy, and his secrets are in danger of being revealed, he resolves to keep her safe. Both Daisy and Ian who initially dislike each other, find that they are drawn to each other as they spend more time together. But will the killer werewolf separate them, and what secrets are they keeping from each other?

    The second book in the "Darkest London" series by Kristen Callihan, and her sophomore release, is a fantastic book. Kristen Callihan does a phenomenal job of taking what she started with Firelight and elevating it to new heights. She manages to seamlessly not only tell Daisy and Ian's story, but also build another world as well, without overloading the reader with information. The story flows freely and never hits a low point, but keeps

    Daisy and Ian were wonderful people to read about and relate to. Daisy bears both mental and physical scars, as does Ian. Both hide the pains of the past under veneers of joie de vivre or ennui. It's a treat to watch them realize that there is more to them beyond what they see and know. Daisy is weary of Ian because she knows he wanted Miranda and doesn't want to be his consolation prize. Ian is fighting his true nature and leaving his duties as an alpha of his pack. Miranda and Benjamin appear in this book as supporting characters and it is good to see them as more than a fleeting mention.

    Winterblaze, the third book in this series is due to be released at the end of February 2013, and having been given hints as to what the book will be about, I find that waiting for it to be released will be the hardest part. Kristen Callihan has found a way to make her second book as equally spectacular as her first book and so my expectations for the third book are high.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    A nice, light read

    While I did enjoy reading Moonglow, Kristen Callihan's second book in her Darkest London series, I was never as engaged in the story as I was in her first book, Firelight. The couple in this story is Daisy, Miranda's older sister, and Ian, the lycan who was trying to win Miranda's heart in Firelight. I didn't find the couple or their story as interesting as Miranda and Archer. The second half of the story was more engrossing than the first half and I found myself actually looking forward to reaching the conclusion and solving the mystery. If this had been the first book in the series I doubt that I would have read another of this author's books. However, given the quality of her first book, Firelight, I will pick up the third book in the series and hope that it is as refreshing as the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    ┬┐Moonglow┬┐ by, Kristen Callihan Daisy Ellis is finally free of

    “Moonglow” by, Kristen Callihan Daisy Ellis is finally free of her
    abusive marriage and she just wants to enjoy being a widow; but when a
    night out turns into a nightmare, Daisy’s life quickly spins out of
    control. After witnessing a grizzly attack and narrowly escaping death
    Daisy is rescued and taken to safety by Ian Ranulf, the Marquis of
    Northrup. Daisy and Ian are both hiding dangerous secrets and with a
    mysterous killer on the loose they have to decide weather or not to
    trust one another. “Moonglow” is the second book in the “Darkest
    London” series. (The first book is called “Firelight”) In this series
    you will find immortals, magic, shifters, werewolves, and other
    supernatural characters. The setting for this series is early London and
    it has a steampunk feel to it that I enjoy. However, what really drew me
    into this story was the sexual tension between Daisy and Ian (steamy
    doesn’t begin to cover it). This couple had a great back and forth
    banter throughout the story and the tender moments were extremely
    satisfying. I am a big fan of strong female characters. Daisy walks
    with confidence and isn’t afraid to kick some butt. I am also drawn to
    the strong damaged male character, but I appreciated that Ian was able
    to say that he was scared and that he needed Daisy (instead of just
    wallowing in a dark corner). I am also really excited to read more about
    some of the characters that were introduced in “Moonglow” (Winston and
    Talent). This series is great for anyone who loves historical or
    paranormal romance books. I eagerly await the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was provided the Galley from grand Central Publishing for my h

    I was provided the Galley from grand Central Publishing for my honest
    review. I was really hesitant to start reading this because I loved
    Firelight and didn’t want to be let down. Let’s just say that I cannot
    believe that thought even popped into my head because this book was
    amazing. I definitely will not wait to start any other book by Kristin
    Callihan. So, do you want to know what I thought about it? There was
    action right off the bat. Daisy is tired of mourning the loss of a
    husband that she never loved. She wants to feel wanted again and goes
    out to have a little fun. What turned out to be a fun night turned
    drastic when she finds one of her friends in the alley dead. She is then
    attack by whatever killed her friend, but what is it? Enter Ian. From
    there on they try to figure out who is killing all these women, who wear
    the same perfume as Daisy and why they are doing it. If you want love
    triangle, you won’t find it in this book. The romance was stop on, not
    too much, not too little, it didn’t dominate the story. Daisy is the
    kind of woman that doesn’t have a filter. She just says whatever pops
    into her head…Kinda like me. I think that’s what I like the most about
    her. At first, I thought she was going to be one of those pushovers that
    talk a lot of smack. As the story progressed, I could tell that she
    wasn’t having that. Ian: During this book he has become dear to my
    heart. I despised him in the first one. I don’t know how she done it but
    she made me love him. Ian has a secret that he would rather keep hidden,
    but there is something about Daisy that makes him want to strip off his
    entire amour. He is a confident man but Daisy makes him nervous. Why?
    You have to read it to find out. I’m also glad that they put Miranda
    in this book. I mean she is her sister but I thought it was just going
    to be about her. I really liked Miranda in Firelight but I have to say
    that I think I like Daisy better. Miranda is more of a hardcore girl and
    isn’t afraid to use it. Daisy is sweeter and doesn’t let you see that
    she is deadly. I just have to say that I loved this book!!! It has
    all my favorite things in one small package and it works. If you know
    anything about me, then you know what I love, if not then you are in for
    a surprise. Overall, this book kept me interested from the beginning
    and didn’t falter. 5 STARS!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    8/11/12

    8/11/12 Great addition to the series. Looking forward to the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Daisy & Ian's story

    You have to read "Firelight" first to read about Miranda's story. This story is about Miranda's sister, Daisy. Finally free from a horrible marriage, Daisy is enjoying her freedom too much and feeling nothing as she dates several men. Then one night, she is in an alley with a gentleman & then are brutely attacked. She is knocked unconscious.
    Ian was first introduced in "Firelight" and I have to admit that I liked his character then, even though he was trying to win Miranda from Archer. In this story, we get to know Ian & how lonely he is. He stumbles upon several people who are attacked in an alley and finds Daisy to be the only surviving victim. He takes her home to protect her and learns she is Miranda's sister.
    I loved this story. It did drag on in some parts, but I was really rooting for Daisy & Ian to make it work for them. There were some suprising twists and more characters introduced. If you like Paranormal romances, then you will like this book and series. If you haven't read "Firelight" yet, I recommend reading it and it's prequel "Ember" first and then "Moonglow".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    After being attacked in an alley by a creature that resembles b

    After being attacked in an alley by a creature that resembles both man and wolf, Daisy Ellis Craigmore finds herself in the arms of Ian Ranulf, Marquis of Northrup. Daisy soon finds out that this thing that attacked her was a werewolf, a sick, dying werewolf that has been killing women that carry her personalized perfume scent upon their skin. And just who is this Ian Ranulf that is determined to keep her within an arms length and safe from this vile creature? A Lycan, who can't help but find the recently widowed Daisy Craigmore attractive & all his.

    Wheew. Okay. Totally stepping away from my vampire addiction and tooootally falling for this Lycan business! This book was extremely good & aside from me reading this series out of order (and hating myself for going against my OCD self), I didn't feel that I was missing anything while I was reading. Given, there are certain things that were said that totally gives away the first book, but nothing that will keep me from reading it, as I still want to know the details of what happens. Ian Ranulf *sigh* Ian is a Lycan and a mighty sezzy Lycan at that. After living the last 30 some years bedding whores with the resemblance to his late wife, Ian finally finds a woman who awakens him and makes him feel all over again. The problem? She's human & he doesn't want to lose her. Ian will keep her safe and away from this sick werewolf that has her sent stuck up his nose. How? Pure alpha male force of course... Okay, maybe not so forceful, but her options sure are limited with him. Daisy on the other hand will have none of this nonsense from Ian and battles him back wit for wit when the overbearing, sezzy lycan tries to corner her. This book.. If I could go back in time... and jump into a carriage to get down and dirty... I SO WOULD!

    What I liked about this book is that there's not just lycan's and werewolves, but GIMs, elemental witches, and... well, that's giving away too much. Now, I wouldn't really be into all this, as I've only read one series I absolutely loved with more than one kind of supernatural being in it, but this one really worked out. You knew there were supernaturals at work here, but it was really subtle and not overbearing like "I AM DRACULA AND I WILL SUCK YOUR BLOOOOOD" kinda nonsense on every page. What I didn't like was the slow trot to the sezzy scenes. *sigh* I felt like I was feeling all the tension and build up that Daisy was going through too! Practically screaming for Ian to "Huuur up and stick it in!!" Okay, not all that.. but you know what I mean.

    Definitely recommending this book. BUUUUUUUT before you read this book, go on ahead and pick up Firelight (Book #1 in the Darkest London series) There's also a third book in this series called Winterblaze, release date: sometime in 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasing balance of mystery, murder, and romance! Loved Ian, too!

    Grade: B+ or solid 4 stars Moonglow, the second Darkest London book, has a different texture than its predecessor Firelight, which was slower-paced yet sizzled with sexual tension. What you’ll find in this second installment is nice balance of mystery, murder, romance, and expanded world-building set in alternate reality Victorian England. Secrets and monsters are underlying themes. Defining monsters is an underlying theme in this story. Ian sees a monster in the mirror and is haunted by piercing tragedy. You ruin everything, Ian. You and your beast. In this alternate world, lycan are evolved men containing a wolf spirit, while a werewolf is a damaged wolf in control. A were hungers for the kill. Ian represses his wolf feeling it is a shameful beast. He will be a monster! Daisy is critical to resolving his self-hatred. In turn, Ian heals Daisy’s legacy of shame imparted by her late husband. The one major criticism is the way the characters are introduced. Ian and Daisy seemed shallow. Initiating the reader with their sexuality did not feel endearing nor did it seem to add depth of character. Perhaps it was to draw a parallel to their sexual appetites. I don’t know. Luckily, they are revealed soon enough. Ian and Daisy’s scabs are ripped off to reveal their torment and fear. They are a couple who have had darkness in their lives, yet they are not depressing characters. It was fun reading their flirtatious dialogue and zing each other as they fenced words. The moments when Ian and Daisy offered each other comfort and loving words were romantic. Secrets also play a large role in this novel. We see the proverbial skeletons in the closet. There are also revelations, a mysterious supernatural leader, new secondary characters, and fallout of various kinds. It is all good stuff! It has me longing for the next book! Moonglow’s mystery leads Ian and Daisy on a trail that introduces readers to interesting new supernaturals. The GIMs(Ghosts in the Machine) insert an element of science fiction, almost like steampunk. The S.O.S. (Society for the Suppression of Supernaturals Secondary) has potential, too. Let's not forget the vampires! Secondary characters are expanded, but not to distraction. Ian Ranulf was an enticing character in Firelight, and his character does not disappoint in Moonglow! Daisy Ellis is also appealing as the heroine. Her experiences demonstrate the sexual double standards of the time and, in some minds, present time. This hero and heroine are an ideal match! I’m anxious for Poppy’s story, Winterblaze. There also seems potential for the following secondary characters: Lucien Stone, Mary Chase, and Jack Talent. Overall, despite the imperfect start (for me), the characters, plot, world, emotion, romance, and sexy times made this book a very gratifying read! **ARC courtesy of Grand Central Publishing via Netgalley**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    After reading the first book in the series, Firelight, I was so

    After reading the first book in the series, Firelight, I was so excited to get a chance to find out what happened next to Miranda and Archer in Moonglow. Unfortunately, this book is about her sister, Daisy, and the werewolf, Ian Northrup. It’s not a bad book, but what made me rate Firelight so high was the chemistry and mystery between Miranda and Archer. That and Archer reminded me of Phantom of the Opera, which is my favorite musical. Knowing that Northrup is a werewolf from page one took away his mystery and no matter how hard I tried I could not get attached to him or Daisy.

    I know it’s not the writing, as Kristen Callihan created a pretty cool Victorian setting for her cast of characters. The paranormal world is expanded in this book too, including vampires and a were-coven or something and other creatures. Although the paranormal aspects were present throughout the novel, it was far too heavy on the romance for my liking. It definitely felt like an urban fantasy but with a heavy emphasis on romance between the lead pair. But I think that after the first book, my expectations were too high. And typical of a sequel, my expectations were shattered.

    Daisy is a typical damsel in distress for much of the book and Northrup predictably saves her time after time. I also felt like the danger was missing from the novel. At no point did it seem like the author was willing to risk any of the main characters. And that really ruins a book for me. On a positive note, at least Miranda’s gift with fire is explained as is the gifts of several other characters.

    As for the ending, the identity of the killer werewolf did catch me off guard, which was good. What wasn’t good was how a certain character was saved from certain death at the end. Totally cheap move.

    *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    4.5 Stars What a beautiful, honest, and intriguing story. Moong

    4.5 Stars

    What a beautiful, honest, and intriguing story. Moonglow had my heart pounding through action, devastation, romance, and more. While I wasn't fully immersed until I was about 20% into the book, the 80% that followed was simply incredible.


    Moonglow is a stand alone novel from the Darkest London series. Although each book includes previous characters in the series, the main characters change with each book, enabling the reader to join in at any point.

    Each of the female protagonists in all three of the series are sisters who are close and weaved into each other's lives often, which may have attributed for my lack of interest to start...maybe I was missing something from Firelight? Previous knowledge of Ian, or of Archer and Miranda? I'm not sure. However, I do know that while reading Moonglow, the reader was given so much setup and background for Winterblaze (Darkest London, Book 3).

    Anywho, let's get back to it.

    I quickly fell in love with Daisy, a feisty, troubled woman, adventuring to conceal her damaged soul with sarcasm, wit, and sex appeal. She is finally finished "mourning" her cruel and vicious husband. In desperate need of flirtation and freedom she hopes to find the piece of herself that has been deeply buried since "the incident."

    Ian Ranulf is a mindlessly handsome rogue, bedding copious amounts of women and caring not for the holds placed on him in society. After being in exile from the Ranulf Clan, he yearns for a social connection while not daring to attempt one, having reaped consequences far to terrible to bare. I adored Ian, faltering with his thoughts of immortality and concealing much pain behind his humor and brashness.

    Daisy and Ian's relationship begins in a difficult place. A murderer is scavenging the streets of London, following a very particular scent - a perfume that Daisy herself created. Drawn to protect a woman who hides more than she shows, Ian begins to feel alive once again. Keeping constant secrets from each other while trying to keep the other alive, may end up causing the death of them both.

    The depth of storytelling and world building in this novel is just amazing. Ms. Callihan easily weaves her historic tale of the London streets and the creatures living among us. There were so many little treats to uncover throughout this novel that simply left me breathless. Beautiful writing, an honest and believably love story, and excellent adaptations of the paranormal intrigued and riveted - the best part? I now can go back and read book one. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I admit it: My favorite scenes of this book were the love scenes

    I admit it: My favorite scenes of this book were the love scenes. They were long, sexy, and just explicit enough. I also loved Daisy, who was a great combination of sweet and strong. I appreciate that the author gave me a new protagonist who was so unlike the protagonist in the first book but just as lovable.

    Sadly, it took me about 35% into the book before I appreciated Ian Ranulf as the love interest. In the first book of this series, Ian was painted as a bad guy—someone standing between the two main characters. And then, all of sudden, in this book, I'm supposed to just forgive all of that. Ian has regrets about how he behaved toward Miranda and Archer; he "wasn't himself." I found this difficult to swallow and thus had a hard time liking him early in the book. I did, however, learn to like him eventually as his fun, tormented, and intense personality became more apparent.

    The plot is nice; I didn't love it or hate it. A werewolf was killing ladies who shared a similar scent. The werewolf attacks toward the beginning of the book were interesting. I was less interested in the ongoing search for the werewolf. And the big reveal at the end—about why the werewolf attacked these ladies—was a bit of a let-down for me. I just wanted there to me to it than there was.

    I look forward to the next book in the series, but not with as much enthusiasm as I looked forward to reading this one after Firelight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2